Secret Post #1

19 Feb

I already Tweeted how tickled several shades of pink I was when I opened my first Secret Post parcel earlier this week. Not only is this an opportunity to be a lazy douche and have lots of lovely new bloggers and their blogs presented to me on a plate, I get to send a gift and receive a gift every month. How much better can it get?

This much….

I don’t remember if I ever mentioned anywhere on this here blog that I knit. But I do. I knit. However I rarely indulge myself with 100% wool. In fact I think I’ve always had a bit of acrylic in there. Thanks to Kerry @ And Then All I Thought About Was You, I can’t ever go back! This stuff is so soft, so luxurious, so…. woolly!

It is utterly lush.

It doesn’t look like that anymore though.

Now it looks like this…

And here, modelled by my every so compliant daugher.

And even better, whatever I’ve been allergic to in those sorry imitations of 100% wool I’ve been used to knitting with is clearly missing from this little bit of decadence. Not even a twitch of an itch.

Kerry also included a lovely blanket pattern that my daughter and I are going to complete in panels – tho I think it might be a bit longer before we can show that off!

Thank you Kerry, this was an utterly inspired choice, I love it to bits and it’s calorie free!

For more information on the Secret Post Club or to join in, visit Heather at Notes From Lapland.

thesecretpostclubbadge

14 Responses to “Secret Post #1”

  1. Heather February 19, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    what a wonderful thing to be sent! and how cute that scarf (neck tie – what would you call that?)is. Very nice indeed.

    • mrsw February 23, 2010 at 2:55 am #

      I call it quick and easy 😉

  2. Kerry February 19, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

    I am so pleased that you liked it, and the scarf is lush too! Wow you made that so quickly, that is impressive.

    So glad you liked it and can’t wait to see the finished blanket…
    Kerry x

    • mrsw February 23, 2010 at 2:56 am #

      I do – I love it – think the blanket might take a wee bit longer tho 🙂

  3. Barbara February 20, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    Wow, that’s fabulous. Both the wool and the scarf you made.

    I must investigate this gifty malarkey.

    • mrsw February 23, 2010 at 2:56 am #

      Get yourself signed up woman – it’s mail and it’s NOT bills

  4. Clair February 20, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

    I love it (not the wool specifically as I’m knittingly challenged). I can’t wait, i’ve signed up too and can’t wait to send/receive mine next month!

    • mrsw February 23, 2010 at 2:57 am #

      I’m looking forward to the “round-up” for inspiration – I think this one will run and run…

  5. Working Mum February 21, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    How lovely and how clever you are knitting that little scarf. I’m so bad at knitting; I get holes where I shouldn’t have any and seem to acquire extra stitches along the way!

    • mrsw February 23, 2010 at 2:59 am #

      Yeah – that’s when I rattle it all down and start again. My OH said to me when I finished “ooh well done” he was lucky I didn’t poke his patronising eye out with a knitting needle but he quickly pointed out he meant finishing something and I couldn’t really argue… which is a pity as this is my argumentative week and it would have got it over and done with.

  6. Neil Tasker February 22, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Aha!…Your little secret is out. It just so happens I have knitting contacts on Harris! Check these out….http://scalpaylinen.blogspot.com/ http://www.calanacrafts.co.uk/gallery.htm

    Serious knitters….. their own wool from Harris sheeps!

    • mrsw February 23, 2010 at 2:54 am #

      Dang – and here you thought I was quite cool too….

  7. Lori February 28, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    You lucky lady. I hope you’re keeping stylish and warm in the “scarflet”. 🙂

    • mrsw February 28, 2010 at 8:55 pm #

      I really must wrestle it back off my darling daughter!

Leave a Reply

