It's all about timing

15 Nov

I’ve dabbled with photoblogging my premenstrual adventures in the kitchen here and here (successful) and here (not at all successful, actually quite yuck), so when I set myself the challenge of preparing a meal for four completely grown up people who I cannot force with threats or bribe with pudding to eat my disasters, picking up the camera to record the inevitable disaster didn’t even cross my mind. Which probably explains why it went sort of well-ish. Gelatine set, whippy toppings stayed whipped, meat didn’t burn, pate pureed  pink and I didn’t drop (or throw) a single utensil.  Not one. The rocket and prosciutto even stayed on the breadsticks as if by magic…

I really should have grabbed a photo of my chicken liver pate with Cointreau and cranberries, I made it on Wednesday after all – #blogfail

I was rather taken with having a grown up kitchen for a night. It echoed a bit after we stashed all the crap that usually lies around… elsewhere…

I guess if we had a dining room we’d stash all the crap in there. I suspect more space would just mean more space for me to get all agitated at being unable to keep clutter free.

Kitchen dining requires a meal you can plonk in the oven for a couple of hours without spoiling whilst you polish off the first couple of rounds of grape juice. Or the fridge. Or both. Like I said, the pate took up residence mid-week.

Here comes a totally free no-strings attached recommendation. Jamie Oliver you are easy (you cheeky little chappie). Tis true, the man is SO EASY. I obviously didn’t want to be pan frying or assembling anything that required a modicum of food artistry with our dinner guests as captive audience. Stew is the answer, but god awful boring I thought. Cue Jamie and his Dark Sticky Stew. Mine didn’t look quite like Jamie’s since I left it languishing in the oven during two bottles of grape juice, but it was rather delish. I sort of hovered around the kitchen all day thinking “Shall I start it now?… now?… when?” and finally got it all together and bunged in the oven at 5:30, guests arriving at 7:00… probably eat it around 8:00. All I had to do was whip it out of the oven and serve. I served it with potato and celeriac puree, though I stopped short of puree and left lumps of celeriac in what turned out to be the fluffiest of fluffy potatoes, I’m done with mashing, potatoes need electric whisking. So thanks to Le Crueset cast iron and Jamie #dinnerwin… forgetting to get a photo #blogfail.

Rum and Coke Trifle pudding was stashed in the fridge having been made (with quadruple the rum) and photographed around lunchtime.

Now I usually fluff the pudding so I had a backup plan since last time when I served these particular friends a chocolate mousse you could slice, if you had a sharp enough knife. And it was my second run at it. But… ach I couldn’t be bothered trying to time everything so I went with the trifles and bought a few cheeses in case it all went belly-up. It didn’t.

The candles burnt away…

We drank more grape juice…

introduced our friends to Twitter and Regretsy

After triumphing at Pictionary (twice and even against the kids – booya!) I even managed to avoid a hangover (sorry!).

We tidied the kitchen before retiring for the night (yup we are SO showing off) having successfully managed to #boycottxfactor. Didn’t even Sky+ it. Take that Cowell.

6 Responses to “It's all about timing”

  1. Marylin November 15, 2009 at 11:28 pm #

    Sounds like a great evening! Glad it all went well. 🙂

  2. mrsw November 16, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    I find 7 bottles of wine usually makes an evening blur into something that may have been fun! This morning I pondered the calories and stopped counting at 12,000 (between 4 of us – as if that makes it better!)

  3. Mwa November 16, 2009 at 10:57 pm #

    I love it! So grown up. And I want your kitchen, with those lights. I may do rum and coke trifle for my next dinner party. Was it nice?

    • mrsw November 17, 2009 at 11:42 am #

      It was scrummy – just quadruple the rum and ignore the calories 🙂

  4. Neil Tasker November 17, 2009 at 12:17 am #

    All sounds very nice n sophisticated, but clearly doesn’t stand comparison to the Big Tasty I had at the weekend……
    AND it only had 11,950 calories.

  5. frostbite & sunburn November 17, 2009 at 3:47 am #

    Looks and sounds like a wonderful evening and you sound just like me, with your fine appreciation of grape juice !

Leave a Reply

