The Gallery #4: Me

24 Mar

Sometimes I blow hot

Sometimes I blow cold

Sometimes I wish I could find the ruddy tripod!

PS: Marylin at Softthistle has actually met me IRL and will assure you I don’t actually look like this – over exposing a photo is very very kind on 43 year old skin but I don’t walk around with a 200W bulb pointing at my face to white out my features…. most days.

Here they are SooC

me sooc

More “mes” or maybe I mean “yous” over @Sticky Fingers

thegallery

86 Responses to “The Gallery #4: Me”

  1. Marylin March 24, 2010 at 1:09 am #

    I love it! πŸ™‚ Can you teach me how to do the self-portrait thingymaboaby? I suck at it!! >_<

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 8:28 am #

      Buy this http://bit.ly/aqySRl
      Point camera at your fizzog
      Try not to growl at it
      Seemples!

  2. Priness_L_88 March 24, 2010 at 1:22 am #

    oooh they’re great! I love both of them. fantastic πŸ™‚ (but a little jealous of your skills!)

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 8:35 am #

      Ah you are too kind πŸ™‚ I nearly didn’t post these at all – wondered if I was just a bit too far up my own ass!

      Taking photoshopographs of yourself is hard!

  3. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak March 24, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    LOVE the second one especially but they’re both gorgeous. You do a very good broody, serious look πŸ˜‰

    The colour tones work so well here. In awe of your skills.

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 8:31 am #

      I prefer the blue too – the thing with a self portrait is you can’t really pretend you don’t know it’s coming – there’s nothing natural about it. When I am sat there in front of the camera with my little remote controll doo-dah all that’s going through my head is, “Am I in frame?”, “Am I in focus?”…. so I’m usually frowning a bit (as you can see!). My son looked at them and asked me why I was always angry in photos – I’m not – I’m just confused and a bit worried, my permanent state of being I guess!

  4. Nova March 24, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    Stunning pictures.

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:16 am #

      Thank you!

  5. Claire March 24, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    Are you the widow model womn on the scottish widows advert thingy??? you cold pic reminds me off it! great pics xx

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:15 am #

      Paul thinks I am the evil emperor from Star Wars – I prefer how you see things lol!

  6. TheMadHouse March 24, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Love the pictures, tripod whats one of those!!

  7. Brit In Bosnia March 24, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    Mrs W- you look amazing. Taking photos of yourself is soooo hard!

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 10:57 am #

      It’s a nightmare! This is about the 4th time I’ve taken part in anything that challenged me to a self-portrait – for the first couple the rules included holding the camera yourself – no remote controle doo-dahs. My short arms lent me that “Take me to your leader” look πŸ˜‰

  8. Brighton Mum-Teenage Angst March 24, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Brilliant photos! Love the blue one…

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:35 am #

      Thank you – I tried a green one for happy medium but I just looked a bit ill – actually quite a bit ill!

  9. Trish@ Mum's Gone to March 24, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    Have to agree with Claire – Scottish Widows should snap you up. You also remind me of Meryl Streep in The French Lieutenant’s Woman!
    In awe of your skills yet again, missus!

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:36 am #

      I am loving that nobody but my son has me down as the evil emperor – ruler of the dark side πŸ™‚

  10. Modern Dilemma March 24, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    Beautiful shots of beautiful you. Second one is my fave – your eyes are stunning!

    MD xx

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      Thanks muchly – I’ve said it before but it bears repeating – upping the exposure in direct correlation with my age is a huge “help” πŸ™‚

  11. Marianne March 24, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Beautiful you and beautiful shots – as always, I could never ever attempt to do that! I took about ten after my last hair cut and didn’t like one of them!
    If I ever ever get rich enough I shall pay a clever photographer to do it for me πŸ™‚

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 10:59 am #

      Cut your hair? I’d stick to a trained stylist myself πŸ˜› (Oh no I wouldn’t! Have you seen the state of my hair! If only I could carry off a hat…..)

  12. Sian aka MummyTips / Cybermummy March 24, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    Beautiful…

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      I have rescued you from my spam folder to thank you πŸ™‚

  13. Tara@Sticky Fingers March 24, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    How cool! I actually prefer the ‘red’ one. Makes me see the fire in you and I suspect you have a lot of fire in you! x

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:19 am #

      I am a woosey pussy and that hair is courtesy of l’Oreal – cos it’s worth it to cover the grey πŸ˜‰

  14. Kerry March 24, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    Love these pictures these are so good love the colours with them well done you. You have a real skill xx

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:31 am #

      Thank you Kerry – I am fair enjoying “meeting” everyone through this week’s theme πŸ™‚

  15. Barbara March 24, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    Lovely shots. I must look into getting a remote. I’m working on the holding the camera at arms length thing at the mo – it’s not really working to well!

