10 things and me this past decade

31 Dec
  1. At the beginning of this decade I was a single working Mum of two.  I’ve been all the Mums me… I tick all the boxes. In 2002 MrW and I whirlwinded our way to shackedupedness. I ticked the last box in 2007 (the bottom left one) and I’m still there.

    all mums

  2. In the past 10 years I have been made redundant (twice, once amicably) and resigned (once, amicably). I would be lying if I said I wasn’t bitter about my first redundancy, 16 years into what was a successful and rising career.  I often worked 12 hour days from home and received customer service accolades from all the corners of Europe, but it was me who was made redundant whilst a toad-faced little waste of  oxygen who bunked off to wait in for the gas man or watch her daughter play netball while the rest of the department scoured the office for her was kept on. Yes, I am still very bitter about that one. I patiently wait for Karma to deliver the short-arsed balding bastard who took that decision exactly what he deserves in return for his total lack of professional integrity. One day. He also screwed me out of around £10,000 in redundancy money so if you, Karma, could get together with Just Desserts and hurry it up please?Bad_Karma_logo_0.2
  3. I had a baby. At 38. I sort of had an age in my head, you know? An age that I deemed my upper limit for producing any further offspring. It was 36. We’d made a half-hearted effort when I was 35.. sort of  “not avoiding it” iykwim? Without result. After Christmas 2004, when I was already heading rapidly for 37, I told MrW it was decision time – what was it to be for this year? A holiday in Canada or a baby?paul bornNOW he wants to go to Canada.
    line
  4. Around 2002 I discovered that the Open University was no longer a bunch of hairy hippies on BBC2 in the middle of the night who awarded BD(Open) degrees in… well Maths and Astronomy was all I seemed to see them do in the wee small hours. A work colleague of mine was in his final year of a Psychology degree funded by our employer as professional development. Not bad for an IT company. Needless to say the short-arsed balding bastard above took care of any aspirations I had to gain a funded IT degree. However, thanks to the Scottish government who don’t treat me as an appendage of the man I live with, I have received generous funding for the past few years and stumbled my way through IT, Psychology, Sociology and Social Policy courses with degrees of success varying from total failure to top student on the course. It’s like life’s ups and downs in certificate form.
    line
  5. I have gained what is frankly an alarming amount of weight in the past 10 years. Frightening. I hit 40 in 2007 and it seems to have become nigh on impossible to shift fat from that point onwards. I think it’s bedded in for the duration. This, above everything else, makes me grumpy. And hungry.
    line
  6. I have been to see more bands in the last decade than all the previous decades put together – and I’ve been going to gigs since I was 15. I’m not even going to list them. Too many.
    Oh OK  – my top five gigs of the decade…

    The Goo Goo Dolls at the Barrowlands, Glasgow
    Peter Gabriel at the NEC, Birmingham
    Rush at the Verizon Amphitheatre, Kansas City
    Jimmy Eat World all the times they played at the Barrowlands, Glasgow
    The Darkness at the Corn Exchange, Edinburgh
    line

  7. I got my butt back on a rollercoaster! Do you remember those Cub Scouts who ate their packed lunch on Blackpool’s Revolution thanks to Jim’ll Fix It? Revolution was, I believe, the first upsidey-down rollercoaster in Britain (if not Europe). When I visited the Pleasure Beach back in 1981-ish I was most keen to get me some upsidey-down action. I didn’t think twice about taking a whirl.revolution1
    It was horrendous.

    The most stomach-churning, neck-breaking, god-awful experience of my life (I was only 14-ish, I appreciate now that there was worse to come). It was another 20 years before I dared set foot on one again. Despite holidays in the Canada and the USA with numerous trips to all the Orlando theme parks between 1996 and 2001 I refused to even consider riding a rollercoaster. Until MrW came along and called me a big fairdy kiff and dragged me on The Hulk at Universal Studios. What a sight I was…  running off at the end shouting “Again! Again! Again!”. I can’t believe all those trips to theme parks I spent NOT riding rollercoasters but I have used this past decade wisely and done my best to make up for twenty thrill-ride wasted years.

  8. At the beginning of 2009 I took the Nikon D40X off Auto and poor MrW hasn’t been able to get his hands on it since. We got the camera in 2007 and for nearly two years I was barely able to function with it in Auto. I took no photos. Now you cannot stop me…paul sleeps
    I am in danger of becoming a camera bore.
    line
  9. At the very end of the decade I finally, after many attempts sadly failed, acquired me a taste for whisky. This pleases me. It makes me feel completely Scottish – at last.
    line
  10. And right now, as I sit here, I marvel at the fact that during the last 10 years my first two children have grown from little pre-schoolers into the teenagers they are now. And I haven’t killed them. Or me.

    Mind you there’s still 3 hours and 23 minutes left….

5 Responses to “10 things and me this past decade”

  1. Kelly December 31, 2009 at 10:42 pm #

    Happy New Year!

  2. Heather January 1, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    I used to love rollercoasters, right now the thought of going upside down for any reason makes me want to be ill. Although to be fair, right now it is New Years Day and I’m slightly hungover.

  3. Marylin January 2, 2010 at 5:04 am #

    Happy New Year! I’m hoping this one is better than the last for me at least! lol 🙂

    Here’s to a happy, healthy year full of love and yummy cookies. 😉

  4. Dad Who Writes January 5, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    #2, #8 and #9. Excepting that I’m not Scottish. I don’t do roller coasters, though. Far too much of a wimp.

  5. Kim (frogpondsrock) January 5, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading that. We have a bit in common. Well except I dont have a balding fat git in my past, the tosser. cheers Kim

Leave a Reply

