See me walking out the door? k bai

23 Feb

it supportA few years back when I was a mere mother of two and still vaguely relevant in the world of computing, I applied for a job with a local authority education support team. These are the guys who support technology in schools, purchasing and installing, fixing and maintaining, hardware and software. Pretty much what I’d spent years doing at IBM. I didn’t even get an interview.

Around six months later I received a letter inviting me to meet with them if I was still interested. They had been unable to fill the position.  I had thrown out the job description six months previously and it was no longer being advertised, so I wasn’t entirely sure I could remember what the job was, but I accepted the invitation and duly turned up for in interview with three members of the management team.

I didn’t think in the circumstances it was wholly unreasonable of me to ask for a quick outline of the job I was interviewing for, not after six flippin months. My request was greeted with a rather terse “I will ask the questions”.

WTF?

Hang on here mate, I thought to myself, you’re not the only one with a decision to make, I might not even want this job. In fact it was suddenly quite obvious to me that given I’d be reporting to this wanker I definitely didn’t want this job. I politely pointed out that since I hadn’t filed away a copy of the job description from six months previously and since it was no longer an advertised position, I really would like to know exactly what the job entailed.

About 10 words later he muttered the words “on-call” and “overnight” in alarming proximity to each other.

“Sorry?” I said… “…did you just say overnight on-call?”

Obviously the fuck-wad failed to pick up on the “Jeez you are irritating me” vibes the first time he indicated I was in no position to ask questions (SRSLY WTF?), so he felt the need to repeat the bit about me shutting up and him talking a lot. This was one seriously emasculated bloke here.

Really not a happy bunny now, I stopped him right there and told him that I was a mother and I would not have applied for a job that stated either “on-call” or “overnight” in the description. He handed me a hard copy of the vacancy which bore absolutely no resemblance to the job I had applied for online at the council website by virtue of the fact that both “on-call” and “overnight” featured quite prominently.

When I insisted that I would not have wasted their time applying for this job if it had included this information in the online vacancy the smug twat dismissed me with, and I paraphrase,  “well the online version is not necessarily the actual version…” . Yes. Very clever. And you’re the “IT people”?

There was nothing more to discuss. Five minutes into the interview I walked out.

I still remember the look on the  mealy mouthed guppy’s face, slack jawed disbelief dribbling from the corner of his mouth as I left,  the stolen “What a prat you are” looks from the two blokes either side who’d been called in to prop up this a-hole’s ego (who needs a panel interview for a junior IT support position?). I hope at that point he “got it”, that he wasn’t the sole person in that room who had a choice, that he’d as much work to do selling the job as I had to do selling me.

But I doubt it.

It was advertised again the following month.

it-support

10 Responses to “See me walking out the door? k bai”

  1. Kelly February 23, 2010 at 4:00 am #

    Boo, hiss!!!

    I wish I had had the courage to walk out of a few interviews when I was a working girl. I had more than one male interviewer ask if I had any children and then breath am obnoxious sigh of relief when I said no. Nice.

    Now that I have a child, I don’t know if I would make a very good employee. My priorities are pretty firmly skewed in the direction of Violet.

    • mrsw February 23, 2010 at 11:28 am #

      I was once asked in an interview if my boyfriend “minded” me applying for a promoted post… they’d just recently made it a bit illegal to ask if a woman intended to have children so I guess they had to pick at my personal life some other way. Ah the 80s!

      I’d be a good employee as I have the knack of forgetting I have children the minute I enter the workplace, so much so I jumped out of my skin after parking the car one day to hear my 2yo daughter ask me if she was going to nursery that day.

  2. Heather February 23, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    I have been to far too many interviews where they think they are the only ones that have a decision to make and that you should feel lucky just to get an interview. Assholes.

    • mrsw February 23, 2010 at 11:28 am #

      Yeah – assholes!

  3. Marylin February 23, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Someone like that will never get it… and you know what? He’ll end up a sad and lonely old man once he’s too old to work. 😉

    • mrsw February 23, 2010 at 11:29 am #

      Dunno…. he had good hair.

  4. Mwa February 23, 2010 at 11:29 pm #

    Grr. I hate it when people feel all important and powerful because they feel they have a say over you. Probably the main reason I left my first job. Grrr.

  5. muummmmeeeeee...... February 24, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    Oh my God…what a total tosser! Love the fact you got up and walked x

  6. Kate February 24, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    I love it! I think so many people rise to senior positions like farts in a bath; all hot air and a lot of stink with no substance underlying it. Well done for leaving.

  7. Barbara February 24, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    Oh honestly, why do they bother? Why not get the nice person to do the interviews? I may soon have to throw myself back into the work arena (sigh), I’d forgotten about wanker interviewers. Maybe I’ll leave it a couple more years.

Leave a Reply

