The Gallery #1: Beauty

3 Mar

Another weekly photo carnival – I don’t know if I can keep up with them all. This will probably just end up a re-run of my archives but meh. WTH!

Everybody knows we live in a world
Where they give bad names to beautiful things
Everybody knows we live in a world
Where we don’t give beautiful things a second glance
Heaven only knows we live in a world
Where what we call beautiful is just something on sale
People laughing behind their hands
As the fragile and the sensitive are given no chance

thegallery

24 Responses to “The Gallery #1: Beauty”

  1. Marylin March 3, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Gorgeous! πŸ™‚

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:00 am #

      In a very biased way I think she is πŸ™‚ You got one up yet?

  2. Kelly March 3, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    She is beautiful, but I don’t think she needs all that eyeliner. Can’t you do something about that? πŸ˜‰

    I have a four year old who has begun putting on green eyeshadow every morning. She’s not dressed, but her lids are a fine shade of sea-sick.

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:02 am #

      Well she started off with eyeshadow at about 4….:) Actually she doesn’t wear it often – that condition where make-up slides off the face in 5 minutes must be genetic.

  3. Heather March 3, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    oh what a fabulous photo. It catches so much, doesn’t it?

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:03 am #

      It’s the Sylvanian Family house in the background that makes me smile – and remember she’s only 14 in this photo.

    • Claire March 4, 2010 at 12:57 am #

      Well said. I agree. xx

  4. Priness_L_88 March 3, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    It is so impressive that you have managed to say so much about beauty through one photo.

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:03 am #

      Thank you kindly πŸ™‚

  5. Amelia March 3, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    love the poem – so true . . . .

    Amelia.x

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:04 am #

      It’s a song called “Beautiful” by Marillion – tis a wonderful song. I recommend a listen πŸ™‚

  6. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak March 3, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Love this. I looked a lot like that at 15/16, takes me right back to my hours spent perfecting my eyeliner πŸ™‚

    Well, even if you do end up just digging through your archives I shall be very glad to get to have a peek at ones I won’t have seen before. Loving your work Mrs W.

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:07 am #

      I don’t think I looked nearly that grown up at 14 πŸ™‚ (and only just 14 in this one).

      I think my archive can take a battering – it stretches over 3 external drives!

  7. Nickie @ Typecast March 3, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Love it!!

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:07 am #

      Thank you!

  8. Crystal Jigsaw March 3, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    I love this photo, it reminds me of me when I was much younger.

    CJ xx

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:08 am #

      Oh me too – and she looks nothing like me either πŸ™‚

  9. muummmmeeeeee...... March 3, 2010 at 11:58 pm #

    Ah…that one could win an award!

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:10 am #

      Shucks!

      She’s been pestering me for a photo shoot all winter. Now that the sun is here I might be able to get out and about – but she’ll be after a haircut first, oh and some clothes (unless I can entice her with more of my 80s wardrobe!)

  10. Catherine Sinclair March 4, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    Wow I love your choice! Is it a scanned 35mm film photo?

    • mrsw March 4, 2010 at 12:19 am #

      I have you open in a tab right this very moment – you’re not far away at all are you? πŸ™‚

      No, it’s a digital photo, taken in poor light at high ISO – there wasn’t a heck of a lot of colour there so B&W seemed the best move – it’s a photoshopograph but I don’t remember doing too much to it (I really must keep a PSD version – probably need another terabyte of space tho!)

  11. Lorraine March 4, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    Thanks for dropping by on my blog and for your comment, it lead me here and I just wanted to say I love your photos, so glad i found your blog.

  12. Barbara March 6, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Blimey, not sure I looked that grown up at 14 either. She is beautiful.

    I like Marillion (Fish era, only) but don’t recognise that song. Off to youtube now.

    • mrsw March 6, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

      It’s an “H” era one – I’m a Fish era gal too (wait til you see tomorrow’s post!), but H is a damn fine singer, and he has been there for like what? 20+ years now? It’s his band. I love Beautiful, Cover My Eyes, After Me… there’s probably more if I could just find the time to explore Marillion post 198blah πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

