iHeartFaces – Self-Portrait

19 Apr

Everything I read is telling me that portraits work best between 55 and 70mm focal length. But when I set my lens to 55mm, to get much of my face in the shot would require the sort of freakishly long arms that would earn me good money in a travelling circus showing off my talent for touching my toes without bending over. There’s not much of my face I can fit in without morphing into some weird looking alien kinda thing. And focussing? Aye right! I resorted to growling at my stinking beloved camera. I quite enjoy insulting inanimate objects,  especially belligerent ones (I suspect these two states are mutually exclusive but ykwim?).

This is as far away from my face as I could get with my unfreakishly short arms and remain vaguely recognisable as me for iHeartFaces self-portrait week. Yeah – I am swearing at gently cajoling my camera – can’t you tell?

Incidentally this is majorly big in the steps type thing as I have spent considerable energy over the last 15 years avoiding being photographed at all costs having knitted cooked myself 60lbs. At first I would simply run away but as I gradually lost the ability to respond like lightning for fear of dropping my sandwich I had to be more creative with finding things I could shove  in front of my face (as opposed to in it). Usually a nearby portable child sufficed (as a barrier, not lunch). It dawned on me recently that if the proverbial bus got me tomorrow there would be little proof of my existence left behind. So I may as well start with a wee example of my gentle cajoling.

final-sp

smallbutton

Talking of focal length and freaky morphed things here’s Poggy at 18mm looking, quite frankly, unlike anything I’ve ever given birth to.

thedogSpot the difference? Nah me neither.

12 Responses to “iHeartFaces – Self-Portrait”

  1. Carebear April 20, 2009 at 8:14 am #

    LOL, love love love the self portrait. I was cracking up so hard by the end of your intro that I almost woke the baby!!! You’re funny girl. And the kid and the dog photos are SO CUTE!!!

  2. Caroline April 20, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    Wicked SP – I LOVE it 😀 very courageous!!

  3. Princess K April 20, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    LOL… I love this shot, but what you typed made me laugh out loud! You look wonderful… no more hiding behind little children (definately no eating them) 🙂 GREAT JOB!

  4. chris April 20, 2009 at 10:34 am #

    real funny! you captured the moment! cute photos of the kid too

  5. BlogBaby April 20, 2009 at 12:29 pm #

    Baaaaahhhhhaaaa…..I am laughing at….er..WITH you. You are indeed a very funny mommy, my favorite kind!

    Niiice self portrait. Seriously niiice.

    BlogBaby

  6. April April 20, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

    Oh, that one of you is too funny (in a good way, of course!). I love your expression! Both are very good shots!

  7. American in Norway April 20, 2009 at 2:42 pm #

    LOL— Love it! You are funny! & great pictures! So glad I found you blog!

  8. Catherine April 20, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    I absolutely love the self-portrait! Your expression is priceless and it’s just making me laugh!

  9. theArthurClan April 20, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    Your commentary is cracking me up! I think 99% of us hated this week’s theme…I know I did. But now I’m loving seeing all of you.

    So nice to “meet” you!

    ~Angie
    co-founder of I ? Faces

  10. shae April 20, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    these are so cute!

  11. Brooke April 21, 2009 at 2:12 pm #

    I love your self-portrait! We all aim to take “glamour” shots of ourselves, and you proudly display a funny face. Love it! And can I say, your writing skills are mad? Your posts are some of the quirkiest ones I’ve read in a long time, and I love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Gallery #2: Number - March 10, 2010

    […] it at me. It’s not as if I wasn’t well aware of this, back in April when I first put a self portrait out there I really did intend to do something about […]

Leave a Reply

