Guest Post: Fiddlesticks or should that be Fuck?

5 Mar

Today’s post is brought to you by Bare Naked Mummy courtesy of Little Mummy’s Mega Guest Post Swop Shop Saturday (OK Friday) Superstore Extravaganza

When my eldest daughter (6- Bel) got to the repeating everything you say phase – at around 2, Neb and I had to remember not to swear in front of her as she would look at us then repeat the said word over and over again. Since then we’ve obviously mellowed and swear words are coming back into our vocabulary. Now we get glared at and she says “That was a naughty word” and we apologise.

But of course Car (2) has turned into a parrot and will repeat everything everyone says.  It’s like having a mini echo following you around.

We’re sitting in the car on journey home from work and Bel will start saying something random  and 5 seconds later Car says the same thing! AAGH!!

So, when the need to say Fuck or Bugger comes along we have to think of other words to say, no longer can we spell it out as Bel will admonish us.

fif copyShould it be “Flowering Fiddlesticks” as in one of Car’s new heroines Fifi?

“Oh my gosh” sounds like I’m Penelope Pitstop from Wacky Races – and I don’t think I’d get away with her accent. (or her blondness either!)

penelope copy

I suppose I could use sugar or shit but sometimes when you’ve walked into the kitchen and realised that a) you’ve stood in some cat sick and b) Car has knocked over the flour bag onto the floor then you need something with a bit more power behind it!

Or maybe I should turn the house into a no swearing zone :

no swearing copy

But really, I can’t see that fucking happening can you?

11 Responses to “Guest Post: Fiddlesticks or should that be Fuck?”

  1. Littlemummy March 5, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    Haha, great post. I like ‘Shizz’ for when I drop something.

  2. Marylin March 5, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    I enjoy swearing too fucking much to not do it tbh… Zack has started with the “that’s a baaad word mummy” thing. I have to apologize if I swear in front of him! lol 🙂

  3. Barenakedmummy March 5, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Littlemummy – I’m glad you liked it – Shizz sounds too close to something else for me lol!:)

    Marilyn – That’s the problem I too like my swearing too much! I have to remember not to swear in work 😛

  4. Very Bored in Catalunya March 5, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    Great post, I too swear far too often,especially when driving. So far, Joseph hasn’t picked it up but I’m sure it won’t be long. xx

  5. mrsw March 5, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    My favourite non-sweary swear words of the moment:-

    Shit – sugarelly
    Bugger – Bum (if I’m quick enough!)
    Fuck it! – a sort of “feeeggghhhyee!” noise which honestly could be anything – if I have a stroke and the family ignore me this is why.
    Bastard – bastardsooooh he’s a fine rugby player inny?
    Fucking – Farking – sort of Battlestar Galactica, but not quite.
    Bollock – I just say this one – meh
    Crap – shit even Paul says this one…

  6. Tattie Weasle March 5, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I’m just too Anglo Saxon… I try to say only grown up can use these words but I think they can see through me!

  7. Marianne March 5, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

    Loved it!
    I too am trying my best to be very careful but it doesn’t always work out 🙂

  8. Niecey March 5, 2010 at 5:05 pm #

    But it’s so fun to come up with alternatives to sweary words. I’d be so bored if I just used the big guns all the time. We do the “feck” thing, and I enjoy an old fashioned Charlie Brown style “Good grief”. It makes me feel so…civilized.
    Otherwise we make them up on the fly. It’s awesome. Recent cusses that come to mind: pumpernickel, flumps, for crapping out loud, for crying out crap, oh shooshwallop. It’s so dorky and fun. I’m almost hoping to stub my toe just to give me another opportunity to make up a new bad word (ok, I’m perhaps getting a bit carried away now with the fun theme, but still…)

  9. Barenakedmummy March 5, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

    I think that you Scots may have more swear words than I do in Welsh – not many inspiring ones unless you’d like “Cer i grafu” – which means “Go scratch yourself!”
    Alternatives are also a good idea but on the fly I normally swear!
    BNMx

  10. Organic Motherhood March 7, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    Hi BNM!! Love this guest post and love the clinicallyfedup bloggy too!!! Great idea. Meanwhile, I’ve certainly had my share of mistakes (swearing and otherwise) around the rugrats. Nino as a baby said shit in the library during storytime thanks to something he overheard from me. Ooops!!

  11. Barbara March 8, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    Tee-hee. I usually end up with meaningless noise coming out of my mouth. Like Mrs W, if I have a stroke and my family don’t notice it’ll be my own fault.

Leave a Reply

