It's pickling time with Pickling Jeff (and Joby's here as well)

27 Sep

I am on a one woman crusade to get these things off the shelves of any self-respecting store.

The magicmix Compact 3100.  Magic it is not.

My kitchen clearly has no self-respect since I haven’t banished this contraption of culinary hindrance to the inky dark pit below my sink. Or caved in the head of the first person stupid enough to walk into the kitchen when I’m using it.

It’s a hard choice.

The blades are sharp enough to slice skin open if brushed up against but still, after a good 5 minutes of blasting, are unable to cut through onions.

Huh?

The problem I see it is if you put in too much you get huge chunks barely bruised by the blades, and if you put in too little it all gets blown up against the sides of the bowl and just sits there… getting a bit of air.

See?

I swear if there’s on device I shouldn’t be let near when I’m premenstrual…

When they hear it getting cranked up my family scatter. They are wise (sometimes). Or perhaps simply have a well honed sense of self-preservation. Either way no heads were caved in during the making of this apple chutney.

Ingredients

  • 1.5kg apples
  • 500g onions
  • 700ml white wine vinegar
  • 500g dried fruit
  • 600g demerara sugar
  • mustard seeds, cumin seeds, cayenne pepper, ginger, cinnamon and cloves

First, mince or finely chop the onions. If you are one of those lucky people with something that actually works, say a Braun food processor or a Pampered Chef hand chopper, go for your life. If you have a magicmix Compact 3100 get a knife out and chop those suckers by hand. Life is too short. Alternatively you can chop/scrape down the bowl/chop/scrape down the bowl one flippin’ onion at a time whilst trying not to cave any heads in. Pour yourself a Cointreau lime and lemonade at the same time. Honestly it helps. If it’s still morning and you have a “thing” about drinking in the morning, get out of the kitchen and wait til afternoon.

Peel, core and finely chop the apples. I weigh them peeled and cored so used about 1.2kg

For the dried fruit most recipes suggest raisins. I didn’t have 500g of raisins so I raked about and created a concoction of raisins, sultanas, cranberries, prunes and some luxury mix that probably had all that plus cherries. Yum.

Chop up anything bigger than a raisin to the size of, well a raisin I guess.

Everything gets chucked in a heavy bottomed pot as it’s prepared.

Taking out of sequence photos as I go.

My demerara sugar didn’t add up either so I topped it up to 600g with about 100g of dark brown soft sugar.

My spice measurements were

  • 2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp cinammon
  • 0.5 tsp cloves
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • a squeeze of lazy ginger (probably 1 tbsp but 1 tsp ground ginger would be OK too)

sugar-and-spice

Finally pour in 700ml of white wine vinegar. Cider vinegar would have been good here too, especially since I used dessert apples. But white wine vinegar was in the cupboard so white wine vinegar it was.

I can smell this. Really. I can. I am sitting in my kitchen typing away and pickling type stuff lingers for hours. Just warning you.

Now the cooking bit. Slowly bring it to the boil dissolving the sugar.

I’ve seen various recipes suggesting anything between 40 minutes and 4 hours of simmering the chutney uncovered. I boiled this gently (stirring often) for between 90 minutes and 2 hours. I judged it by the colour. When I liked the colour I stopped cooking. Very precise huh?

Pop it into warmed jars.

Then wait.

If you can’t wait stick some in a ramekin to cool down then slather it over a bit of cheddar on oatcake and enjoy.

3 Responses to “It's pickling time with Pickling Jeff (and Joby's here as well)”

  1. Potty Mummy September 27, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    I’m reaching for the cheddar as I type… (Well, obviously I’m not, but you get the point). Have put up as the BMB blogger of the week, I hope that’s OK…

    Best, PM

  2. Domestic Goddesque September 27, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    Looks delicious and, as it won’t involve using the evil oven I may well have a stab. Just have to dig the magimix out of the shed. FWIW I use a Pampered Chef mini chopper thing for onions as I cannot be doing with the whole onion-in-a-magimix-thing!

    DG x

  3. MrsW September 28, 2009 at 11:13 pm #

    @Potty Mummy – it’s all OK 🙂

    I’d comment back on your blog post but I’m from the dark side (not Blogger, no Blogger ID, no Google ID I can link to here) so I can’t 😦

Leave a Reply

