Trepidation… a bit

1 Oct

She wants me to bleach it.

art-for-kat

Which makes me more than slightly nervous.

I understand where she’s coming from. She wants to grow it long again and rather than walk around with ridiculous blonde roots she’d like me to try stripping out the black and then covering it with a light blonde, close to her natural colour. She doesn’t want to keep dying it black as it grows then find she doesn’t like long black hair. If she grows it then dyes it black again fairy nuff.

Where did she get this sensible head from?

I’ve warned her it may turn green, or pink, most probably orange. And that even the lightest blonde will turn out quite brown on pre-lightened hair.

She said do a strand test first.

?

Such a sensible child. I don’t think I ever strand tested mine…. but then I did go about looking like this….

1985_05

No I didn’t strand test. Can you tell?

No we didn’t have straighteners in the 80s. Can you tell?

Oh I’m nervous about this.

I’ve dyed bits blue and scarlett and the black is quite a drastic change from her natural dark ash blonde.

Still.

I’m way more nervous than I would be if it were my own hair.

School holidays are coming up so we have a fortnight to humph and haw and probably have a go (depending on the strand test of course).

Still.

It’s a bit nerve wracking!

4 Responses to “Trepidation… a bit”

  1. Princess K October 2, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    No worries. She seems to be the type of girl who can handle it. I absolutely adore her black hair (I never could pull that color off)! And yes… it will likely become orange. I’ll spare you the hair-dye horrors of my going from black to blonde. Though it was more a horror for the stylist who was mortified… I found it to be unique and entertaining. But another time… I’ll save that tale until after you’ve come through the bleaching unscathed 🙂 Thanks for stopping by the new place 🙂

  2. Barbara October 2, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

    Eeep, good luck. Can’t you send her to a hair dresser to do it? That way it would be the hairdresser’s fault!

    You were a great 80’s child – fabulous look.

    Oh yes, I never strand test either, and I never just dye the roots when it’s grown out a bit, I always do the whole lot.

  3. Neil Tasker October 5, 2009 at 10:24 pm #

    I’m sure I met you in Da Vincis in 19831…..

  4. Neil Tasker October 5, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    I’m sure I met you in Da Vincis in 1983…..

    FORGET THE EXTRA 1 !

Leave a Reply

