And another thing…

27 Apr

… yeah OK I would change a few more things.

Why oh why oh why oh why having worked for twenty years paying both tax and national insurance into the system, now that I am a stay at home mum taking absolutely nothing out of the system, can’t I transfer my tax allowance to MrW?

It really pisses me off that the Tories are threatening to re-introduce the Married Man’s Person’s Tax Allowance. WTF should we get married? Is nine years and a child together not public enough a commitment? AARRGGH!

I am an individual, and the government treats me as an individual only when it suits it. I am an individual for tax purposes, yet when it comes to just about everything else I am nothing more than another dependant of MrW’s. I am on par with the children. I have no income yet I will not be entitled to Job Seeker’s Allowance when I declare myself available for work. Despite being a single income household we are not entitled to the same discount a single working person would get on their Council Tax. I even have to ask MrW to pay for my tertiary education. I have a personal income of precisely ZERO, so if I want an education I have to ask MrW to fund it because, unlike single zero income students, I am not entitled to a government funded education.

Don’t get me wrong, MrW and an ILA from the Scottish government (who do treat me as an individual for tertiary part-time education) fully support my somewhat sporadic forays into my university education, but how many people are denied the opportunity to learn because their partners, the people they are financially tithed to, say no?

AAARRRGGHH!!

Thank gawd it’s Gallery day tomorrow…

Technorati reclaim: ZMN85WDA4JC2

4 Responses to “And another thing…”

  1. Littlemummy April 27, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    You’re so right! Had never thought about it but why should we be penalised for being married, we’re still individuals after all.

  2. cartside April 28, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    I know a few who say no, and the mother survives on child benefit alone. Little wonder many people pretend to be living as single parents because they’re penalised if they say they have a bidie-in (and for that matter, it the same if the person is a new boyfriend, or a partner for life or anything in between).

    I agree that a married people’s tax allowance is unfair for unmarried couples. It would be good though to have something like that where tax allowance could be added for the family, married or not, that way it may even get rid of the loophole of partner in postgrad education which means that working parents tax credits and childcare element and childcare vouchers tax relief don’t apply.

  3. Kerry April 28, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    Do you know what I don’t do politics but I do agree with the unmarried couples things. Mr L and I are unmarried but we still have a child together, so we should we not get the same as couples that are married.

  4. Barbara April 28, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    It seems more than a bit unreasonable doesn’t it.

Leave a Reply

