Advent Blog?

1 Dec

I didn’t notice quite how evil looking the Santa on the left was until I took a photo from this angle. Dude is scary. See? I was right.

The frost hung around til lunchtime when Paul went to nursery.

Purty.

Seagulls walking on water are hilarious.

The tree went up…

They threw every decoration we own at it. I never re-arrange their baubles, even when they were small and the tree was a bit bottom heavy I left it. Now (some of them) are tall, they can stand on things and I have amassed enough baubles for three to a branch. It cannot help but be even, of sorts.

This laissez-faire attitude follows years of watching and waiting while my Mum backed up, squinted and rearranged the tree lights…. for ages. Really. Not just child perceived ages, she still does it. I avoid this by chucking on three sets of 240 lights and turning the radiators down.

Later everyone stirred and made a wish over Delia’s (all hail Delia for lo it is told her reign over the kitchen in the twelfth month shall be eternal) Christmas Pudding. Well nearly, I miss out the nuts and couldn’t find a lemon so used lime rind. And Cointreau instead of rum… but there’s enough Delia in there to pay homage.

Tomorrow I will be steaming.

13 Responses to “Advent Blog?”

  1. Mwa December 1, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

    What a wonderful post. I loved the tree pictures. My mother always did that. Hell. Hell! You are a good woman.

    (The Santas full of candy made my stomach sore just looking at them, though – are they going to eat all that?)

    • mrsw December 3, 2009 at 5:11 pm #

      The wee one would eat it all in one day – since I told him once they are finished SANTA is coming (I told The Santa Lie)

  2. Kelly December 2, 2009 at 2:12 am #

    Your house looks so cozy, bathed in Christmas tree lights. Mine goes up on Saturday!

    • mrsw December 3, 2009 at 5:11 pm #

      I am so used to them already, not looking forward to bare bleak January šŸ˜¦

  3. Niecey December 2, 2009 at 5:58 am #

    I would KILL for one of them twirls! (the fbi don’t read this do they?)

    Yeah that Santa has his angry eyes on

    • mrsw December 3, 2009 at 5:13 pm #

      Don’t kill anyone Niecey, just email me your address and I’ll send you a Twirl šŸ™‚

      Which is much better than sending me your address so I can email you a Twirl šŸ˜‰

      I had to read this several times before I hit “Submit”

  4. Barbara December 2, 2009 at 9:33 am #

    God I’m so stupid. I’ve made Queen Delia’s mincemeat and Christmas cake by just leaving out the nuts – why did I get myself in such a lather about the pudding?

    • mrsw December 3, 2009 at 5:13 pm #

      Dunno – but you have inspired me to make a nutless cake, it’s not as if the kids will eat it anyway!

  5. Meghan December 3, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    Hi,

    Found your website via the train wreck of Mckmama.

    Beautiful photos. Just wanted to say that I am impressed with your kids self control on the advent calendar. We have an elf named “Stinky” who fills one pocket each night usually with a small toy. I found out early that my son is not tom be trusted!

    Are you in Perth. I have made many fantastic friends from Perth even though I am in Canada. Perth must have good air to make such awesome people.

    Meg

    • mrsw December 3, 2009 at 5:15 pm #

      Aw thanks – yes we are in Perth. My folks used to live in Canada, I adore Canada. Send me YOUR address and I’ll turn up on your doorstep (bet you wish you’d asked for a Cadbury’s Twirl too now huh?)

  6. Meghan December 3, 2009 at 5:39 pm #

    We have an open door policy for world travellers, you would be welcome.

    We almost went to Perth this summer ( your winter) but Husband had a job interview so we had to high tail it back to Canada. we are now saving our pennies for a trip to Perth. So keep your doorstep free of clutter please.

    I am in Edmonton, not a good place to visit. But I have connections…

    • mrsw December 3, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

      lol – wrong Perth – we are the first and the original – in Scotland šŸ™‚

  7. Meghan December 3, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    Oh how embarrasing. You are still welcome!

Leave a Reply

