Fix it Friday #37

20 Nov

Here is the original photo we were invited to play with this week

My son has a cracking blue vein on the side of his head, it’s very obvious and I wouldn’t dream of Photoshopping it, so I was a wee bit uncomfortable doing it here, but artistic licence, blah, blah, bit of fun, blah, blah, we were invited to so here it is… my basic fix.

I tried many crops before I got one I was happy with, it’s a bit non standard, not my usual 800px x 535px

  • On a duplicate layer I used the Patch tool and patched the vein on her forehead at full 100% and under each eye, faded to 36% under the left (her right) and faded to 17% under the right (her left)
  • I ran TRA2 Claire-ify and reduced the opacity to 33% so I could “see” the shadows again
  • Next on the Claire-ify layer I created a layer mask and masked off the highlights with a very soft brush
  • I bumped the Claire-ify layer back up to 89% so it was fully applied to the shadows, levelling it all out a bit.
  • I added a Soft Light at 35% opacity Hue/Saturation adjustment layer Hue 17, Saturation 25, Lightness 0 and Colorized checked.
  • Flattened and duplicated layer
  • Lastly I ran TRA2 A Better Web Sharpen followed by Photoshop’s own Noise Reduction at Strength 9, Preserve Detail 60%, Reduce Noise Colour 80%, Sharpen Detail 16%

TDW No Glow at 77%, Burn layer fully applied, Skin Correction layer applied everywhere except the face

PW Colorized at 100%
42% opacity Hue/Saturation adjustment layer with Saturation at -72 masked to only apply to the face with a soft brush
100% opacity Brightness/Contrast adjustment layer with contrast bumped up to 29

Now I don’t normally do this sort of thing cos it makes me dizzy but there’s not much needing “fixed” in this photo so faffing around is called for..

  • On a duplicate layer I applied a radial blur amount 4, spin, good quality and manually dragged the centre over to where he face is (trial and error)
  • Reduced the opacity of this layer to 41%
  • Next I added an 80% opacity Levels adjustment layer and darkened the whole thing down before using a 453px soft brush (image in 800px wide) on a layer mask to mask off radiating out from her face leaving a darkened edge to the radial blur.
  • Not sure if I like this but tis done now!

TRA2 Get Faded (autumn) 81%
TRA2 Punch Out!  91%
TRA2 Claire-ify 7%
TRA2 Get Faded (winter) 44%

I think this is one of those weeks where the photo didn’t need touching at all and didn’t benefit in any way from my interference. I don’t really like any of these! Well maybe the basic fix, at a push. Bleugh! I’m probably just preoccupied with having my brains sucked out this afternoon. Meh.

facesfixit

10 Responses to “Fix it Friday #37”

  1. Heather November 20, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    I LOVE your crop of this picture and the edits are all wonderful, especially #3 & #4

  2. Mariah November 20, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

    Love the crop you did. The 3rd edit rocks. I wanted mine more like that and then didn’t go that way at all:)

  3. Joy Taylor November 20, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

    love fix 3

  4. meaghan November 20, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    i love fix #2!

    also, #3 is crazy – it really looks like it’s spinning! kinda makes me dizzy, but i like it 🙂

  5. Sharon November 20, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    I had to struggle with this crop too…. I like your panorama approach! I ended up working it with her feet to the left – hard to not know, isn’t it?

  6. Saharra November 20, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

    Oooooh, I love the second edit. Great job!

  7. Stephanie November 20, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    The 2nd to last one is similar to mine! How funny

    Also I like the 3rd to last. How unique! The colors are actually very appealing. Great edits

  8. Jenny November 20, 2009 at 7:51 pm #

    All of your edits are nice, but I really, really love #2…wow! I appreciate how detailed your edits are too.

  9. Tracy, txmom2many November 21, 2009 at 2:38 am #

    I thought you did fine, but like you, I didn’t think it needed very much so wound up not playing this week. You did anyway, and came up with something good, so you are at least a better sport. If they’re desperate for shots that need fixing, I got a load!

  10. Arnold Arieta November 23, 2009 at 3:16 am #

    The first edit is ok. The second edit is the one I like. I dont know why. Hmm. I guess its about the colors. Colors of the leaves is good. And it make the girl shine. Nice edits you have! 😉
    ____________________________________
    *How come I found out these Top 10 VPS Hosting?

    *Bluehost: Affordable Web Hosting and Shared Hosting in town!

Leave a Reply

