The Gallery: All the colours of the rainbow

21 Apr

This was originally posted on 1st July 2009 and has been recycled for Tara’s Gallery over at Sticky FIngers. This week the theme is The 7 Deadly Sins, and if you read on I’m sure you’ll get the gist of my entry. Normality will be returning just as soon as I get over the NINETEEN DAYS my darling offspring have just had off school. Actually, this post is timely since I do need reminded of a few things after NINETEEN DAYS at home with them!

As if I wasn’t proud enough with their 9 Merit Awards between them… see my daughter?

murdochs

My daughter’s something else.

We found out the day before Prize Giving that Brian Soutar, that well know homophobic, pseudo-christian bigot was the invited guest speaker. The homophobic, pseudo-christian multi-millionaire bigot who bankrolled a private campaign against the Scottish Executive’s decision to overturn Clause 28.

The main argument used in support of Clause 28 was the claim that it protected children from ‘predatory homosexuals’ and advocates seeking to ‘indoctrinate’ vulnerable young people ‘into’ homosexuality (thanks Wikipedia).

As it was solely aimed at restricting what could and could not be taught and discussed in state school the “predatory homosexuals”  referred to could only be teachers.  Obviously homoexuals need to be watched, after all there are no straight sexual predators.

What a crazy choice of person to invite to a school prize giving.

Up until 4:30 I’d been under the impression I was going to be taking photos of the awards ceremony for my OH to make available for teachers to use, or the school video feeds, or to print off for any of the children who wanted their photo.  This was kaiboshed at 3:30 under some “child protection” issue. Don’t even get me started on that. By this stage I was all for not going  but was assured that Soutar would only be presenting the senior awards.  And that the bar would be open. Small compensation for having my first offer to take free photos cancelled… without a police disclosure I am clearly a predatory lesbian paedophile incapable of not posting every photo I take on the interwebtubes. Clearly.

Back to my daughter.

I’d given her a bit of background on Soutar and whilst she was keen to attend she was a bit outraged a man like that had been invited. How could she let that be known? Most of her friends didn’t know who the guest was and even when they found out they didn’t know anything about him. We toyed with wearing pink triangle badges but thought it might be a bit too “in yer face”, so I suggested she wear rainbows. You don’t have to be gay to fight gay prejudice. So she rainbowed it up good style.

From top

rainbow1

To toe

rainbow2

Soutar might not have got the point but I’m sure some people did.

I did, and I was so very very proud of her.

36 Responses to “The Gallery: All the colours of the rainbow”

  1. Annie April 21, 2010 at 10:22 am #

    Good for you and your daughter. It does seem a bit of a bizarre choice of speaker. I’m not sure how I’d feel about that if I were in your shoes. Oh and don’t get me started on not being able to photograph anything anymore because of child protection… (breathe in… and calm.. do not type it… calm….) I think I’ve been lucky, my daughter’s school ask me to do any school play photographs as long as I give them a CD of pics after, but there is a ‘no posting them on the internet’ rule… ooooh, nearly set off on one again there… lovely pics btw..love her eyeshadow.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 8:58 am #

      Yes – the internetwebtubes are especially rife with weirdos looking for photos of nativity plays… bork!

  2. Heather April 21, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    What a fabulously strong woman she is growing into. you are right to be proud of her. and yeah, the no photos thing. WTF?

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 8:59 am #

      The rector even went so far as to tell me I could take photos of my own children but nobody elses! Yeah – like all my mates had tele lenses with them – thank gawd the bar was open!

  3. Jo Beaufoix April 21, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Brilliant. She’s a complete star, and you’re right, what an odd choice for a guest speaker at a school prize giving. He sounds like an ar*e.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:00 am #

      Total arse!

  4. Priness_L_88 April 21, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    Excellent idea and good for both of you!
    It is shocking that they invited someone like that to a school.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      Former pupil I believe – and his brother is one of the school chaplains, and his sister is Ann Gloag – they are the Stagecoach family, local boy done good (eh? WHAT good exactly? monopolised public transport, destroyed competition, dictated routes – de-regulation not a lovely thing!)

  5. Vegemitevix April 21, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    I’ve never heard of him before. What a moron! So pleased you encouraged your daughter in rainbow-ing! I would have donned a few rainbows myself if I’d been there. Excellent.xx

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:03 am #

      You’ll have travelled on one of his Stagecoach buses at some time I am sure!