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:20 am #

      It can do! My first self portraits were like that – it was a work out and photo shoot combined, these things are flippin’ heavy!

  16. Kath@Parklover March 24, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    These are great, I love you “in the hood”. I should give up trying to smile in photos, I always look like a crazed, toothy fool unless someone catches me unawares!

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:32 am #

      Oh me too – I look like I’m going to eat you – actually I probably am in my perpetual hunger at least thinking of eating you….. or something beside you, or behind you….

  17. CaraFreckles March 24, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    Fantastic! I’d love to see Amanda Lamb look this good with a towel over her head, instead of her voluptuous velvet cloak!

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

      You know I’m starting to get a bit nervous now – I am Scottish and my OH is en route from France today……… πŸ™‚

  18. Peabee72 March 24, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Beautiful! Love the blue especially…v.v. moody!

    Px

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

      Thanks – I seem to have captured a mood when all that was really going through my head was “do.not.move.” πŸ˜‰

  19. muummmmeeeeee...... March 24, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    The blue one is bloody fantastic…

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 2:45 pm #

      Aw thanks – I’d like to say I had fun taking them but do I look like I am having fun? huh? πŸ™‚

  20. Hayley March 24, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    I LOVE how you have edited that second picture! Its stunning! Reminds me of the old scottish widows advert πŸ˜€

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

      Yeaaaaah – I’d probably do it different now that’s been pointed out lol!! Without wrapping myself in a fleecey trying to look…. cold πŸ™‚

  21. Wendy March 24, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

    Love both pictures, especially the second one. It looks like it could be used for a movie poster….like maybe “The Return of Rob Roy’s Wife” (although I can’t remember in the movie if she died before him)….so maybe “The Sultry Mistress of Rob Roy”)!!

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

      She did – so what y’all are saying is I have nailed the ghostly moody widow look and you would buy life insurance off me. Cool!

  22. Karen @ If I Could Escape March 24, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Oooh, those are fab!! Well done!

  23. Karen @ If I Could Escape March 24, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Forgot to mention that I’m very sorry all you had was a Wally World on your last visit here! Make sure when you come over that you are close by a Super Target — they’re fab! I’m in heaven right now as they have just launched a Liberty of London line!! And, yeah Publix is the best! If you’re coming to Florida, you’ll have to let me know!

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

      I am actually – for a month (yikes! only ever managed to stand the pace for 5 days before!) We have already drove on Google to the nearest Publix (how sad is that?) I haven’t scoped out a Super Target in Orlando (duh! where else) but we will be in Clearwater for a couple of nights reprieve from the madness.

      • If I Could Escape March 27, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

        Lovely! Well, if you need to know anything about the area — where to go, eat, stay, feel free to give me a yell and ask!! Would be lovely to meet up with other bloggers so if you have time let me know. I’m not far from Clearwater at all.

  24. Lorraine March 24, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    The cold picture is absolutely stunning, mind you all of your pictures are fab

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 12:08 am #

      Thank you – I think I am preferring the cold – I knocked these up when the little one was at nursery – must try to smile next time πŸ™‚

  25. Emma Button aka jumblyMummy March 24, 2010 at 9:02 pm #

    I think these are great photos, I love colouring photos as they can make something very special. Love the Scottish Widows look!

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 12:15 am #

      Thank you muchly for your kind words – you of the real photography skills πŸ™‚

  26. Heather Davis March 24, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Great self portraits! Got to love the camera effects on 40+ skin. Will have to try it. Like the hot and cold titles too. I know exactly how you feel!

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 12:07 am #

      Oh it works!

  27. veryanniemary March 24, 2010 at 9:48 pm #

    Beautiful photos, but you have such sad eyes! The photos are almost otherworldy to me – like you just got picked up by USS Starship Enterprise because your planet blew up. Dear God – get me another glass of wine, then I’ll fall asleep instead of wittering on like a buffoon.

    • mrsw March 24, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

      Yay! A Trek fan with a wine glass – how perfect are you? πŸ™‚

  28. Dad Who Writes March 25, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    So that’s what you meant by about wrinkles? Everyone hates my portrait shots because I ruthlessly under-expose everything…

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

      Ouchie!

  29. A Modern Mother March 25, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Fab photos — and I think you would have won the Hallmark competition!

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

      Who did win? I’ve checked the site and can’t see that they have announced anything – which photo did you pick in the end?

  30. Julia March 25, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Beautiful picture. You never look 43! With or without the special lights.
    Thanks for commenting on my blog

    • mrsw March 25, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

      Oh yes I do!!!

