What weekend was that then?

30 Jun

Click here to join in

I promise no scrotums or aspiring messiahs. Actually Pog came out with something a bit deep this week. On the way home from playgroup one morning he asked me,

“Mummy why am I the beginning?”

This clearly required a bit of clarification, so I asked him what he was the beginning of, and he replied,

“Why can I not see my face? and my mouth? and why can I not see the back of my head?”

How cool is that? Wandering down the road he’d clearly been trying to place himself in the larger world as he perceives it. His “beginning” was, I think, a way of expressing his internal being separate from the external “everything else” that he experiences. A real solid and recorded landmark in the development of his theory of mind. Which I might have missed if I hadn’t decided to look out for material for this weekly carnival.

Either that or he’d spent too long at the gluing and sticking table.

fist

7 Responses to “What weekend was that then?”

  1. Michelle M. June 30, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

    What a thoughtful and inquisitive guy!

  2. Kathie S. June 30, 2009 at 3:25 pm #

    Wow, yes, that’s a clear milestone in his cognitive development! Impressive! And so rare to catch a glimpse of!

  3. Herb of Grace July 1, 2009 at 2:47 am #

    Haha! I just love how the wheels turn in their little heads 🙂

  4. Shaye July 1, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    Wonderful! What how great that his mum knew exactly what he was asking. So now I’m curious as to what your response was…’cause I’m still wondering why I’m the beginning! 😉

    ~Shaye

  5. Niecey July 1, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Wow. That gave me shivers. That is very profound. What a wise kid.

  6. heidi July 3, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

    Quite the insightful little man, isn’t he?

    Thanks for stopping by and giving me wine advice! 🙂

  7. septembermom July 7, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    He’s one smart guy! Love it:)

Leave a Reply

