The Gallery #2: Number

10 Mar

42

This is the last photo of me aged 42.

Taken yesterday.

Today is my 43rd birthday.

I started a 365 Project 366 days ago, the last day I was 41.

So it turned out to be a 272 Project.

I lost a few days.

The first picture of my 365 Project was the one below, Paul and I lolling around on my bed, taken at arms length.

I painted my eyes.

Now I have a doo-dah so I can take photos remotely.

Documenting this year has just highlighted how rarely I point the camera at myself. Or allow anyone else to point it at me. It’s not as if I wasn’t well aware of this, back in April when I first put a self portrait out there I really did intend to do something about it.

I didn’t.

42.

Gray.

I have one old eye – what’s with that?

Nothing forgotten gets done unless I ink myself at breakfast.

So 43, what do you have in store for me?

thegallery

55 Responses to “The Gallery #2: Number”

  1. Hayley March 10, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Those are lovely pictures! Your photography is fab! 😀

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      Thank you 🙂

  2. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak March 10, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    It’s your birthday??! WHOOP!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

    Your photography is beautiful. As are you. The half of you I can see anyway, there may well be some kind of hideous pustulous growth under that fringe…

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 11:04 am #

      There is a SHITLOAD of grey under that fringe – and day before mascara – I take photos when the squirt’s in the mood which comes without warning and doesn’t last at all long 🙂

  3. Nova March 10, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Oh I love these pictures…and the stories behind them.
    Happy Birthday. :0)

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

      Thank you so much 🙂

  4. cartside March 10, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Happy birthday!

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

      Ta muchly – it’s nearly lunchtime so I’m almost over it!

  5. Kelly March 10, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    Happy Birthday. Wonderful photos.

  6. Tara@Sticky Fingers March 10, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    I love love love the sentiment behind these pictures.
    And happy birthday. 43 is a greeeat number x

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

      Hmmm the meaning to life the universe and everything – plus 1?

  7. Brit In Bosnia March 10, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Happy Birthday! I love that picture of you both rolling around on the bed. What a way to start the project. x

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

      Oh it started well! I shall start again and try to finish this time 🙂

  8. CaraFreckles March 10, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    Happy Birthday! Beautiful photographs, I too am guilty of hiding behind the camera, but the kids do make better subjects don’t they? *wink* (Thanks for visiting my place too)

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

      Oh they do – but I do worry that if the proverbial bus hit me tomorrow there would be little evidence left behind that I existed. Must do something about it. Must!

  9. Modern Dilemma March 10, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    What a wonderful set of photos. I love the 365 project and have been tempted by it for a long time. Now I’ve started a blog I may finally get on with it!

    MD xx

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

      I was shocked at how much commitment it requires – so many photos of my light, bookcase, sleeping MrW taken last thing before midnight! Really must do better this year 🙂

  10. Modern Dilemma March 10, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    And of course, excuse my rudeness, Happy Happy Birthday to you!!!
    MD xxx

  11. Trish@ Mum's Gone to March 10, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I love popping over to see your photos so I’m impressed yet again! What is written on your hand? – I can’t read it properly due to these bloody vari-focals I have to wear now I’m OLD! Happy Birthday Mrs W!

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

      First word is PLACEMENT to remind me to get my primary school pacing request in for Paul before 15th March – still not done!

      Second word is HEART to remind me to call my kids’ cardiologist and reschedule my daughter’s echo for a day nor the same as her English prelim exam – done!

  12. Rosie Scribble March 10, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Lovely photos. And a very Happy Birthday. Have a great day!

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

      Thank you – I am one glass of red in and it’s improving all the time 🙂

  13. Heather March 10, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    Well happy birthday Mrs! Hope you ahve a fabulous one! i love the idea of the remote for the camera – no-one ever takes my picture and so i have eleventybillion of everyone else and about 3 or me – all taken at arms length.

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

      It’s a dinky little thing and does avoid that sort of hands raised to heaven and scrunched up shocked expression you get trying to take a photo at arms length. You so want one. It’s a gadget 🙂

      • Heather March 10, 2010 at 5:18 pm #

        And i do love a gadget! I’m such a sucker. does it work on any camera? where do you get it from?

  14. Kelly March 10, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    What a lovely way to celebrate your birthday! My project 365 puttered out at about 200, so you did pretty well in my book.

    I just love the self-portraits.

