Fix it Friday #35

6 Nov

Original

This looked simple enough to start with, all it really warranted (if anything) was a bit brightening up. I’m not a huge fan of the angle but there wasn’t enough dead space to do what I wanted with it so I settled on a 180 degree rotation (not a flip, I think they even make people who’s faces I don’t know look weird!), I upped the brightness and sharpened the eyes a tad.

Then for fun I applied a very slight surface blur to the skin and faffed around with some freehand tweaks along with some actions. One day I will remember to write these down (probably not).

I am seriously struggling with monitor calibration at the moment. The Mac Mini is connected to a matt finish Samsung flatscreen and my Compaq laptop is a gloss screen. I have calibrated both in the same room, under the same lighting conditions and using my same two eyes yet photos edited on the Mac look green on the Compaq and photos edited on the Compaq look really red on the Mac. It’s driving me nuts! I guess you can never know what other people are seeing through their monitors. I have checked on the kids Dells and I think I am preferring the laptop to the Mac…. perhaps we’ll have to ditch the Samsung screen and think about  a 27″ Mac monitor to go with the Mini – how tough!

facesfixit

9 Responses to “Fix it Friday #35”

  1. Life with Kaishon November 6, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    Love your edits! She is such a cutie! : )

  2. Alysha Gray November 6, 2009 at 6:25 pm #

    Love the rotation! Great Edits!

  3. Rachel November 6, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    I love the 4th edit, and I love that you just rotated it 180. I was thinking while I was doing it how I did really like the sideways angle, but there was just something I DIDN’T like about it. I never tried going 180 with it. The 4th edit looks really natural. Very nice!

  4. Jeannine November 6, 2009 at 7:02 pm #

    I so can relate to the monitor thing. I finally found a button that allowed me to calibrate to srgb colors, so it has gotten better. Now I load my pictures into FLICKR and test them that way.
    Anyways, your edits are gorgeous. I would pick each and every one of them. Please take the time to write down what you do. Us Amateurs thrive on it. Great work.

  5. Saharra November 6, 2009 at 7:14 pm #

    I love the pink hazy edit! I am attached to it big time! How did you get that look?

  6. Hotomom November 6, 2009 at 7:18 pm #

    I cannot pick a favorite they are all amazing. Thank you so much for bringing out my baby girl’s wonderful smile and eyes.

  7. Sarah November 6, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    I love the rotation you did. Very awesome edits!

  8. Amandalynn Jones November 6, 2009 at 8:08 pm #

    I like that you flipped her around, it gives your edits a nice twist!

  9. Jennifer November 7, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    All your edits are great, I think I like #3 the best. #2 is dreamy and beautiful- looks like a hazy summer day! And her eyes really sparkle in #4. Nice work!!

Leave a Reply

