Tot Talk Tuesday

25 Aug

Click here to join in

There’s a milestone every child reaches in their school life. Some sooner than others. It’s the day they blow a parent’s explanation out of the air with the words “well my teacher says…”. More a knife in the back than the heart – you can see them plan it. How you respond no doubt influences the attitude your child will carry with them throughout their education. So “yeah well your teacher is stupid”… probably not going to work well. But tempting nonetheless. I’ve been there and responded twice already but as with everything pertaining to raising this third child I can’t remember what I said or did last time. It’s not that 9 years is an especially long time between babies but the 9 years between 29 and 38 must involve some particularly vicious culling of the brain cells.

Paul started pre-school nursery last Thursday. I gave us 20 minutes for the 10 minute walk to school so we could take it easy. All the way there he kept slipping into the conversation…

“I still love you”

Aw. Like school was some betrayal. I’ll remind him of this when the “well my teacher says…” day arrives.

Some things I look forward to hearing what his teacher says. Especially…

“You got hands for picking your nose”

Yeah. She can have that one.

Thursday and Friday amounted to a little under 5 hours total school time. On Sunday the chickenpox erupted. No matter how much I shoved my littlie in the faces of all the poxy kids at Mothers & Toddlers 3 years ago he still couldn’t catch it. Til now.

So the “summer holidays” resume for us. And showing complete disregard for the idiosyncrasies of the English language Paul announced this morning…

“I have a chickenpock on my nose”

Cos chickenPOX is plural you know.

pox

4 Responses to “Tot Talk Tuesday”

  1. Niecey August 25, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    Aw, well it’s good to know he still loves you, even though he’s off to school hehe.

    We referred to an odd chicken pock here and there too. Then would sort of scratch our heads and wonder what we are supposed to call it.

  2. Lady Mommy August 25, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    Thanks for the heads up…maybe I will home school so I can be both the teacher AND the mommy *sinister laugh*!!

  3. septembermom August 25, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    The “I still love you” is precious. Love all the quotes and pictures today.

  4. Kathie August 26, 2009 at 2:31 am #

    Too cute. Hope the chickenpox clears up quickly and without too much pain. 🙂 I remember having those as a child!

Leave a Reply

