Fix it Friday #38

4 Dec

You know, I am assuming iHeartFaces is just going to keep running and running once we reach the end of the year. I’m not half presumptuous!

Here’s this week’s original

Here’s my fix

And here’s what I did…

  • I used the patch tool faded to 70% on a few wee red areas on the chin
  • I used the same tool under the eyes faded way down to 40%
  • I copied the skin to a new layer and surface blurred at radius 20 threshold 18 and set this layers opacity to 31%
  • Flattened the lot
  • I added a curves adjustment layer with just a tiny tweak in the middle to brighten it up
  • I added a brightness/contrast adjustment layer brightness +5 and contrast +17
  • I added a hue/saturation layer hue 0 saturation 25 and colorized, soft light and faded to 45% opacity then added a vector mask and removed this adjustment from his face and body, just boosting the background
  • I added a photo filter adjustment layer and used the PS preset Warming Filter 81 at 64% opacity
  • Flattened, duplicated layer and finally ran unsharpen mask on the eyes at amount 58, radius 7 and threshold 8 before reducing the opacity of that layer to 60% and flattening for the last time

Now I could have played around with some Actions at this stage and created a few different versions of this photo, but over at iHeartFaces they are awfully good at finding inspiring people and introducing all sorts of fun photo editing ideas. Last week they featured a giveaway of Patti Brown textures and overlays as seen here at her Kaleidoscope website. How cool are these?

Did I have the cash to buy them? Eh no…

Did they look all that hard to have a go creating from scratch? Well, maybe a bit but I’m not one to shirk a challenge.

So, all week I have been painting and smudging and blurring and taking shots of rusty old skips and wet windows. As you do.

I haven’t come up with anything close to brilliant, but it’s fun trying.

So I used this (one I made), as a soft light layer at 93% opacity and masked off the face…

And this (a freebie I found on Flickr ages ago UPDATE: no it’s my back window on a rainy day – all my own work!) on a normal layer at 23% opacity, again with the face masked off.

Flattened the lot and ran TRA2 Punch Out! reduced to 24% opacity and got this…

Yeah – I won’t give up my day job (what IS that again?), but I’ll keep working away at this. I like the things you can do with landscapes, especially dreech Scottish skies in winter.

I might even share my efforts.

facesfixit

7 Responses to “Fix it Friday #38”

  1. Jenny December 4, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    I always appreciate how detailed you are with the workflow…thanks for sharing that with us. And I think it’s super cool that you tried to make your own texture! Lovely edits.

  2. Caroline December 4, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    That’s brilliant – very clever and it really works :D!!! Great edit 😀

  3. Tricia December 4, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    Very soft and pretty. Love that.

    XO*Tricia

  4. Lindsey December 4, 2009 at 7:22 pm #

    Great work! Thanks for playing around!

    -Lindsey (Ben’s mommy)

  5. Saharra December 4, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    I love the subtle warmth you brought to the photo! Great job!

  6. Rachel December 4, 2009 at 9:36 pm #

    Very nice!!!

  7. Jeannine December 5, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    Great editing. I may have to buy some of those. Darn, I really need more stuff to load into the computer, but they are great.

Leave a Reply

