Stumped

16 Nov

Q: If it takes one four year old 4 hours and fifteen minutes to eat half a tuna sandwich, how long will it be before his mother snaps, shoves a funnel down his throat and stuffs him like a foie gras canard?

5 Responses to “Stumped”

  1. cellobella November 16, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    I think you might have just explained why my mother shoved a bowl of sago over my head when I was five.
    πŸ™‚

  2. Marylin November 16, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    I… wouldnt let him take that long. Zack (also 4!) eats at the table for meals and if he doesnt eat it at lunch/dinner time then that’s it. If it’s lunchtime then he gets NO snack, nothing till dinner when I give him the same thing reheated.

    I’m a bitch. And I’m ok with that! πŸ˜‰

  3. mrsw November 16, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    @Cellobella – probably! She has my sympathy πŸ™‚

    @Marilyn – usually I do much the same, if he doesn’t eat it when I serve it then he can starve, but he hasn’t eaten much of anything for well over a week now, not even his “favourites”. He’s looking terrible and his fluid intake is also massively reduced. I sort of made a rod for my back with this particular slice of bread, I insisted he couldn’t leave the table until he had eaten it. He proved to be quite stubborn! I even found myself repeating my mother’s threats re feeding tubes and hospitals – all round we had a pretty shitty day. The little fiend has eaten rice krispies, oatcakes and apple and a tuna wrap already today. Typical bloody man, out to prove me wrong at every opportunity.

  4. Kelly November 16, 2009 at 3:49 pm #

    I’ve done a little research on this, but my four year old daughter keeps falling asleep when I’ve got her chained to the table. It’s really hard to force feed a sleeping child.

  5. Heather November 16, 2009 at 6:44 pm #

    I too have one of these infuriating little difficult to feed things. Irrtating aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

