iHeartFaces – Spring

14 Apr

I may have perused the odd photography manual but I’m no amateur. Fact is I’d probably pay people with cute compliant kids to let me take practice photos – especially if they were of the ilk that knew what a smile was, and didn’t hate their teeth, or hide behind hair, or stick their tongues out. No I’m a beginner. A couple of months ago I took the camera off auto for the first time since we bought it, I’m a beginning beginner. Yesterday I took 300 photos and I think 133 so far are pretty usable and another 10 are more or less duplicates , so that’s an improvement from the 1 in 250 I started at. Maybe in another few years I’ll develop into an amateur, if I’m not distracted by something new.

Here’s my Spring photo for iHeartFaces, it will be buried along with the other beginners in amongst all the fabballus professionals! It’s not easy getting a little lad to pose amongst flowers. He took his stick. I reckon it made him feel a bit more manly having a weapon in there with him. Just in case this triffid breed of daffodils attacked.

smallbutton

12 Responses to “iHeartFaces – Spring”

  1. richardbyers April 14, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    hey, don’t be so harsh on yourself, i love this capture!

    great and keep up the good work

    regards

    rich

  2. Sandra April 14, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    I love this one.
    You are better than you think you are!
    Actually better than me.
    Keep practising!

  3. carrianne April 14, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    so cute…love the colors!

  4. Catherine April 14, 2009 at 1:34 pm #

    I think this is a stunning shot! So vibrant and sharp. I love the look on his face. Well done!

  5. BlogBaby April 14, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

    He does look likes he’s suspicious of the intents of those Daffodils! Great colors and lighting in this capture.

    BlogBaby

  6. Anonymous April 14, 2009 at 2:11 pm #

    Awesome picture! Love the colour.

  7. the other jennifer April 14, 2009 at 3:06 pm #

    your entry notes are as great as the entry itself. the stick bit was a riot. and. i, too, found myself wishing yesterday afternoon they had a third category “knows how to push the button to the front right”. that’s me. i think you fit right at home with the professionals.

  8. Kathy April 14, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    ADORABLE!!

  9. Rebecca April 14, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    I love the sticks! They are ready for the daffodil attack! But of course, your little boy is the best.

  10. kat April 14, 2009 at 10:34 pm #

    i love his expression – as a mom of three boys i feel the safety with a weapon comment, i have lots of pictures of my boys with sticks! beautiful color – great shot!

  11. Amanda J. April 15, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    Great shot! I love your writing. I think all boys need sticks when dealing with flowers. And some girls, too, LOL!

  12. Amy April 16, 2009 at 5:40 pm #

    Very good shot! I love all of the colors. I think part of being a good photographer is not only taking good pictures, but knowing which ones to delete!!! I typically get one or two that are “the one” out of a shot of 100. That’s the great thing about digital!

Leave a Reply