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

      This year I’m aiming for 300 – set my sights just slightly higher. Maybe I should get a permanent tattoo on my hand saying “PHOTO”

  15. Marianne March 10, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Happy Birthday! I’m 44 in a couple of months and think your project was a lovely idea only I hate photos of me unless they make me look fabulous which is becoming more and more difficult 🙂
    well done, have a fab day

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 4:13 pm #

      I look at it as more for Photoshop to work with – if you know what I mean 🙂

  16. Nat March 10, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    I use to model & love being in front of the camera, as I got past 25 I thought meh then after 2 kids I hated having my photograph taken, however since loosing weight and pregnant with my 3rd child I am happier to have my picture taken again. It’s weird. Anyway loved the compositions of the pictures of yourself and the story behind it and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

      I’ve reached the “ach sod it” stage – you’re allowed to say that when you’re over 40 🙂

  17. notwavingbutironing March 10, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    The sound of hollow laughter from Not Waving towers… I am 41 in a couple of weeks, and I look like a silverback gorilla compared to you, Madam. You look marvellous – and what wonderful hair! (I think you know that’s a sore point with me.) As for the writing on your hands – well, isn’t that what God invented hands for? They’re nature’s memo pads. Or something.
    Happy birthdayx

    • mrsw March 10, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

      You think that’s natural? I dye it red so I bear at least a passing resemblance to one of my children. The redhead obviously. I swear you’d think I’d just incubated them from pure sperm, they look NOTHING like me.

      I’ve tried dying it brown but whatever I do it fades to red peppered with grey. If I try growing it out I eventually cave to the “Oh FFS woman do something with yourself” and dye it again 😦 I am going to be THAT old woman with the burgundy hair drinking port at the end of the bar.

      Could be worse.

  18. Marylin March 10, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    These are great photos, and now I know what you look like for meeting up on friday! 😉 I barely have any photos of me as I hate the way I look. Need to remedy that though, more photos of me with my boys are needed! Hopefully you can help me out with that on fri…? 😉

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! xxx

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 8:33 am #

      I certainly intend to 🙂

  19. claire March 10, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    A lovely post. My son has that t-shirt too!

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      There’s a small and finite number of cool boys outfits out there – I swear I’m going to take the wrong child home from the park one of these days!

  20. Jo Beaufoix March 10, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    Your pictures are fab, absolutely gorgeous, as are you and your little boy. All these pics are really making me want to take some better/more careful pictures of my two. Ohhh and hope the rest of your birthday is fab. If you’re already on the red I suspect it’s going to be. 😀

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      lol – yes it did end up a bit… soaked 🙂

  21. Mwa March 10, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    Happy Birthday!

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 9:10 am #

      Thank you!

  22. Niecey March 10, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    What is it with early march? EVERYONE has a birthday in early March. How unoriginal of you 😉

    Happy birthday. I hope it was a wonderful day.

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 9:04 am #

      I blame the hot summer nights 😉

  23. ella March 10, 2010 at 10:21 pm #

    Happy birthday! And lovely pictures.

    I have one old eye as well – I am a little relieved that I’m not the only one….

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 9:05 am #

      Yay! We could start a colony (see how far I will go to get a bit peace!) 😀

  24. Dorothy March 11, 2010 at 12:45 am #

    Happy Birthday – great photos. Never mind your eye, it’s fascinating to see the wee lad’s face change from baby to boy in this year.
    You share your birthday with my older daughter. She’s 27 today -the same age as I was the year I had her! No way is she mature enough to have kids, and yet she has experienced far more “life” than I had at her age! She lives in a foreign country for heavens sake. Age gives you such a weird perspective doesn’t it.
    Happy 43rd year!

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 9:07 am #

      Thank you – hopefully the second eye will catch up soon 🙂 I don’t think we’re ever mature enough to have kids, you just get on with it (I didn’t start til 28, which explains my old eyes at the school gates! I’m not even going there with the one I had at 38, he can walk!)

  25. Insomniac Mummy March 11, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    I love your pictures Mrs! Would love to be able to take pictures like you.

    Happy Birthday!

    🙂

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      Thank you kindly – me an my hangover think we had an OK birthday and are now off for a bit cheese on toast and a cuppie 🙂

  26. Barbara March 11, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    I got a bit sidetracked by the comments and have completely forgotten what I was going to say about your post. Probably something about how cool the top shot is and how the ones of you will give me a bit more idea of who I’m looking for on the platform.

    From the comments however, which is better – being the old lady with burgundy hair drinking port, or being the old lady with the blue rinse drinking port? I know which I’d rather be.

    Also, deeply jealous of your and Marilyn’s meet up on Friday. I want to see pics on both of your blogs!

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

      It might require a cork in someone’s butt – fingers crossed we’ll be fit to go 🙂

  27. Adrenalynn March 11, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    Oh, these photos are beautiful! You are such a great photographer. And I love the idea of the self portraits! I only take my own picture in the bathroom. Cough.

    • mrsw March 11, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

      In the mirror? 😀 I envy you people with bathroom windows! The extractor fan doesn;t cast nearly enough light!

  28. Adrenalynn March 11, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    And happy belated birthday!

  29. Working Mum March 14, 2010 at 5:57 pm #

    Oh, I missed your birthday. Happy Belated Birthday! You are brave taking photos of yourself; I’m at an age now where I avoid getting my picture taken!

Leave a Reply

