The boy with two brains

23 Apr

When Paul was 3 he discovered his scrotum.

It was a Saturday.

Not one to keep a new discovery to himself the conversation went something like this….

Paul: “What’s this Mummy?”

Me: “That’s your testicles, quite a difficult word isn’t it?

Paul: “No silly! It’s my other brain”

Never a truer word spoken.

On Sunday morning he woke up with a touch of conjunctivitis. Another new, and difficult, word.

It came out something like “conjunkyitis”.

Quite cute for something that oozes yellow gunk from your eyes.

I kept him home from playgroup until it had cleared up, not more than a couple of days, but long enough for him to practice his two new words.

Everywhere.

Often.

We returned to playgroup a couple of days later once his eyes had cleared up. He was very pleased to be back and the playleaders, naturally, asked him if he hadn’t been feeling well. At which point, in front of several other Mums, my darling little boy announced, nay proclaimed, to all within earshot and several farther away who no doubt wished they were deaf……

“I had testicles in my eyes!”

If you are going to introduce two new words into your child’s vocabulary at the same time, be careful which two words you choose.

That’s my advice.

For what it’s worth.

What do you mean I only have ONE brain???!!

16 Responses to “The boy with two brains”

  1. TheMadHouse April 23, 2010 at 10:36 am #

    Oh thhis had me falling about the floor. My three year old has just discovered his willie, it is all downhill from here

  2. Jen April 23, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    Rofl! I just burst out laughing and my 6 year old wanted to know what I was laughing at! Classic

  3. Vegemitevix April 23, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    Oh that’s excellent! Soooo funny! Thank you for joining in the Friday Funny.

  4. Organic Motherhood with Cool Whip April 23, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    (Snort!) Just spit water all over my computer and out my nose. Hilarious!!

  5. Organic Motherhood with Cool Whip April 23, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    PS Beautiful photograph too BTW. Even with 2 brains, he’s absolutely gorgeous.

  6. Mwa April 23, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    That’s funny.

  7. Kelly April 23, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    LOL!

  8. Heather April 23, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    ha ha ha fantastic.

    ‘No silly, it’s my other brain’ – never a wiser word spoken!

  9. Marylin April 23, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    LOL! Oh my word I love it when they come up with things like that! XD

  10. Sandrine April 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    What an excellent line! I’d have made my day to hear a kid say this at the school gates. Did the other parents laugh?

  11. muummmmeeeeee...... April 25, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    Very good advice by the sound of things….just hilarious!

  12. Working Mum April 25, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    Yep, just the one, and generally, for men, it’s not in their heads!

    Just been catching up with your last few posts and your always fantastic photos. WM x

  13. Priness_L_88 April 25, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

    ROFL! Hilarious! Bless him!

  14. Barbara April 26, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    Tee-hee! Good one Paul. You do know that he knew exactly what he was saying and only did it to embarrass you, don’t you?

  15. Kristin April 27, 2010 at 2:17 am #

    LOL! Adorable picture, too.

  16. Laura McIntyre April 28, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    Oh my , not fair making me laugh when my 4 year old is trying to go sleep behind me. I love kids and the stuff they say

Leave a Reply

