The English are coming – hoorah!

28 Mar

Actually there was just the one of them. This weekend the lovely Barbara who blogs over at JoBart wended her way north for a day of wine and debauchery chez moi. How thoroughly cool of her is that? And how do I know without a shadow of doubt that this lady is utterly wonderful in more ways than I can count??? Huh??? She orders wine at the bar by the bottle. Finding a kindred spirit like this brings a tear to my eye so it does…

We were joined by the also lovely Marylin who blogs over at Pure Unadulterated Softthistle

And what DID we find to talk about for 14 solid hours?

NOT children!

Yeah… that’s for us to know and you to guess..

I will reveal that there was tongue exercising aplenty…

In the outside-in pub…

And if I don’t get to do this again soon there WILL be foot stamping and there WILL be pouting… cos I think I quite like going out to play with these fabullus ladies….

23 Responses to “The English are coming – hoorah!”

  1. muummmmeeeeee...... March 28, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    Barbara sounds like my kind of girl!

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 8:44 am #

      You know when you say “glass of wine?” and they go “eh bottle” that it’s going to be a goooooood day 😀

  2. Brenda March 29, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Oh wow! Amazing photos. You guys all look awesome and having the time of your lives. Yays for bloggy friends!!

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 8:47 am #

      We did indeed – yay for bloggy friends!

  3. Kristin March 29, 2010 at 1:24 am #

    Squeeeeeeeeee!!! How fun! Can’t wait for my turn!! La la la la la!!! Thanks for posting pictures. Have been waiting…

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 8:36 am #

      Can I take it from this that you will be stepping off a plane somwhere on this little island of ours proclaiming “I don’t think we’re in Kansas anymore”? Soon-ish? Oh it’s so funny the first time when you drive from Kansas to Missouri, then Missouri to Kansas, then try to find the border so you can straddle “Kansas” and “not in Kansas anymore”…. eh Mrw? Funny at first…… We ate BBQ and visited the Jazz Museum – we wanna come back to Kansas!!!

  4. Marylin March 29, 2010 at 1:41 am #

    Ahh I had *so* much fun!! Sorry about this morning… clocks going forward, staying up too late and forgetting that my alarm was set to week-day only when it’s the weekend… I think someone up there was telling me to stay in my bed all day. I didn’t though. I got up at about 1ish.

    I think you got the best piccies of us! I will be posting mine shortly. 😀

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 8:47 am #

      Aye – whatever you say… fnar fnar ;P

  5. Veronica March 29, 2010 at 3:12 am #

    Grumble grumble. I think I need to win lotto or something.

    Looks like you had a wonderful time!

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 8:43 am #

      Y’know my Dad was at my son’s 4th birthday party – and he was in Mexico – we had him sat on the coffee table like some dismembered head from Futurama, we took him out to see the new trampoline and pointed him at the cake – we love Skype 🙂

  6. Barbara March 29, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    It’s taken me this long to open my laptop. It’s been glaring at me because I’ve neglected it and my google reader.

    Neglected for jolly good reason though! I had a fab time and it was awesome to meet you both. Sadly, I only get one pass a year so we’ve got 11 and a bit months to wait unless you’re both going to come down south.

    Lovely pics. I also haven’t got round to downloading mine yet. Hopefully sometime today…..

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

      Working on it my dear ….. see below 🙂

  7. Dulwich Divorcee March 29, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Looks like you had a blast! Come to Dulwich next time ….

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

      Is Dulwich a real place? I thought it was like Oz….. 😛

      • Dulwich Divorcee March 30, 2010 at 9:36 am #

        Oh, so that’s why all the roads have yellow bricks!!

        • mrsw March 30, 2010 at 10:13 am #

          Next you’ll be telling me Chigley and Trumpton and Camberwick Green are real….

  8. Mr W March 29, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Oh, all right then. You can go out to play again… don’t say I’m not good to you… 😉

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 7:14 pm #

      Kansas or London? Huh? Huh? We loved Kansas eh?

  9. Barbara March 29, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Kansas? Whadya mean Kansas? London, obviously.

    By the way, did I mention how nice I thought that Mr W was?

    • mrsw March 29, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

      In that case I’ll bring him with me (he can drive for hours!)

      • Barbara March 29, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

        Splendid – you can’t go too far wrong with a nominated driver.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What A Weekend! - March 29, 2010

    […] shared some more photos from our day out, I was too lazy to process more than the ones I have in this post […]

  2. JoBart - March 29, 2010

    […] next exciting thing I did was to be met by the frankly fabulous Mrs W at Perth station.  Are the Scottish known for their hospitality?  Because if they’re not, […]

Leave a Reply

