Fix it Friday #36

13 Nov

The one where I remember to include my steps – kinda.

Here’s this weeks original photo – not a lot wrong with this at all.

So, my basic edit in Photshop CS4 looks like this…

And to get there I did this…

  • On a duplicate layer I cleared up his nose with the spot healing tool set at seriously low hardness (I am so used to doing this with SCOTTISH children in SCOTTISH weather!)
  • Then, using the patch tool I selected the shadows under each eye and patched them at 40% using the area immediately below
  • Flattened and duplicated layer
  • I used colour range selection to select his skin, copied it onto a new layer, deleted any hair, eyes, eyebrows and background that had been copied then applied a surface blur of radius 5 and threshhold 15 which is serious plastic overkill, I reduced the opacity of this layer to something low… probably between 15% and 25% (if even that – I didn’t note it).
  • Flattened the lot and duplicated layer
  • Using dodge at 7% i slightly brightened the highlights and midtones in the white of his eyes and a bit on his teeth, the teeth didn’t work too well so I blurred them a bit to make it less obvious I’d been mucking around there!
  • Flattened and duplicated layer
  • I selected both eyes, feathered for 5 and bumped up the brightness and contrast a touch, I also applied unsharp mask at 27%, radius 2, threshold 8.
  • Flattened and duplicated layer
  • The white under his right (my left) ear was bothering me so I selected the background and cloned from the greener background to the left and above. It needed blurring round the edges to look less edited.
  • Flattened and duplicated layer
  • Ran TRA2 A Better Web Sharpen masking off the eyes which were now just a bit too sharp!
  • Flattened and cropped to 800px x 535px leaving out some of the brightness at the top of his head and getting rid of the whatever it was (tree? gate post?) on the left.

Then I played!

TRA2 – Claire-ify at 44%, Get Faded (winter) at 100%

TRA – TDW No Glow at 37%

Brightness/Contrast adjustment layer – Brightness 93% Contrast 56% at 45% opacity and Hue /Saturation adjustment layer  – Hue 25, Saturation 25 Lightness 0 Colourize checked, Soft Light at 53% opacity

PW – Heartland at 64% TRA – Punch Out at 100%

facesfixit

8 Responses to “Fix it Friday #36”

  1. Heather November 13, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

    these are amazing! Fixes 2 and 3 are my favourites. I had never thought about doing things like this with my photos but it is such a good idea! thank you! I use GIMP rather than photoshop but am sure I could figure it all out from these instructions.

    thank you!

  2. danyele @ a thorn among roses November 13, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    love the step by step instruction with the edits. that is soooo helpful! i have been using aperture for my edits and am ready to make the dive to cs4…

  3. Catharine November 13, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    oh, fix 1 is soooo pretty! love the color!

  4. Saharra November 13, 2009 at 7:48 pm #

    I love all of them! Amazing job!

  5. pkmals November 13, 2009 at 9:03 pm #

    Lovely edits. I have an old version of PSE and no patch tool. Such a great job under the eyes!

  6. Sandy "From the Heart of Texas" November 13, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

    Love all your edits and yes, I’m addicted to TRA actions too. 🙂 Thanks for not making us pick a favorite edit like I did on my blog. Ha. ha. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. Christina November 15, 2009 at 4:48 am #

    THANK YOU for this post! I had just taken some photos of a girl with serious dark eye circles!! I could not for the life of me figure it out!..Your steps..were easy to understand..and you saved me!! Thanks again!

  8. Gokoro November 17, 2009 at 6:06 pm #

    Thank you for leaving a comment on my “Travelling without moving” photo.
    I must admit I have a soft spot for such edits like yours Fix #1. Good job! And I love how you match the background for the text below the fixes.

Leave a Reply