  31. A Modern Mother March 25, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    Sorry answering your Q here … it was the taj mahal one…thanks for reminding me need to post the winners

    • mrsw March 26, 2010 at 10:00 am #

      Oh good! I did rather love that one.

  32. Jo Beaufoix March 25, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    Those are lovely, really beautiful. The blue one is all ethereal, and your eyes are stunning.

    • mrsw March 26, 2010 at 10:09 am #

      Thank you muchly – next weeks theme requires a major re-landscape of the weed patch I think – not sure I can rig that with mere over exposing and a bit of Photoshop πŸ™‚

  33. helen rawlinson March 25, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Well you look pretty damn fine to me, in the here and now! Thanks for your nice comments to me too, it’s great to get a ‘big’ up once in a while!

    • mrsw March 26, 2010 at 10:02 am #

      I’ve been quoting you and directing peeps to your words – what you said about getting in the picture is SO true – I will endeavour to remember them – actually I think I’ll just bookmark you in perpetuity πŸ˜‰

  34. MuddynoSugar March 25, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    I too am the master of the over expose and the smooth option …

    • mrsw March 26, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      It’s why I prefer meeting people IRL in dark pubs – get them piddled before the shock of seeing me in daylight lol!

  35. Nickie @ Typecast March 26, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    I would love to have a nice picture took of me but it’s impossible. Totally impossible!!

    Great photos, lovely post πŸ˜€
    I love the Gallery πŸ˜€

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

      Nothing is impossible! I have a hankering to tour the country and snap all you yummy mummies – I will bring wine πŸ˜‰

      • Nickie @ Typecast March 29, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

        You’re only bringing wine to “relax” us… I’m worried!!

        When are you coming?? πŸ˜€

        • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

          Now you put it that way it does sound a bit odd!
          I am touring the UK in 2011 – starting at the bottom and working my way back up visiting every theme park and riding every roller coaster I can find – that’s the plan anyway πŸ™‚

        • Nickie @ Typecast March 29, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

          Tell me when you’re due at Blackpool πŸ˜‰

        • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 11:23 pm #

          Srsly? Blackpool? Bloody perfect! Woot! πŸ™‚

        • Nickie @ Typecast March 29, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

          I live in Blackburn but a day out to Blackpool (or meet somewhere in the middle) is no hardship to me πŸ˜€

        • mrsw March 30, 2010 at 8:53 am #

          I am going to stick little flags all over my Google Earth – maybe in the next year I can blag a few meet-ups round Britain’s theme parks during our Grand Coaster Tour.

          I used to live in Leigh and when I look at a map these days I can’t figure out why we didn’t see more of Liverpool, Blackpool or Southport or even MANCHESTER. Then I remember it was the 70s and we had no car! Or phone… and lived in a carboard box on t’motorway and played wi t’broken t’bottles….

        • Nickie @ Typecast March 30, 2010 at 8:56 am #

          I’m sure there’s a widget that would do that for you πŸ˜€ I know LOADS of people (internet people) from Leigh, seriously that place must be DEAD because they’re all indoors on their internet haha

          We don’t visit local areas half as much as we should do and it’s a shame.

          And in the 70’s you had a cardboard box? You lucky bitch! We lived under a stone and had sticks for toys!

        • mrsw March 30, 2010 at 10:16 am #

          Yeah that’s pretty much how I remember it – I suspect then t’pit closed and t’joy of sliding down t’slagheaps in black bags was gone the interwebtubes was all that was left. Aye we made our own fun in the 70s…. you had sticks? Lucky bitch, we played with wur rotten teeth when they fell out and were grateful…

        • Nickie @ Typecast March 30, 2010 at 10:59 am #

          We got up before we went to bed to go and work 26 hours a day in the mines… Kids today – don’t know they’re born!!

        • Nickie @ Typecast March 30, 2010 at 8:40 am #

          Forgot to tell you – there’s an award for you over at mine – lighthearted πŸ˜‰
          http://typecast2000.blogspot.com/2010/03/plastic-fantastic.html

  36. Adrenalynn March 28, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Oh my… absolutely stunning. You are beautiful!!

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

      No my dahling I am selective with what I publish ahhahahahahahaha!

  37. Neil March 29, 2010 at 11:26 am #

    I’m with Paul…..Evil Emperor…..lol!
    Just kidding…stunning pics, well impressed. Of course I prefer the ‘hot’ one!

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

      Me wrapped up in your goonie not doing it for you?

    • mrsw April 1, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      Wrong fecking NEIL! hahaha! oops – how embarrassing πŸ™‚

    • mrsw April 1, 2010 at 10:13 am #

      For the record I am not wrapped up in anything belonging to Mr Tasker – the goonie is definitely Neil WINTON’S!!!!

      Crawling away now…..

Leave a Reply

