It's Oscars night how apt

7 Mar

I’ve been sent/tagged/gosh not sure what the the correct term is… anyway tis an award with a pretty badge and everything, by the hilarious (I hope she means to be…) MUUMMMMEEEEEE…… @ No Wine on Wednesdays (she has more self control than me, what’s wrong with Wednesdays I ask? Why should they be left out?).

kreativ_blog

I really must knit more often…. or do the photos count? Please say the photos count! They are a lot less effort and I only get one blurry eye as opposed to 10 stiff fingers.

So I’d like to thank the Academy (Perth Academy – they taught me everything I know about Art – which I didn’t take so meh), my MOM, she who taught me to knit, Nikon for their wonderful cameras and MrW for having the courage to spend an amount of money I don’t care to have revealed to me on my lovely prime lens. Have I gushed enough? Look this is a big deal, it’s my first…. and you always remember your ahem, first… and second!!! of course you always remember your second…… three to n are probably worth forgetting though.

So the deal is I have to tell you 7 things you don’t know about me then pass it on to 7 fellow bloggers.

It’s times like these you learn to live again I feel an anonymous blog would be handy, but I’ll do my best. MUUMMMMEEEEEE…… has already covered petty theft, bestial foreplay and creative glueing so she’s set the bar high.

7 Things about me I haven’t mentioned on this here blog yet

  1. I used to wear a mullet and I really liked it. Believe me I have tried to find a photo cos I really really liked it. It was 1984 and we didn’t call it a mullet back then, it was a Pat Kincaid, since she was the only stylist in Perth who did this magical thing with our shaggy old rocker perms. I met MrW in 1984, we were both a bit shaggy rocker and both ended up with a Pat Kincaid. He kept his for a few more years than me and I feel it’s only right that at least one of our wonderful mullets is unveiled.
    line

    line
  2. Fish phoned me. Remember Marillion? Kayleigh?Β That Fish. Summer of 83. I was 16, it was the night before my Chemistry “O” Grade exam and I was in bed. The band were just back from Germany and holed up at a hotel in London with a really long phone number. I know this cos my MUM chatted to him for ages and not believing it was actually Fish, didn’t get me up and didn’t take down the phone number properly.Β  Believe me I frantically tried just about every combination of that London phone number, well as frantic as you can on an old rotary dial phone. I spoke to some pretty baffled people before I had to leave for school at 08:15. Gutted. He’d said to call him back before they left the hotel at 11am, which was exactly the time that my first Chemistry paper ended….. oh the 16 year old pain as I watched the minutes tick away!
    line
    I knew it was him as I’d written a long, now completely forgotten, letter and given him my phone number. So I wrote back cursing my Mother’s scepticism and he phoned again. This time I got the call and could barely speak let alone think straight. He told me all about filming the Garden Party video… and probably much more but that’s about all I can recall after 27 years. He asked my how my “A” Levels were going, I told him I was sitting “O” Grades. He didn’t phone back (DUH! why didn’t I just say “Great! Brilliant!” ?) but he sent me a lovely signed photo (lost in some house move much to my sadness).
    line
    These days he sends me (well me and anyone else who wants to subscribe) regular e-mails, has a website, takes part in fan forums and e-mail groups, holds conventions and is so pally-wally with his fan base it’s hard to imagine there was a day when I had to put pen to paper, send it off to EMI and hope against the odds it found its way to the hands of the man I wrote it for. I never dreamt I’d get a reply, let alone a phone call.
    line
    Incidentally he looked more like this back then, which is why I kicked myself for years that I hadn’t had the wits to just say “Great! Brilliant!”.
    line

    line
  3. I am a fucking clever clogs. You wouldn’t know it given my recent stumbles through academia but I am a smug-off smart cookie. When I feel like it. I even have a letter to prove it. Of course I totally failed to even finish my next course… or the one after that. I think me and the degree are a bit like me and the diet… I know where the self destruct button is. There really is a thin qualified person in here trying to get out. I just keep shoving her back in for some reason… yeah not that clever I guess. I did get an A pass in my Chemistry “O” Grade though.
    line
    score
  4. I’m allergic to latex. Aye, latex. Bummer…. well not literally bummer but… oh you know what I mean. I didn’t become allergic til my 30s and found out when I grew a trout pout after blowing up some party balloons… actually I waited til the dentist shoved a latex gloved hand in my gob and it erupted on one side to confirm it. The “come hither for a bit of what you fancy” look only really works if it’s evenly spread, otherwise you just look like you’ve walked into a fast moving fist.
    line
  5. Emmm… oh I’m struggling now… you do know my man is an “eminent edublogger”? It must be true cos the BBC said so and he’s often in TESS, well not “Ollie Bray often” in TESS πŸ˜› but enough to make sure I remain circumspect-ish on this here blog. So with that in mind, carefully moving on to 6….
    line
  6. I drunk a whole bottle of Smirnoff Blue Label vodka when I was 17. It was Hogmanay. I was still sober at the end of it. I was pretty annoyed about that at the time.
    voddie
    line
  7. The first single I ever bought was Substitute by Clout. My Mum took me and my sister on the bus to Kirkcaldy and gave us 50p each to spend on a record in John Menzies (yes I am still speaking English). My sister chose Forever Autumn by Justin Hayward and I was torn between Clout and Racey’s Lay Your Love On Me. Have you guessed the year yet? 1978. 32 OMFUG years ago.
    line
    clout

I think that’s enough sharing from me for now. So to the tagging bit.

Who would I like to see reveal 7 almost interesting things about themselves?

Livi, because she took this and I love it.

