#donotfeed: the diet is dead, long live the diet

25 Feb

arriba

My time with the Arriba Weight Loss Challenge cult has come to an end. But there was no orgy, and you’d expect one with any self-respecting cult. I’m only slightly disappointed about that.

I didn’t win. Since Christmas I barely found the motivation to go get my ass weighed. I calibrated my own bathroom scales to match their fancy-shmancy Tanita doo-das and it turns out I lost 17lbs. In three months. Which is better than gaining 17lbs I guess, considering all the red wine and Christmas pudding I put away over the Christmas “break”. That wee break that extended itself well into January.

I am in grave danger of spending a long miserable time in Florida on a vacation even I’m scared to total up the cost of yet. I do not wish this for me or my family.

herbalifeI’m not rejoining the cult for a second go since I think I’ve learned as much from them about healthy eating as I can, they will be repeating it all for the new Weight Loss Challengers. It does work. It really does. You don’t even have to buy the Herbalife meal replacement shakes they promote every week.. it’s the easiest and most effective diet I’ve ever followed. So why didn’t I stick to it?

I know, all diets work, it’s not the diets that are a problem it’s me. I don’t so much hit a plateau as a big feck-off self destruct button. I see the weight coming off, I feel good, I eat. I feel bad, I eat.

I just eat.

I have been battling my weight since I hit 150lbs back in my 20s. It’s a funny thing weight, that first 20lbs pissed me off more than I can say, but it only pushed me slightly out of my healthy BMI range so getting rid of it didn’t feel urgent. I suppose I thought it would disappear as quietly as it appeared. Three kids and a ton of Cathedral City later and “healthy BMI” is an unimaginably long way off, but I have to start covering the vast wasteland of empty wrappers between me and it, if not for my sake then for the sake of the three people I incubated during 27 months of Olympic Freestyle Eating.

Clubs do not work for me. I talk a good diet, I persuade other people to go on them, I railroad them into holding my hand at classes, clubs and gyms. But it’s always ME who quits, who finds excuses, who gives up. Neither handing over money, humiliation or the temptation of a few hundred quid in winnings has worked so far. I need to stop externalising this journey and take responsibility for it all on my ownsome.

Kerry @ And Then All I Thought About Was You and I are going to have a bash at walking this path together. Some of my most vulnerable times are when I am at home, on my own, you know? When whatever I stuff in my face has no calories because nobody sees me eat it? One of the reasons I managed to lose even 17lbs with the Arriba cult was down to the weekly phone-calls I got from my leader (see, I’m telling you – that there is cult terminlogy!). She would phone on Wednesdays just to see how I’d been doing that week, to make sure that whatever had happened I felt encouraged to turn up on Thursday for the weigh-in.

A little bit of encouragement can go a long way.

I’ve learned loads from my recent foray into cult dieting, and together with my 21 year membership of Scottish Slimmers, a brief secondment to Weightwatchers, a dabble with Atkins and common bloody sense, I have the tools to crack this. I have to crack this before I run out of life. I have oodles of recipes to share which will encourage me to cook them for me and mine rather than chucking a slab of cheese on hot buttered toast. There will be photos.

Kerry and I are going to weigh-off on Friday morning. I have no idea what Kerry’s diet and exercise plans are but I am sure I will pick up something new, something to inspire me… and a Twitter reprimand everytime I reach for that Mars Bar that nobody knows is there… you know… the one with no calories in it.

We’re going to tweet our wins and our woes with the hashtag #donotfeed. I will similarly preface anything diet related I post here so anyone who wishes to avoid all this talk of food and deprivation can do so. Of course, you could also choose to join in and share your recipes and diet tips along with a bit of virtual bitch-slapping everytime someone approaches the Hob Nobs.

donotfeed

11 Responses to “#donotfeed: the diet is dead, long live the diet”

  1. Marylin February 25, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Good luck sweety! I am on the same boat… “whatever I stuff in my face has no calories because nobody sees me eat it” that rings very true to me too!

    I had been doing really well with my weight loss, until I got that damn implant put in… it’s stopped me dead in my tracks and I know I’m eating more. It’s not good. I’m getting it taken out. Back on the pill for me and then lots of exercise 3 weeks out of every four *snort*. 😉

    • mrsw February 25, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

      Weigh-in with us tomorrow and you can join the virutal bitch-slapping 😀

      • Marylin February 25, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

        Ehhh… do I have to actually disclose my weight online? *hides* I don’t mind telling it to someone in an email… but there’s no way I’m putting that on my blog!! >_<

        • mrsw February 25, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

          Nah – do I look like a rule book? I’m disclosing mine cos I’m fed up kidding myself that the IKEA mirror in my bathroom reflects reality – it doesn’t even come close (so everyone else tells me then they look in it).

  2. Mwa February 25, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Good luck with it! I know the struggle, and it’s hard.
    I was doing great. Had pretty much lost my addiction to food. Of course now I’m incubating another little parasite and we’re back to square one.

    • mrsw February 25, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

      Yup – gotta keep your strength up… that helps huh? See how encouraging I can be? bwahaha!

  3. Heather February 25, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    oh good luck! It is hard, I struggle so much with the whole diet weight thing. I’ve only managed it successfully once and even now I’ve put a bit of it back on even though i refuse to admit it to myself because i don’t want to go through the whole thing again. Trouble is just love food, and drink and not exercising. Kind of stuffed really.

    • mrsw February 25, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

      Gawd me to, love food, love wine, love sedentary pastimes…. hate fat, hate belligerent argy-bargy, hate exercise… 2 out of 3 aint bad 😉

  4. Barbara February 25, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Good luck.

    I know I should go on a diet. And I will. One day. Tomorrow maybe? I tried doing a weigh-off with Dan from All That Comes With It, Ian from Single Parent Dad and a couple of others. I was either bottom or joint bottom of the league table when it finished, can’t remember which.

  5. Laura McIntyre February 26, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

    Good luck with the diet and yah on the 17lbs off.

    Im and the same and seem to always be trying one diet or another . 14lbs down since the beginning of the year and hopefully more if i can last the week 😦

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #donotfeed Super Skinny Me Updated « And Then All I Thought About Was You - February 25, 2010

    […] If you want to read Nikkii blog about this then take a look here […]

Leave a Reply

