Friday again already

1 May

For Fix it Friday this week at iHeartfaces we were invited to use one of their recent giveaways – Aurora.

Con: You have to select one photo directory at a time and if you redirect it requires a restart… and it’s s..l..o..w. Handling mulptiple directories really is an absolute must for a photo cataloguing tool, how many of us store every single photo we’ve ever taken in the Windoze Pictures folder? I have a pretty horizontal file structure in place that includes portable external drives and partitioned drives. Free programs such as Picasa can handle this so I would expect one I am invited to pay for to have that pretty basic feature too.

Con: The editing power it provides is overpriced at US$20 by about…. oh US$20 – Picasa (did I mention FREE) does way more.

Almost a Pro: Aurora is being touted on a feature I can’t find anything comparable with on any of the free tools I have which is its AutoRelight fix. It’s a nice effect but I couldn’t bring myself to pay for it when other free programs can produce a much better result with just a couple more clicks and slides.

So, I abandoned Photoshop for another week and used Aurora and its AutoRelight tool, PAINT.NET (FREE) and Picasa (FREE) and did three edits as best I could with these tools.

Original

Original

Aurora

Aurora

PAINT.NET

PAINT.NET

Picasa

Picasa

I think that’s a win for Picasa yeah?


4 Responses to “Friday again already”

  1. Caroline May 1, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    Yup – Picase is def’ the best – gorgeous 😀 !

  2. Puna May 1, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    Hi there! Glad to have read your post today. I also won the Aurora software…it’s hard to go back to something after photoshop isn’t it? I hope to post my Aurora fix today sometime…

  3. Catherine May 1, 2009 at 10:09 pm #

    Oh that Picasa one is gorgeous! Love that!

  4. Amanda J. May 3, 2009 at 9:04 pm #

    I like Picasa, too :). I use it for organizing. I love the thought behind your edits!

Leave a Reply

