I accept your challenge….

8 Apr

A quick fixup for Barbara and thanks to Marylin for setting me a challenge before I go offline for a week (eek!)

Original
Basic Fix

Sunny Fix

I can’t remember all the steps that got me from the Original to the Basic Fix, it’s really quite an organic process. I rarely do the same thing twice, a bit like making a curry I suppose!.  I usually at some point use MCP Actions Clairify, Alien Skin Sharpen and Imagenomic Noiseware. I also faffed around with levels and S-Curves and colour balance. I did quite a bit of colour balance correction on this to create a warmer skin-tone since all my brightening steps fairly washed him out!

The Sunny Fix is the Basic Fix plus:-

  • Added a Levels Adjustment Layer and selected the Red channel. Slid the center point to the left to add a pink tinge – I went down to 1.44 the reduced the  layer opacity to 78%
  • Added a Brightness/Contrast Adjustment layer and upper the Brightness to 13 and the Contrast to 43
  • Added a Lens Flare layer – created a new layer and filled with 50% gray, added a lens flare (Filter, Render, Lens Flare), changed the layer blending to Hard Light then moved the flare over to the left of the photo. Backfilled with 50% gray
  • Lastly I created a new layer and applied a gradient fill from white to transparent from the top left corner towards the centre of the photo
Colourful Fix

Black & White Fix

4 Responses to “I accept your challenge….”

  1. Marylin April 8, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    Oh I knew you’d do a few fixes! These are gorgeous! Love the sunny fix – you’ll need to show me how to do that one! 🙂

  2. Barbara April 8, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Wow. Just wow to both of you. Thank you so much for doing this.

    I like all the fixes. I’m usually able to pick out a solid favourite when you do the Friday fix, or one I like less than the rest, but this time – totally biased and you’ve made him look totally fab in all of them.

    Thanks for removing the snot too – most appreciated!

    How come you’re going offline for a week?

  3. Kristin April 8, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    Beautiful.

  4. snafflesmummy April 9, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    love the colourful fix and so glad you removed the boggie!

Leave a Reply

