The Gallery #5: Outside my door

30 Mar

It’s a given that if you step outside my house with a camera in hand – it’s best to look up…

or wait til dark…

It’s all a bit of a work in progress to be honest….

close up things don’t look so bad…

closeBut walking away a bit is always a good idea…and crouching…

lower…

Just a short drive away you can find stuff like this…

or this…

But it’s nice to come home, stand still and gaze at familiar things

smeaton

That’s my bus home scooting over the bridge.

When I’m not frantically searching for a short person who can move at alarming speed, that’s some of the things I see when I step outside my door.

More local places for local people over at Sticky Fingers.

thegallery

50 Responses to “The Gallery #5: Outside my door”

  1. TheMadHouse March 30, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    What amazing images – wow

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

      Thank you muchly 🙂

  2. The Moiderer March 30, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    Beautiful pictures. is that Queens pass (I think that’s what it’s called)

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

      Yes it’s Queen’s View – at Loch Tay(?) I think – how bad is that? I AM from round here honest!

      • The Moiderer March 31, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

        Funnily enough I almost post that exact same picture/view myself! Decided not to along with some photos of Aberdeen because they were too far away to meet the gallery topic!

  3. Priness_L_88 March 30, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    they’re all stunning, as usual! Your local area is so stunning too!

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      It has it’s moments Perthshire – think it did actually win some award for bing a beautiful place to live – either that or it was runner up to Inverness!

  4. Tara@Sticky Fingers March 30, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Wow, just wow. They are absolutely stunning. You really do have The Eye my friend. Excellent stuff. x

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      I have two! Or three….

  5. Rosie Scribble March 30, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Wow. These are absolutely amazing. Makes me want to go outside right now and start snapping.

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

      It’ll be dry where you are then? Too flippin’ cold to step outside here – even the kids are wearing cardigans (they is tough).

  6. Nickie @ Typecast March 30, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    Oh my god – these are amazing – I love the flowers and the field ones!!!

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

      You’re just chuckling at the thought of me straining to get back up – admit it! 🙂

  7. Lorraine March 30, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    Amazing pictures as usual, love the saltire in the sky.

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

      That was such a catch – you see them all the time but that’s the first time I’ve managed to capture one AND keep the sky blue – I was a wee bit chuffed with that one 🙂

  8. Nova March 30, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    Oh they are fantastic pictures….looks beautiful.

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      Thank you – I made a point of not photographing the main road I live on – GPS sends every northbound lorry through my little village 😦

  9. Kath@Parklover March 30, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    God, these are stunning. Again!!

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

      Oh get over! I take about 500 photos to get the one good un you know – click happy I am 🙂

  10. snafflesmummy March 30, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Absolutley stunning photos. Looks like a beautiful place to live.

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      Thank you – I sometimes forget to appreciate that I can walk for 10 minutes and there’s not a house to be seen.

  11. Marylin March 30, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    That’s it. We have to go on a photowalk sometime. It’s a MUST DO! 🙂

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      Where do you fancy?

      • Marylin March 31, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

        I have no idea – somwhere that I can push a buggy about relatively easily and Zack n Paul can run free without us having to watch where they’re going!
        I am hating this bloody weather – so much for going on long strolls with Dean and my camera in tow! >_<

  12. Kristin March 31, 2010 at 12:28 am #

    What beautiful photos. Since I just posted about running naked through wheat, you can guess which one is my favorite.

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

      I’m itching just thinking about it!

  13. muummmmeeeeee...... March 31, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Stunning as always x

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      Aw y’all are too kind 🙂

  14. Brighton Mum-Teenage Angst March 31, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    WOW! Absolutely stunning, again! Right that’s it…I think you’re going to have to start putting up some of your crappy shots, you must have a couple, surely? Just to make us feel a little better about our efforts. Or maybe that’s just me…?

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      I take lots of crappy photos – I take lots of photos. Slowly the ratio of crap:not too bad is going down…. it’s all I aim for really 🙂

  15. Hayley March 31, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    What stunning pictures! You never dissapoint!

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      Oh dear – that sounded dangerously like an expectation there! 😀

  16. Wendy - Whimsical March 31, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Wow! These are brilliant shots! I’m inspired to try harder!

    • mrsw March 31, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

      Honestly it’s a question of volume – think of it like telling a boy not to do something – if you do it often enough it’s bound to work? Surely? (bwahahaha! who am I kidding? boys!)

  17. Marianne March 31, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    I love seeing your weekly photos.
    This week it’s a hard choice but I’m going to say my faves are the tulips and the Queen’s view which is breathtakingly beautiful.
    Thank you Mrs W for another spectacular entry.

  18. Heidi March 31, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    Love these! Thanks for sharing these. My favourite is the poppy. 🙂

  19. Vegemitevix March 31, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Wow. They are fabulous shots.

  20. Nota Bene March 31, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Truly awesome…really nice to see….

  21. Chris March 31, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    WOW! Yes, I know that’s what everybody else said but there is no other word! These are jaw droppingly good and you present them beautifully on here! The rain has just stopped here and I think it may be your doing. I am off out with my camera right now!

  22. Chelle March 31, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    …Speechless….Amazing photos!!!!!!!!!!

  23. Caroline March 31, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Stunning, just stunning. Lovely pics, can’t believe what beautiful places everybody has in their photos this week – aren’t we all lucky to live in such gorgeous locations? x

  24. Barbara March 31, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    Perfect. I can show these to the husband and explain to him that I NEED to go back to Scotland because it will directly benefit my photography thus making me a happier person. Not because I want to go back on the lash.

    Thanks!

  25. New Mummy April 1, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    OMG they are amazing pictures x

  26. Louise @ WeeWifie's World April 1, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Scotland sure is beautiful… some may say I’m biased, but your pictures speak for themselves here don’t they? 😉

  27. Calif Lorna April 1, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    I’m so envious of your photography skills – the photos are beautiful.

  28. If I Could Escape April 2, 2010 at 1:56 am #

    Just fantastic! You are an amazing photographer! Fancy stake pics of my boys when you’re over here? LOL

  29. If I Could Escape April 2, 2010 at 1:58 am #

    Ahem! That is supposed to say … fancy taking pics of my boys when you’re over here?

    • mrsw April 2, 2010 at 10:57 am #

      Yeah! A bunch of kids at sundown on a gulf Coast beach… sounds hellish doesn’t it? I’m planning 2 nights in a dinky little beach front Best Western with suites (I need a kitchen wherever I go for my nut allergic son)… only half cos we will have Busch Garden tickets and half for the photo opportunity (Daytona doesn’t do it for me really!)

  30. Plan B April 2, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    Those are stunning!! Very much looking forward to my own move North (although it will be south for you!)

Leave a Reply

