iHeartFaces – Creative Crop

9 Mar

Thanks to a link from a link from iHeartFaces… I got lost… nay, I found out how to manually set all sorts of stuff on my Nikon D40X, like aperture and shutter speed and, even more useful, how to use my viewfinder to check if the dang thing is going to be exposed even close to properly. So I grabbed my 13 year old, slapped some paint on her face and dragged her off to the railway station for some picture taking. By the time she’d warmed up to it I’d finally managed to get a hang of some of the buttons I’d read about and thought I understood. I’m still editing those, so  with continued frustration at my output I spent all day Thursday just taking photos with the flash off, swapping lenses and trying every combination of settings. I have some cracking photos of my feet. I noticed this little gem amongst what was, on the whole, pretty dire. I cropped it down to the good bit and played around with Lightroom and Photoshop and got this…

from this…

pog-sooc

Gotta love Photoshop.

smallbutton

18 Responses to “iHeartFaces – Creative Crop”

  1. Stephanie March 9, 2009 at 5:59 am #

    Great job what a cutie:)

  2. Sharon March 9, 2009 at 6:34 am #

    Oooo… I LOVE the close up crop. Every little detail in the eye and face… wonderful! 🙂

  3. Caroline March 9, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    Love it – great clarity 🙂 Beautiful and VERY creative 😀

  4. Holly's Mom March 9, 2009 at 10:44 am #

    I love this picture.. the crop really makes it

  5. DawnS March 9, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

    I would say that all your practice is paying off. You’ve got one awesome shot here – the editing and crop are amazing!

  6. Randi March 9, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    I love this! What a beautiful photo, and the crop and edit made it amazing 🙂

  7. Anonymous March 9, 2009 at 5:59 pm #

    wow I love that picture!

  8. Lori March 9, 2009 at 5:59 pm #

    wow I love that picture!

  9. Angie March 9, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    That is just amazing!

  10. Susan March 9, 2009 at 7:10 pm #

    wowzers! I like the before AND the after. Awesome detail…

  11. *Just Jen* March 9, 2009 at 7:34 pm #

    I love this crop! Great job!

  12. MangyCat March 10, 2009 at 12:19 am #

    Wow–this is amazing! Well done!

  13. Snow Photo March 10, 2009 at 12:21 am #

    That photo is GORGEOUS! I love what you did with it.

  14. Becca March 10, 2009 at 2:12 am #

    This is just amazing! What a beautiful crop – those lashes, the sun . . . I’m impressed! And way to go with working on improving. I always want to try, but don’t feel like I have the time or energy to figure it out. I wish someone could just zap the knowledge too me haha 🙂

  15. Elaine March 10, 2009 at 4:28 am #

    I love this, just beautiful.

  16. theArthurClan March 10, 2009 at 2:06 pm #

    What a fantastic difference your crop made! I’ll bet you had fun learning so much in one day. That’s awesome!

    ~Angie
    co-founder of I ♥ Faces

  17. Shae March 10, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    What a wonderful shot. I like the tilt.

  18. Tracy Dodson March 11, 2009 at 3:36 am #

    that’s great – it’s amazing the difference from the original photo – great job.

Leave a Reply

