Caught with my curlers in

8 Feb

Now I have to go say something to get that sweary rant off the top. <Sigh>

It appears I’ve made the Tots 100 Index of British Parent Bloggers, which came as a bit of a shock since I didn’t submit myself for the index.  As far as I know you have to post a comment with all your details over at Who’s The Mummy to get yourself measured, graded and ranked. I think I would remember having done that and it’s something I really didn’t want to happen to my ranty little corner of the blogosphere.

I don’t really consider myself a parent blogger. Certainly no more than I consider myself a female blogger, a hobby photographer blogger, a student blogger, an overweight blogger, a left-wing Scottish Nationalist blogger, a wifey of a teacher blogger… you get my drift? I chose not to pigeon-hole myself because I couldn’t really find my tribe.

If I was going to submit myself to be indexed and assigned points I probably would have done it during a month I posted some stuff. January has seen me down with, as Marilyn so eloquently calls it, a dose of the “Can’t be bothereds”.  Meh.

I’ve decided to call it a day with the Open University at least until Paul starts school. Despite the load I feel has been lifted it still pisses me off. I was supposed to be finished this year. But I’ve been putting off doing absolutely everything since I got so far behind with my studies. I couldn’t iron, cook, get my camera out, cook, play with Paul, knit, did I mention cook? Or blog. I couldn’t be bothered . As soon as I started anything I felt guilty for not spending the time studying. I’m not  prepared to cram a Level 3 course into the 90 minutes a day I get to myself… there’s no way I could do it justice in that time. So all I’ve been doing is a big fat nothing. Not the month to have my blog judged huh?

But… whilst I’m a bit pee’d off at being included without asking, I’m not going to deny that I’m a bit chuffed to make the top 100. I’m just not sure if I want to continue being graded… I can’t make myself UNknow now. So I’m confoozled. I’ll sleep on it.

Until then me and the boy are skiving school and going to see Astro Boy.

13 Responses to “Caught with my curlers in”

  1. Kelly February 8, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    In my blog roll I have you labeled as a photography blog, because I found you through I Heart Faces. I may have to start a new label called, “Awesomely Defies Category”. You write about stuff that speaks to many parts of me, not just Mommy or the photographer. Thanks.

    • mrsw February 8, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

      Aw – see I just have y’all in one big lump – the list of stuff I read. I extend my “defies categorisation” to the lot of you 🙂

  2. Kat February 8, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

    Sally will remove you if you ask.

  3. sally whittle February 8, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    Hi. You have always been on the index but only made the top hindred this month for the first time. But yes we can definitely remove you no questions asked if you would prefer. But well done. fab blog!!

    • mrsw February 8, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

      If I’ve always been on it then it’s even odder because I could at least have got my head round that registering with Post Rank may have inadvertently triggered something! How long have I been on the index? And how did I end up on it cos I haven’t a scooby 🙂

      • Sally February 8, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

        When we first put together the index we pulled together a list of around 200 blogs to start with, and then people opted in to add their names to that list.

        I don’t think you’d ever made the top 100 before, but this month your score went up quite a bit – I think perhaps Postrank added you for the first time this month, which boosted your score high enough to make the top 100. Would that make sense?

  4. Dad Who Writes February 8, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

    Remains a mystery how you made it there in the first place! I also don’t see myself as a ‘parent blogger’, despite the nom de guerre. That’s what I like about your blog (and a lot of my favourite blogs, like All That Comes With it. They’re blogs about all kinds of, well, stuff.

    I guess we’re “All Kinds Of Stuff About That Sort Of Thing” Bloggers. Not sure I could fit the badge in a sidebar. Though if I did make a badge, I’d be aligning myself as a ‘non-aligned’ blogger which would defeat the point.

    I’ll shut up now.

    Did I say “Nice blog”?

    • mrsw February 8, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

      I want that badge – or something similar – I could make that – I could add it to the list of things I don’t get round to when I’m meant to be studying cos despite dropping my current course I now (of course) will feel guilty about not reading ahead for my next one. No wonder I failed uni first time round!

  5. Barbara February 8, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    Well done though!

    • mrsw February 8, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

      😛

  6. Marylin February 9, 2010 at 1:06 am #

    Woot, well done you!
    I have no idea what sort of blog I have either – it’s a bit of everything I think? I love your blog, so really chuffed you got in the Top 100! 🙂
    (and thankies for the link lurve!) x

  7. Not Waving But Ironing February 9, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    I have categorised you (in my head, at least) as laugh-out-loud funny, sharp, clever, different, and as someone who takes a lovely photograph. I’d never get a job in a library, would I?

  8. Heather February 10, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    I know what you mean about the not knowing where you fit thingy, mummy, woman, expat, stuff and nonsence. i’ll just take any group that’ll have me.

    congrats on making it in even if you’re not sure you want to stay. Nice to know you could if you wanted to, eh?

Leave a Reply

