Just call me gummy

15 Dec

Excuse me while I spit some teeth.

I’ll add them to the pile my daughter spat when she got home from school today.

There she was, working away hard in French, head down, when a stretch Hummer drew up to the school. Into the quadrant no less, where everyone could get a good view.

perth-hummer-limo-specs01Into said Hummer jumped a pile of well kent faces. And no well kent for good reasons. Well kent as is the little thug who shoves my niece off the school bus, or well kent as in the girl who shouts death threats to one of my daughters friends all the way to school.

And off the well kent faces went for a lunch trip to Frankie & Benny’s.

frankie and bennys

How nice for them.

I’m all for finding ways to engage the disengaged, to encourage attendance at school and to provide as much support to kids who need all the support they can get.

But to rub this trip, this REWARD, in the faces of the hard working, well behaved kids, the kids who these well kent faces harass, bully, intimidate and assault is totally unnecessary and frankly unforgivable.

Shame on you Perth Academy.

pacad fail

I wouldn’t be surprised if some well behaved hard working kids felt like telling the school to shove it after watching this.

They probably fancy a day in the PLC, playing the Wii or XBox, or making Christmas baubles and getting a nice wee reward like a trip to Frankie & Benny’s in a stretch Hummer.

Who wouldn’t?

4 Responses to “Just call me gummy”

  1. Littlemummy December 16, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    This is outrageously unfair, what kind of message is this ending out? And more to the point who’s paying for this luxury?

  2. mrsw December 16, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    I know there are kids whose lives I cannot even begin to imagine and I have no inherent problem with them being rewarded for achievements that I take for granted my children will attain, or have already attained.

    Having said that I can think of no excuse for this little jaunt undertaken in front of the whole school, the majority of whom work hard, behave wonderfully and get very little recognition in return for their efforts because it’s expected of them.

    Should well behaved children get free lunches and trips in limos for doing what is expected of them? No they shouldn’t. But if they have to witness on a daily basis disruptive, unruly children wandering in and out of classes when they feel like it and being given the option of playing video games instead of lessons it’s little wonder they get angry. If poor behaviour and stinking attitude is rewarded so publicly and so ostentatiously it doesn’t take a genius to figure out the next step!

    It’s even more galling when at the end of it all, once they’ve had their “treat” these kids will STILL bully, they will STILL commit assault and they will STILL wander in and out of classes depending on their mood. And nobody does anything to stop them. Protecting them is paramount and if that means my niece comes home bleeding and bruised after being shoved off the school bus then so be it. Even the bus drivers are prepared to turn a blind eye when it comes to kids beating the crap out of each other on their buses. When did adults get so faird of children that they would choose to do nothing?

    Some of these children managed to sit in classrooms for seven years of primary school. If I can see they are taking the mickey then it must be glaringly obvious to the school. Surely?

  3. Marylin December 17, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    That’s fuckin pathetic. Sorry for the language but really, what the hell??

  4. notwavingbutironing December 19, 2009 at 4:13 pm #

    I can’t understand it, I didn’t punch either of my children in the face today. But no one has knocked on the door to offer me a cash reward. What’s happening to society????

Leave a Reply