  6. Vegemitevix April 21, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    By the way hun, I noticed in the social blogroll >>> that the current post for Vegemitevix is not displaying, and my feed has been kaput. It’s all corrected now, so if you want to update it’s on the blog, of course if that’s not the problem at all and you liked that post/pic that’s cool too…

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 8:57 am #

      Yeah I dunno what’s up with that – it uses Google Feed Discovery and according to my URL check they are all fine including yours – but yours just doesn’t want to play for some reason! I think I’ll delete you and re-add you – see if that fixes it.

  7. Caroilne April 21, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

    Great post, fab pics (love that eyeshadow). And what a truly bizarre choice of speaker – WTF?

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:03 am #

      Yeah WTF? Exactly what we thought whilst propping up the bar during his speech lol!

  8. jay April 21, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    *applause* to you AND your daughter. Who the hell would invite someone like that to an EVENT like that? It’s insanity.
    Fantastic post, and definitely well done you for supporting your daughter. She looks awesome. :o)
    (And the whole “no photos” thing can drive a person to insanity. *sigh*)

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:05 am #

      All the 5th and 6th years said they were going to protest in some way but in the end it was just Kathryn – and at the time she was only in 2nd year. I love that she isn’t afraid to stand out, be unique. I hate the fact that the school is trying to force them all in BLAZERS next year after I have spent years encouraging them to be creative, imginative and INDIVIDUAL. I am that parent from hell lol!

  9. Kelly April 21, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    F&@#ing awesome! Seriously.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:06 am #

      Yip – fucking awesome! (no need for fancy pants characters here – say it like you mean it lol!)

  10. Marianne April 21, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    I am sooo glad she rainbowed herself up, I would have been inclined to do the same I am so very hoping he did notice and that he did get it…we’ll never know.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:07 am #

      Sadly not – but one thing’s for sure – a lot of the pupils noticed, and asked, and talked about it for days afterwards. That’s got to be good 🙂

  11. If I Could Escape April 21, 2010 at 5:03 pm #

    How awesome is she? You should be so very proud. And, who the heck invited him?

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:08 am #

      The former Rector – we’re all agog to see who this year’s guest will be now we have a new Rector!

  12. Sian aka MummyTips / Cybermummy April 21, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    A great post – I would be proud too.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:09 am #

      Thank you – I have no idea where she gets her contrariness from….

  13. Nova April 21, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    That is brilliant…you really must have been so proud of her. Good for both of you for getting your feelings known.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:10 am #

      Oh I was! I always sat down for the national anthem at the prize givings but I had the support of a particularly nationlist and permanently kilted teacher, so long as he did it they couldn’t get on at me – she did this all on her own.

  14. SandyCalico April 21, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Good for you and good for your daughter. She looks fabulous. I used to wear my eyeshadow like that, I may have to go back to it. I’m shocked that a school would invite such a bigot to their prize-giving.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      It’s an 80s thang 🙂

  15. Heather Davis April 21, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    Wow no wonder you are proud of your daughter. I have never heard of this man and very glad for it! It’s important that we teach our children to make a stand against prejudices however great or small. Good for you! The whole CB check thing has gone mad to. I was recently involved in a school trip with my daughter where I had to be checked. Rather “innocently” she said “but the teachers know you are a good person.” That doesn’t seem to matter anymore. Beautiful pics as well.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      That’s mad – CRB checks for school trips?!?! Never had that (yet!). You probably do know the Soutar family – they own Stagecoach buses – they’re not so internationally famous for their “conservative” beliefs tho – odd that!

  16. Heather Davis April 21, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    ps CRB check not CB is what I meant!!!

  17. Plan B April 21, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

    That is awesome. I’m proud of her and I’ve never met her! What a girl… and what a story. I’m going to be telling my girls about this in years to come.

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:14 am #

      Now that I will tell her cos that’s what makes taking a stand so important – thank-you.

  18. veryanniemary April 21, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Good grief! Who was in charge of inviting him?
    http://www.usatoday.com/news/nation/2010-03-30-prom_N.htm

    In March a highschool in Mississippi decided to cancel it’s prom rather than let a lesbian student attend with her girlfriend! Fingers crossed the link above will take you to it – if you want to learn just how stupid those in charge of our young can be…

    Great photos – I wish I could wander around in rainbow make up…

    • mrsw April 22, 2010 at 9:15 am #

      Bloody hell! I’ve read that and the subsequent reports of how she was invited to a prom with only 7 pupils whilst the rest of her year partied elsewhere? UNBELIEVABLE! The South is a different world isn’t it?

  19. Mwa April 22, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    Good one!

Leave a Reply

