Tot Talk Tuesday

27 Oct

Click here to join in

Kathryn and I spent Friday in Glasgow, shopping for boots and a Mac Mini, eating food in restaurants that may or may not have had nuts in it and not caring, and to top it all off we saw Michael McIntyre at the SECC where we spent 2 hours splitting our sides – the man is a genius (and a cute one at that).

Michael’s “signature” tune is, thanks to the following, Kings of Leon, Sex on Fire…

http://www.youtube.com/v/o6oIkgI69gE&hl=en&fs=1&

Naturally my daughter and I have been bursting into song all weekend… in the car… watching X-Factor… playing Pictureka … “Woahhhaaaahaaahh, your sex is on fire!” We can’t help ourselves.

At the dinner table on Sunday Paul joined in…

“Woahhhaaaahaaahh, my monkey’s on fire!”

Hey kid, you think you’re a comedien or something?

Andrew admitted to teaching him this lyric in preference to the actual lyric. So Paul had no idea why we were all chuckling ourselves silly.

Obviously with two teenagers in the room the conversation deteriorated after that, not that we encouraged it at all…. as if.

Never laugh at a 4yo’s joke, he spent the rest of the meal singing…

“Woahhhaaaahaaahh, Andrew’s on fire!”
“Woahhhaaaahaaahh, my juice is on fire!”
“Woahhhaaaahaaahh, my plate is on fire!”
“Woahhhaaaahaaahh, my face is on fire!”

Yeah, not so funny after half an hour of it.

6 Responses to “Tot Talk Tuesday”

  1. Mwa October 27, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    I can’t wait to have a teenager. We’re still very much at the poo-poo ha-ha stage.

  2. mrsw October 27, 2009 at 5:41 pm #

    @Mwa They are indeed much more fun to take to gigs 🙂 Paul in utero @ Jimmy Eat World was cumbersome and sober. This month marks a milestone – my 12yo son got into The Barrowlands – woohoo! Now we are 4 giggers.

  3. Niecey October 27, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

    Nice one! haha. Sounds like a fun day out with your daughter. You make me fear the teenage years a little less.

    Your Andrew is a smart one, teaching an alternative lyric! I remember my little brother accidentally picking up on a song, “I’ve got big balls, you’ve got big balls” so we changed it to “I’ve got big bones, you’ve got big bones”. It worked, thankfully.

  4. Kathie S. October 27, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    Too funny. I can’t wait for all the creative things they will do as teenagers. Caleb already likes to mix up words and sounds, to be funny.

  5. Barbara October 28, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    I love Michael McIntyre. I’d be hard pressed to pick between him Eddie Izzard for humour and other things.

    Oooh, eating in a restaurant and not worrying about nuts – the dizzying heights of a meal with only one child. A few weeks ago I took my two up to London for the day and the boy fell asleep in his buggy. The girl and I had a sneaky ice-cream – we felt most daring (and I spent about half an hour wiping us down and making sure we drank lots of water).

  6. mrsw October 28, 2009 at 9:35 am #

    @Barbara “other things”?!!! What “other things” do you have in mind for Mr Izzard then? 😛

    There’s a whole new level of guilt involved in stuffing a Feast in your face isn’t there?

Leave a Reply

