At least they last longer than a wine gum

25 Nov

Looks like another Jingle All The Way Christmas for some poor sods. Laura, over at Are We Nearly There Yet Mummy is stressing this year’s must have Go Go Hamster, although I can appreciate the threat of real hamsters over these battery operated crapless ones must be… exciting? No.. tempting. Tempting to spend Β£50 on eBay just to get hold of one of these little suckers.

hamsters

I have had my mother carry Bey Blade stadiums back from the USA (three flights as hand luggage – these things were flimsy).

I have nearly thrown up trying to get not one but two copies of Nintendogs by Christmas Eve.

Wii? Yup – nearly wee’d myself when I managed to secure two for me and my sister a couple of years ago – in October.

I still haven’t got hold of Maple the Ty Beanie Baby Canadian exclusive.

Did my children give a rat’s arse? Looking back I don’t think my blood-pressure deserved the pummeling it took. Don’t get me wrong they were delighted and the instant, alebit shortlived, delight of a child is gratifying in a heart-warming yet smug way (who was I really pleasing here?). Everything has been well played with but I don’t think they would have actually suffered if I hadn’t managed, at often ridiclulous expense, to secure these things just in time for 25th December. Each marks a pinnacle in the stress of giving I hope to never repeat.

At the moment my older two are beyond crazes, if anything they are anti-crazes. My emo-gothic-manga-freaks trudge a less worn path plugged into their iPods, chains jangling, lace blowing. Paul is too young. My tactic for keeping him blissfully unaware of the latest must-have is to bombard him with every bit of advertising available so he can’t filter out that which everyone else wants from all the other crap screaming for his attention. Even when he’s playing with Lego or drawing me pictures I leave The Cartoon Network on in the background, subliminally filling his head with so many products he won’t be able to pick one from the barrage. So far it’s working a treat, he has far less toys than the other two ever had at this age and he asks for nothing. Well he asks for everything but even he doesn’t take the requests seriously. It’s great. This way I get to pick and choose. With two teenagers under my belt I’ve developed an instinct for what will be played with, what will be ignored after five minutes, and what will be a crippling “Hot Wheels” disappointment. My older two now bless me (and bless me often) with “Oh yeah, you’re right” when I point out they cannot buy that for their brother. we’ve owne it, it was rubbish, you hated it. Tis music to my ears and I will lap it up for as long as I can. It balances out the four year old ranting “I’m never ever ever sitting beside you again ever ever!” yeah, bite me.

7 Responses to “At least they last longer than a wine gum”

  1. Niecey November 25, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    I saw these in a giveaway I entered (I’m getting obsessed with giveaways). They look awesome I think. Pets that don’t poop. I can handle that.

    • mrsw November 25, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

      Oh good luck – like any new pet I’ll be delighted to hear how you get on with it (when you win of course).

  2. Mwa November 25, 2009 at 6:09 pm #

    My five year old got a Hot Wheels track from his own money (other people gave it to him – not me) and he adores it!

    • mrsw November 25, 2009 at 10:24 pm #

      Ah – it works then? The cars don’t go flying off the track after 6 inches? You must have “the Hot Wheels touch” or something else supernatural going on (gravity and the laws of physics don’t cut it) πŸ™‚

  3. Insomniac Mummy November 26, 2009 at 12:15 pm #

    I’d never heard of the wotsit hamsters ’til yesterday.

    I am an advertisers nightmare.

    πŸ˜€

    • mrsw November 26, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

      Me neither! But the memories – oh they came flooding back

  4. Free DS March 21, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    Subscribed! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

