Friendsreunited

18 Mar

Shit! He was there. Actually there. He’d never been there and now he was. There.

I stretched my fingers out, wiggled some feeling back into them, and backed away from the keyboard. What to do? He was there.

It had been nine years since I last watched all 6’4″ of him lolloping down the high street, wearing every colour of the rainbow and some nature wisely rejected. He hadn’t seen me. Seven days later I was married. After seven nights spent fighting off dreams in which he gallantly lolloped into the church and yelled “Stop this wedding!” dragging me off the rollercoaster, I’d married.

We’d met 18 years before, so if I was 16 and he was 21 and it was Christmas 1983…. that made him 39 now. Just, since I’d never forgotten his birthday. Especially his 22nd, the one we’d spent hurling silence at each other whilst both having such fun.

The last time we’d spoken, eleven years ago, had hurt so much. Would it still hurt?

What to do?

Why had I even looked for him? Had I really thought about him so much?  Not every day. Sometimes not very often at all. When I heard a song, or that band I never listened to anymore. By accident. When I bought a bottle of red wine…. when I drunk a bottle of red wine… when I tasted red wine…. smelled red wine. When I delicately tugged a cigarette from a pack with my nails. Ripped sleeveless t-shirts. Rush. No not all that often.

Eleven years ago he’d been involved, he’d had plans to travel East, teaching English, aiming for the US the long way round. He was probably on the other side of the world right now. Married.

Since him there had been a bit of him in everyone. The musician, the one who wore an ear-ring, the rugby player, the tall one. Just bits.

I’d been single for five years now…. there was no harm reading it.

“I’m an English teacher in Central Scotland, still playing the guitar…”

Shit! Not only was he there he was HERE.

WHAT.TO.DO?!

I stared at the screen for hours, reading those two lines over and over, willing them to tell me more. Was he married? Did he have children? Tell me more.

I could have found him in a dark room full of people, for crying out loud all I had to do was say “Hi!”

Just before midnight, I typed, I hit send…. I nearly passed out.

“Hi, you made it! How the hell are you?”


This post is brought to you by Josie’s Writing Workshop.
Tell me about someone from you past who you lost touch with and who you often think about

24 Responses to “Friendsreunited”

  1. EmmaK March 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    Brilliant post …like I was thinking WHAT.. DID HE WRITE BACK??

    then I got confused like with the man and baby photos – did he write back and you got together and had a kid? or what….sorry this is my first time on your blog came over from Sleep is for the weak

    • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

      Yup – that’s exactly what happened (incidentally he was single, no children, never been married…. just in case anyone gets the wrong idea about me!) 😉

  2. TheMadHouse March 18, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    A true love story, it obviously was meant to be. How wonderful

    • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

      Ah – true love in a small town – you can’t beat it 😉

  3. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak March 18, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    This is you and your mister’s story?! This is GREAT! Goodness me, how romantic! *sob*

    I am such a sucker for a romantic story. I love it. Thanks for sharing it with the workshop!

    • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

      This is me and my mister’s story – and it’s about as soppy as I’ll get!

  4. Wendy March 18, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Love, love, LOVE this story. I confess…when I first read it, I thought, “Shit, hope her husband is not reading this”…then I thought “Oh, she is doing this for a writer’s workshop…write a Hollywood fictional short love story with a mysterious ending”….then I read your reader’s comments and your response and I think, unless I am mistaken…this really did happen and this is YOUR story. It’s almost like that Dan Fogelberg song “Same Old Lang Syne”, only with a happier ending! Here’s to happy endings!

    • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 6:08 pm #

      OMG that is one of my all time most favourite songs EVER! Jeez I think I’ve only met another three people who’ve ever heard it and I am related to them all 🙂

      Yes this is my story. Exactly as it happened. He wrote back the next day. He still likes to accuse me of stalking him since he only registered with Friendsreunited about 24 hours before I wrote to him. Co-inky-dinky. Oh how I laugh (I wasn’t logging on every day and checking – honest!).

      • Wendy March 18, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

        My brother listened to this album of Dan Fogelberg’s constantly when it came out in 1981 (I was 10 years old)…so I learned all the words by default!! My favorites are Leader of the Band, Run for the Roses (I am a huge horseracing fan) and Same Old Lang Syne. I love the sentiment behind this song and it really did happen to Dan when he went back to his hometown on Christmas Eve (just read that on yahoo). Your post was really well written and I enjoyed reading it!

        • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

          Those are the only three tracks I remember so they must be the best, although Same Old Lang Syne is the only one I could recite word for word right now 🙂 It was my Dad’s album, I was 14 and I played it very loudly with the speakers pointing out the patio doors that whole summer. I think I remember reading it was true now that you’ve mentioned it. Off to search the iTunes store now!

  5. Barbara March 18, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Tee-hee. I went through exactly the same progression as Wendy!

    Brilliantly written – you had me hooked to the very end.

    • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

      lol – you were thinking “”ah shoot am I going to arrive in the middle of a domestic here?” 🙂

  6. Deer Baby March 18, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Wow – a real true life Friends Reunited story. I thought they were myths. How utterly romantic.

    • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

      And here me and he thought we were just a cliche 🙂

  7. muummmmeeeeee...... March 18, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    What a bloody fantastic story – thank God you hit that SEND key…

    • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 11:58 pm #

      Yeah – had to be done! 🙂

  8. Marylin March 18, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    How awesome is that!! 🙂 Bet you’re glad you said hey again to him!

    • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

      Hehe – you too!

  9. Mr W March 18, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    I’m quite pleased she hit ‘send’ as well… 😉 (And like that… he’s gone!)

    • mrsw March 18, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

      Yeah but you’ll be back in week 😛

  10. Mwa March 19, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    How gorgeous, how true-sounding. How romantic! Perfect antidote to a Friday morning. Thank you.

  11. Marianne March 19, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    He couldn’t resist having a peek could he? 🙂
    Fab story, don’t we just love a happy ending?

  12. Kristin March 25, 2010 at 3:09 am #

    Wow, glad I popped in on this post! What a great place to start getting to know you. Beautiful story and beautifully written. Well done you (on both accounts)! Will be inwardly cheering for hours after reading this… la la la la la (yay!)

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

      lol – thank you – it’s one of my smiley posts – I’m usually a bit more…. moany!

Leave a Reply

