When all else fails, bribe them

3 Apr

Every school holiday for the last three years we’ve had vague plans to move Paul, our delightfully sharp toed and bony boy, into his own bed. He shares a room with his brother and it didn’t seem fair to Andrew to have the expected nightly histrionics when he had school the next day (tho it would have been sweet revenge for the years of 5 in the  morning “Can I put the TV on”s).

Paul has had his own bed since he was moved out of his cot. I say “has”, in the same way he “had” a cot… and “had” a moses basket. These things have taken up space in our home but rarely been slept in. This child is an attachment (lazy arse) parenting nightmare. I’ve co-slept with them all but whereas the older two graduated to their own beds in their own time between 2 and 3, this bag of elbows is nearly 5 and he’s driving us nuts.

I’ve offered incentives and he’s pretty much told me he can live without all them. No promise of Hot Wheels, trips to the zoo or Snakes’n’Ladders marathons has shifted his resolve to sleep wrapped round my neck like a baby squirrel monkey. Every night we put him down asleep in his own bed and I swear the little bugger smells something’s changed when I go to bed. It doesn’t matter what time I go – he’s up and through before the energy saving lightbulb on my bedside lamp is warm.

Until I discovered GoGos…

Pretty plastic things.

Shiny.

The Achilles Heel in his resistance.

In this past week he’s slept all night in his own bed 6 times, and I’ve only spent one of those awake imagining him lying on his bedroom floor with a broken neck….

Which just proves he could have done it any time he wanted.

Men.

12 Responses to “When all else fails, bribe them”

  1. Neil April 3, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    ….and as you well know…every man has his price!

    • mrsw April 4, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      Yup – and some cheaper than others!

  2. Brit In Bosnia April 3, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    I need to get me some of these. If it worked for you, it could work for me!

    (yay the little guy though, and like Neil says, every man has his price – just wondering what my little sharp toes, boney elbowed limpets price is)

    • mrsw April 4, 2010 at 9:29 am #

      It took Paul a while to realise this was his price – now he is hooked and I thank gawd for Amazon Marketplace peeps who sell them in bags of 30! A whole month? Hehe!

  3. Marylin April 3, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Ahhh so that’s why you were so desperate to get that mega gogo thingy while we were out! It all makes sense now… 😉

    I have never been able to sleep with the boys in the same bed as me – they think of my bed as a place to jump about on, not to sleep in! Pain in the arse, but at least it means I get the bed to myself! Well… other than Dean hogging some space, but he’s a skinny arse anyway. 😉

    • mrsw April 4, 2010 at 9:31 am #

      Yes – most pleased Tesco open early on Sundays 😉

  4. Kelly April 3, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Ha Ha Ha! 😉 I have yet to find this magic bribe object. Violet is impervious to bribery! I am going to suggest a career in politics.

    The depth of field on these photos is awesome, BTW.

    • mrsw April 4, 2010 at 9:32 am #

      The secret was telling him he had to give ME a Gogo if he slept in my bed. I am SO mean!

  5. Kristin April 3, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Hilarious! Glad you finally stumbled across the secret formula.

    • mrsw April 4, 2010 at 9:33 am #

      I’m glad they are CHEAP 🙂

  6. Barbara April 4, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    Yippee for gogo’s! My two are in love already and they only have 5 each. There is some hard core bartering going on, especially when the boy gets a pink one that the girl would like to have. I must toddle over to Amazon and get me a pack of 30. There are so many things I would like to bribe them over.

  7. snafflesmummy April 4, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    wow, at least its working. Bribery is a daily feature in our household too!

Leave a Reply

