It's MADness I tells ya – MADness!

1 Apr

I can’t make my mind up whether to ignore all the MADness and let it run it’s course… or dance the dance that has to be danced.

Aaarrrgghhh!

I love writing this little blog of mine. I do. I waffle, I sound off, I can be as unreasonable as I like and I manage to make myself laugh sometimes. If the people I live with laugh too, that’s just the dogs.

I get my biggest kick out of sharing my photos. In these days when I print nothing, my images are pretty much between me and my screen. Sharing them blog-style was initially a way to learn how to be a better photographer and to let the people in them see them. Flickr was just too big. With a blog I could mount my photos. But the absolute bestest thing ever to come out of all this clicking away like a woman possessed is that the people around me are becoming less negative about having their photo taken.

In fact some have become quite adept at posing!

kat cropped right

I’m not sure I have my own “style” yet – but it’s fun working on it. Let’s just say it’s a lot less processed now than it was in the beginning….

And since people have asked so nicely – yes I do take crap photos… a lot ot them!

crapshotI usually fix them up before I let you see them tho!

crapshotfixed

(not sure if that was a keeper tbh – I picked it at random!)

Truthfully though I spend an enormous proportion of my “blogging time” reading. There are a handful of bloggers I carry with me IRL, I share their words enthusiastically with everyone around me, I take their lives and their talent beyond this little cyber bubble of British Parent Bloggers and I let it seep into everyday conversations with family and friends. I like that. Some of them make me laugh til it hurts, some make me weep with anger or joy and some inspire me to be a better person.

My blog has been put forward for the only MADS award that means a damn to me, Best MAD Blog Photography… the one for (I think it said) best use of original photography in a blog.. or something like that. Whilst I have been doing my best to ignore this I’m beginning to think I might be coming across a bit… rude?

I think my kids managed to “second” the nomination from our single network IP address. I think that’s probably a bit naughty – but they were enamoured with my excitement and probably wanted to keep it going for as long as possible. They have the tenners now though.

I have mixed feelings. Part of me is skittishly excited and part of me has seen what happens with these things…I’ve seen so many blog awards descend into straightforward popularity contests with little regard for the content being voted for. I remember one particular photo contest where the eventual winner had quite a bog standard boring image entered against many much more talented photographers. But they had the biggest Twitter following and the most free time to spend voting for themselves over and over and over… it was a joke. Without the funny bit.

I thought quite hard about the categories and who I wanted to nominate. The big award, Blogger of the Year, is the hardest to choose. And it’s compulsory. I’m sure I appear there by virtue of the fact that my kids had to nominate somebody to get to the categories bit. And you can nominate yourself of course. Should I third or fourth me? Hell yeah – I didn’t first me so why not? Because although nomination by any name is nice and all, I’d be chuffed as a chuffed thing from Chuffland that just won 1st prize in an international chuffing competition if I made it to the voting stage, the final top 5. I might even make the trip to London to air kiss the winner.

You vant I air kiss you? It will need more than my kids say so…

13 Responses to “It's MADness I tells ya – MADness!”

  1. Marylin April 1, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    I voted for you already! πŸ˜‰ x

    • mrsw April 1, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

      Aw – if we make the top 5 we can air kiss each other – if I don’t bitch-slap you for the April Fool first πŸ˜›

      • Marylin April 1, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

        Bwahaha you love me really! πŸ˜› You will get a newborn shoot out of me one day… just not in the next couple of years if I can help it!

  2. Trish@ Mum's Gone to April 1, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    As long as everyone who nominates really thinks hard about the categories and not just who their friends are, then I think MADS will be a fabulous showcase for the parenting blogging community. When the photography category came up, I instantly thought of you and will be nominating you. I might not come over and comment all the time, but I subscribe to your blog and love what you do. Let’s hope we all choose wisely: like Portia in the Merchant of Venice – all that glitters is not gold (God I’m getting so up my own arse here, will sign off now!)

    • mrsw April 1, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

      Your very kind! And you’re right – I thought really hard about it – it took me a couple of days tbh, partly because I wanted to make sure the people I nominated were interested in taking part. In the end I’m not sure if they all are, but some people are just to funny, or so inspiring that I’ve given them no choice! πŸ™‚ I could have come up with SO many categories… I s’pose we in the UK will move onto British Blogging Awards eventually – or maybe we will take over The Bloggies (just like the Oscars huh? Watch out the Brits are coming! )

  3. henrietta pretty April 1, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    As someone who is brand new to blogging I am more than a little bemused by all of this. I have read some great blogs so far and hope I will base any future voting on this alone. That and monetary bribes of course

    • mrsw April 1, 2010 at 1:29 pm #

      It’s bemusing! I am SO glad you commented because when I saw you on Twitter I thought your ID was actually…. well….. for Marketing Milk? I am old enough to remember the Milk Marketing Board you see lol! I shall be scooting over to your bit of bloggyland as soon as I can persuade my 4yo back onto the PS3…

  4. Henrietta Pretty April 1, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    ha ha ha. that is so funny. will have to clarify that one by tweet!
    great photos btw

  5. Henrietta Pretty April 1, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    ps i hear u had a rather wonderful time with my friend barbara recently?

    • mrsw April 1, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

      I had an absolutely fabulous time with your friend Barbara recently – are you and her local? Am I widening my drinking horizons through the Milk Marketing Board here πŸ™‚

  6. Henrietta Pretty April 1, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    hee hee you most certainly are!

  7. Dad Who Writes April 1, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    Congratulations! Other than Blog of the Year (in obedience to Dan-Who-Must-Be-Obeyed for All That Comes With It so he can try and leverage more charity sponsorship money if he wins) I haven’t voted but I do like your photos.

  8. Barbara April 6, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Hmm, missed this post somehow. I’ve been studiously ignoring the MADs on the grounds that I’m not going to win anything so I’m pre-emptively sulking.

    Are you pimping yourself to my friends? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

