So I can drink wine tonight…

28 Aug

This is the bestest damn tomato soup I’ve ever made.

Learning from my last attempt at a photorecipe I decided to do something I’ve cooked before.

Paul learned some new words that day and as he’s forgotten them already I see no need to reinforce that particular lesson.

This soup is fat-free and calorie-free. Well as good as. On a diet you can shovel as much as you want down your throat without counting it. My favourite kinda food. That and the the food nobody sees you eat. Cos that’s calorie-free too. Obviously.

Take..

  • 1 medium onion
  • 2 tins chopped tomatoes
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 pint of stock (chicken or veggie)
  • 9oz or around 5 fresh tomatoes
  • 1oz sundried tomatoes – not in oil – actually dried
  • Spray oil
  • Basil of some description if you want to Italian it up a bit

Wipe the worktop and take a fotee.

soop01

Chop the onion, crush the garlic and cook over a low heat in a pot sprayed with oil.

Chop the sundried tomatoes into small pieces and cover with boiling water.

Attack the tomatoes. Skin, deseed and chop. For the benefit of my boy I include instructions (Andrew you will love this – it’s science).

  • Cut a wee cross in the skin of the tomatoes
  • Pop them in a bowl and cover with boiling water
  • Once the skins start to peel back (after 2 or 3 minutes) remove the tomatoes and plonk them in a bowl of cold water
  • The skin will fall off when you pick them up – honest
  • Peel, quarter and scoop out the seeds
  • Chop to smithereens

Like this

soop03a

A plum tomato sneaked into that pile – I’d avoid them as they’re a pain to deseed compared with your bog standard tomato, which is very co-operative.

By now the onions and garlic should be softened so add the 2 tins of chopped tomatoes to the pot.

It had to happen.

Not paying much attention to the labels on my tins it appears I picked up 1 tin of chopped tomatoes and 1 tin of whole tomatoes. And they’re in the pot.

OH DEARIE DEARIE ME

After all that skinning and de-seeding I added whole flippin’ tomatoes to the pot.

OH DEARIE DEARIE ME (how good am I?)

I decided to snip the cruddy ends off the whole oned.

WTF? Seriously, I must have snipped about twenty tomato tops out of that pot – from a tin they cannot possibly fit more than half a dozen tomatoes into. I reckon they take all the crap bits they leave out of the tins of chopped tomatoes and shove them in the tins of whole tomatoes.

Simmer away for 15 minutes then leave to cool for a bit. Unless you’re hard like me in which case skip the waiting and work with it while it’s still bubbling.

  • First blend within an inch of its life
  • Then mash through a sieve to remove any pulp and seeds
  • Add the stock, sundried tomatoes (and the liquid) and the chopped fresh tomatoes
  • Finally marvel at all that effort I went to snipping cruddy top off the tinned tomatoes for no reason at all as the sieve would more than adequately have taken care of that little error

soop07a

If you’re not that bothered about it being to all intents and purposed calorie-free, add a teaspon of sugar.

Then customise!

Sometimes I add…

  • the juice and grated rind of an orange
  • chopped basil
  • chopped mint

Not all at once though. Yuck.

Sometimes I don’t bother.

Simmer away for another 5-10 minutes to soften the fresh tomatoes a bit then serve with a blob of half-fat creme-fraiche. soop10

Not yuck at all.

I’m going out tonight to see a Queen tribute band Dios Salve A La Reina. If I thought I could get away with claiming to have been too young to see Queen I’d give it a go. I will eat stuff and drink wine and Radio-Ga-Ga with the crowd. Well the other 198 people there. I’m swithering on whether to try and sneak my camera in. At least in a small place there’s a good chance I’ll get it back at the end of the night. If I remember.

One Response to “So I can drink wine tonight…”

  1. Niecey August 28, 2009 at 4:08 pm #

    Looks yummy. And I felt a strange panging inside when I saw the tesco logo. I do miss good old tescos.

    I love queen. Have a fantastic time!

Leave a Reply

