A few of my favourite things…

6 Oct

… well cheese is pretty high up there.

I love Scotland. I moan a lot about the weather (a lot). But I do adore here, and being from here, the past of here and where here could go if we get it right. I do rather like here.

The countryside is the way it is thanks to the rain I guess – so I shouldn’t complain since I love the green and blue and the barren rock of it all.

I’m obviously quite partial to my wee bit of here. Despite criminal town planning  decisions that sanctioned the destruction of much of our history to make way for ugly concrete developments throughout the 50s and 60s, if you were to drop me into the centre of any major town in Scotland I reckon I’d be able to guess where I was from the architecture that remains. You just have to look up…

town

I like the coast. Even the east coast blasted by arctic winds from the north. The rare days like this are days to be grabbed hold of and taken slowly.

I absolutely love castles.

Yeah, got a thing for castles…

And Scotch Mist of course… which is just our way of saying “Are you blind or stupid? It’s right in front of you!” as  in “What’s that then? Scotch Mist?”.

Despite their insistence (both of them) of living by one rule and one rule only, that is… “If that doesn’t annoy Mum I’ll do something else” repeat on an if-then-else loop,  I do rather adore my boys.

And my girlie girl… she’s absolutely nothing like me at 14… and so totally like me at 14. Which works.

Then there’s Neil, who’s hard work and effort allows me to stay at home with our 4 year old imp and wash and iron and cook and study and do the garden and paint the walls and… wanna swap?? Maybe just for a week? A day?

iphoneface

We had him immortalised in a laser engraving on the back of his iPhone.

Not really.

Be cool though wouldn’t it?

And finally, did I already mention cheese?

cheese

More favourite things over at iHeartFaces.

7 Responses to “A few of my favourite things…”

  1. Littlemummy October 6, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    Where in Scotland do you live?

    • mrsw October 6, 2009 at 6:31 pm #

      That’s Perth town centre in the photos, I’m nearby… a 5 minute bus run away if I can suffer handing over £1.40 to Ann Gloag (I usually can’t!) I’d rather walk.

  2. Monika October 6, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    What lovely pictures!!! Thanks for sharing your favorites!

  3. Mrs.McFadden October 6, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    wonderfully beautiful photos.

  4. Princess K October 7, 2009 at 2:51 am #

    Scottish Mist sounds like something I could get slammed on!
    Love the castles (duh!! Princess!!)
    Totally a cheese lover!

    And I have to say you take such awesome shots of your kids. I want you to come to the States and follow my demon around for a day. I’m sure you’d find a way to capture her angel wings and devil horns at the same time!!

    Great post!!

  5. Neil Tasker October 7, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

    Lovely post. Particularly like the saltire in the sky and is that Dunnottar? If so, nice angle and great Scotch Mist.
    Partial to a nice piece of cheese myself.

  6. Tatter Scoops October 8, 2009 at 2:24 pm #

    WOW what a beautiful views you have surrounding you and your family is so beautiful too! 🙂 I’ve always wish to go to Scotland one day and your pictures just gives me more reasons to go LOL. Thanks for sharing your amazing shots!

Leave a Reply