Marylin because I’d like an opportunity to spell her name right for the first time and since we’re planning on a wee swally soon I think she better fess up anything she’s hiding.

Barbara – same reason as Marylin (which incidentally has a great big red line under it) but at least I can spell Barbara.

Catherine because I just found her (thanks to Tara’s Gallery) and she’s local and she’s a camera nut even if it is a Canon

Lorraine because she describes herself as an “obsessive photographer” which calls to me somehow…

Kerry because she and me are creating new us and you don’t get much more creative than that!

Jinedin because she used the word macrame in a post and I can do that

If any of you have already been gifted/tagged/invited/want to tell me how the hell to describe these things then sorry – but you’re just popular.

24 Responses to “It's Oscars night how apt”

  1. Marylin March 7, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    LOL at the mullet! πŸ˜›
    I hope that when I start my OU course I get top marks… hey I can dream, right?
    Yay for spelling my name right btw, and thankies for the blog fodder! πŸ˜‰

    Also… 20 days till we meet… sqweee! πŸ˜€

    • mrsw March 7, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      What OU curse oops course are you planning? Be warned it’s very addictive πŸ™‚

      I know 20 days of dieting then harhar! Mad bleesh πŸ™‚ Looking forward to it.

  2. Priness_L_88 March 7, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Thank you so much for the award! Although does this mean I now have to think of 7 things about me….hmmmm! lol!
    Loving your blog by the way! πŸ˜€

    • MrsW March 8, 2010 at 9:49 am #

      Sounds easy doesn’t it? (ssh it’s not!) πŸ™‚

  3. Heather March 7, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    party balloons, yeah, sure!

    • MrsW March 8, 2010 at 9:49 am #

      Are you casting nasturtiums?

      • Heather March 8, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

        consider your nasturtiums casted

  4. Catherine Sinclair March 7, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    Why thank ‘ee.

    In my defence, Canons are better πŸ˜›

    God I need a “I’m being funny honest” face/tag.

    • MrsW March 8, 2010 at 9:50 am #

      Take it as read that almost everything written here is “I’m being funny honest”.

      I do πŸ™‚

  5. Mwa March 8, 2010 at 11:43 am #

    I love the mullet, too. Not so much the rest of the family.

    • mrsw March 8, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

      lol – not sure I could go back to it mind you – these things are probably best left adorning the heads of the guests on Jerry Springer πŸ˜€

  6. Barbara March 8, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Fish phoned you? Fish, phoned you? Fish phoned, you? Yes, I said that three times in three different ways. If you tell me that Dave Grohl also phoned you I will spend my entire visit walking backwards, in front of you, throwing rose petals at your feet so that you don’t have to walk on the grubby old pavement. I am seriously impressed.

    I’m also seriously worried that I have to think of 7 things about me that aren’t widely known but that won’t really offend my in-laws. Hmmm, give me a couple of days, ok?

    • mrsw March 9, 2010 at 9:36 am #

      Twice….

      Look I reckon if you sent him yours he’d phone you now… I reckon it is so lol πŸ˜€

      Take your time, it took me about a week!

  7. Jinedin March 8, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    I can’t believe it. I hand-painted the Marillion symbol on my cheap 3-bar heater in my bedroom as a teenager because I loved them so much. My friends liked Deacon Blue. Go figure.
    Fish, indeed; you lucky thing…

    • mrsw March 9, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      Yeah – out of the closet you Marillion fans, time has passed, the dark days are over, Pallas are no more… it is safe.

      I’ll light the incense to lead the way….

      I wrote about “Script for a Jesters Tear” in my English O Grade for the poetry question. Arse huh?

      Actually I quite liked Deacon Blue too, I’m versatile like that πŸ™‚

  8. Jinedin March 9, 2010 at 1:44 am #

    And may I say you are a cruel mistress. I thank you for my macrame accolade yet curse the day I began this 7 step character self-assassination for the Kreativ Blogger award. I only hope my victims are as pliant…

    • mrsw March 9, 2010 at 9:40 am #

      I thought it would be simple too….

  9. Nickie @ Typecast March 11, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    Brilliant blog post πŸ˜€ I was laughing all the way through it πŸ™‚

    • mrsw March 12, 2010 at 10:59 am #

      Aw cheers – we try to please in this restaurant….

  10. Lorraine March 12, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    Well another Marillion fans is stepping out of the closet…I so used to love them. Thanks for the award by the way, and I am right with you on the Nikon thing I love mine so much its scary.

    • mrsw March 12, 2010 at 10:58 am #

      See? I must have been drawn to y’all subliminally humming β€œAssassing” in your sleep. Or something πŸ™‚

  11. Krav Maga June 23, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    Can I just say what a relief to find someone who genuinely knows what theyre talking about over a internet. You truly know how to bring an problem to light and make it important. More individuals need to read this and realize this side from the story. I cant feel youre not a lot more well-liked mainly because you actually have the gift.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Eh, Mummy? - March 9, 2010

    […] has been Oscar-nominated, which is very topical and ties in nicely with MrsW’s original post, ‘It’s Oscar Night, How Apt‘. He was called Graham in school and mum dumped him in the Autumn because she didn’t […]

  2. 7 Facts? I’m Sparticus! Erm…no, actually I’m not. I like porridge, though. Will that do? « Eh, Mummy? - March 9, 2010

    […] has been Oscar-nominated, which is very topical and ties in nicely with MrsW’s original post, ‘It’s Oscar Night, How Apt‘. He was called Graham in school and mum dumped him in the Autumn because she didn’t […]

Leave a Reply

