Secret Post #2: In which I am a witch

23 Mar

OK people it’s getting a bit spooky now.

For the first of Heather @ Notes from Lapland’s Secret Post Clubs in February I had much fun finding a gift for a chocolate loving, baking, pink blogger. I knew just the place to go…

bertie01

A shop full of pink.

Berties02

The first thing that caught my eye was some Cath Kidston notebooks and stationery. Now I’d never heard of this Kidston person, it’s pink and cute and I’m not a pink, cute sort of person. Seriously, did you not get that vibe? So there’s all this, pinkness, and cuteness and I’m hovering there, awkwardly thinking “Is it too pink? Is it too cute?” looking very much like a shoplifting fish out of water to be honest. It didn’t help when I pulled the camera out and started shooting the merchandise.

Berties03

Once I managed to explain myself away, I settled on a Cath Kidston recipe holding notebook doo-dah and started looking for a wee thing to go with it. I started verily tripping over pink stuff and in my typical  “dunno what to do now” fashion I ended up shelving the notebook in favour of some chocolate aroma releasing coasters and a yummy doughnut lip-gloss. Which was good since I found out later that day when I was reading my recipient’s blog she’d only gone and bought this for herself to gift.

cathkidston

That was close!

This month could not have been more different. I got me a football mad gardening blogger. Off to Dobbies! And it had to be red, for obvious reasons. I found the cutest little pocket gardens and decided on a poppy (for obvious reasons) and some pomegranate pout-pourri (red – are you sensing the theme?). With no dithering at all I brought it home, wrapped it and wrote my little letter to go with it.

Later that same day my Secret Post gift arrived from the lovely Hannah @ Muddling Along Mummy, and I opened it to find….. no not Cath Kidston…

… a pocket garden! And a lovely notebook which now has a place on my bedside cabinet for all those middle of the night inspirations. You know the ones, when you suddenly wake up at 2am and remember the name of that guy in that movie the girl in the chemist was asking about.

Much as I’d love to be able to post a photo of the finished article, I think this one might take a bit more time to knit iykwim?

So April’s Secret Post looms. And I’m thinking, very very hard… very very hard indeed, about the deeds to a 4 bedroom bungalow, or an MG, or a weekend for two in Barcelona. Just in case, you know, I am a witch.

thesecretpostclubbadge

12 Responses to “Secret Post #2: In which I am a witch”

  1. Kerry March 23, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    That is a little freaky, I wonder what will happen in April, whether it will happen again?

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 12:41 am #

      weekend for 2 in Barcelona… weekend for 2 in Barcelona…. I am TRYING!

  2. muummmmeeeeee...... March 24, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    You can’t possibly be a witch – even they’ve heard of Cath Kidston…

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 12:42 am #

      What dark hole of kitsch do I live in up here?!?! Is there anything else I am missing?

  3. Barbara March 24, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Good luck with that. Let me know if you get anywhere, I’ve just joined so might give it a go myself.

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 12:42 am #

      Bet I get you 🙂

  4. snafflesmummy March 24, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    ooooh so glad you have posted this. Yeahhh, I was your February secret post recipient. I am soooo pleased with my yummy chocolate coasters. Thank you so much not only for my gifts but also for sending them for a second time after they went missing in the post. You did a fab job of pink and girly. I wish I lived in that shop, it looks great.

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 12:42 am #

      I am SO crap at keeping a secret! Glad you liked it 🙂

  5. Dad Who Writes March 30, 2010 at 4:59 am #

    There’s a great recent song by Yoko Ono, “I Am A Witch.” You obviously know – I think it’s a kind of theme song you all hum under your breath.

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      I can safely say that the only Yoko Ono song I could possibly hum is “Hell in Paradise”… I do rather like it and it’s not culturally discordant like most of her wailing 🙂

  6. Heather March 30, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    oh my god, that is really freaky! I’d get that weekend for 2 in Barcelona if i were you *deviously fixes spreadsheet so she gets MrsW next month*

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      Sounds like a plan…..

Leave a Reply

