iHeartFaces – Pets

14 Dec

przewalskis-horse

Love these guys. We always go see them first when we visit The Highland Wildlife Park at Kingussie and they always delight me with a pose. According to the IUCN Redlist they are critically endangered which just seems odd when I can pop up and see them whenever. In 2008 there were only 53 in captivity in the West.

It’s amazing how closely they resemble the primitive horses depicted in the Paleolothic cave paintings at Lascaux

3 Responses to “iHeartFaces – Pets”

  1. Caroline December 14, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    They are beautiful horses and a lovely capture 😀

  2. Dad Who Writes December 15, 2009 at 11:30 pm #

    Nice shot! I need to figure out how to move my pictures into the Dad Who Writes frame somehow.

    I actually saw those cave paintings for real once, four years ago. Dudelet was on my back and he threw his dummy at them which was a bit embarrassing.

    • mrsw December 15, 2009 at 11:37 pm #

      Seriously? I thought they were closed to anyone but archeology/anthropology/paleontology/ologology bods on a long waiting list. I have no idea why I thought that. Did I also dream the bit where they built a replica? Am I going mad here? 🙂

      If they are open for viewing I am SO there in 2011.

Leave a Reply

