Promotion

2 Dec

We all know there are pinnacles in parenting, you know, those things other people reach for, other people achieve…. the same people year in and year out. B-o-o-o-o-ringly so.

Today I was propelled into those realms. We had…. arrived.

See my tongue… firmly embedded?

tongue-in-cheek

In the cattle market that is the school corridor at 3:15 I was bending down to put Paul’s shoes on when he told me,

“I’ve forgotten who I am”

This was alarming, how could I remind him?

“No I’ve forgotten what I am”

This was easier… then I heard from along the corridor, “Ooh, what’s Paul?”

Bloody hellfire! Why were these people around me failing to recognise members of their own species???

I looked up, vacantly…

“In the nativity?”

Aaah, “Oh he’s forgot” I answered, “Muppet!”

Just then the teacher passed by and reminded him… “Oh Paul! You’re Joseph”

PROMOTION!

I saw spread before me seven years of other parents whingeing “It’s always the same kids on the stage, can’t they give someone else a chance?” cos we were so there.

Kathryn and Andrew had both failed me, mere background players, stars, shepherds, whatever…. I just knew there was a reason I had Paul. I am so there.

ME ME ME – I am the Mummy!

Yes, even we atheists know the value of the Joseph slot. You can keep your football captain, eco committee, star award, valedictorians, we are talking Joseph here .

I was half way home when it dawned on me it really is the best part for him.

They can keep him tied up at the side of the stage until the last minute then briefly let loose the whirlwind that is my son, who cannot remember more than one line of a song, to do the least damage in the least time.

I was so nearly there too.

4 Responses to “Promotion”

  1. Dan December 2, 2009 at 6:26 pm #

    Ah pish. I’m sure it was for his inate acting genius and charisma (obviously inherited)that he was chosen.

    • mrsw December 3, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

      Shucks – but I think they already cut his lines!

  2. Mwa December 3, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    I’m SOOO jealous! I want a Joseph in my family. (Off to sulk.)

    😉

    • mrsw December 3, 2009 at 7:23 pm #

      Bask in my glory – it won’t last long 😉

Leave a Reply

