The Gallery #9: Portrait

28 Apr

I’ve been trying lately to increase my ratio of “ok:crap” when taking photos of my practice models kids. Standing on stuff, lying in stuff, trying to cram as much as I can into an hour or so and keep it exposed.

I am awe of professionals who are able to spend 45 minutes with a model and can offer 30, yes THIRTY, shots.

So far I can manage about FIVE THREE.

I know so many peeps with kids and would love to be able to take a ton of photos for them, but until I can get that success rate a wee bit higher I’ll be keeping my gob firmly shut.

This photo is from the first dummy “senior” session I had with my daughter. I found a lot of tips online about positioning and stuff and managed to take loads of really terrible photos on the back of it. But I got this one, which made it a worthwhile trip.

One down 29 to go (but I’d be happy with 10 – that’s not bad for free is it?)

Pop over to Tara’s Gallery for more portraits.

63 Responses to “The Gallery #9: Portrait”

  1. Heather April 28, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    ahh, lovely. It must be really frustrating at times, but the good ones you come out with are really really good.

    • mrsw April 28, 2010 at 9:59 am #

      Thank you Heather – like anything else I guess it takes practice, practice followed by some practice.

  2. TheMadHouse April 28, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    She is stunning, I love the atmosphere and the colours – well done

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      Thank you so much πŸ™‚

  3. Claire April 28, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    Thats one great photo!

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      lol – it was a day for ONE great photo πŸ˜‰

  4. Brighton Mum-Teenage Angst April 28, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    A stunning photo.

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 11:52 am #

      Thank you πŸ™‚

  5. Kath@Parklover April 28, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    I love the expression you’ve captured on your daughter’s face, it’s beautiful, as is she.

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 11:53 am #

      I shall pass that on – she rarely believes me!

  6. Nickie @ Typecast April 28, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    You take such amazing pictures – it doesn’t matter whether you take 10 or 100… there is always one special shot there πŸ™‚

  7. Annie April 28, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    It was worth all the effort, it is a beautiful shot. I know what you mean about the ok:crap ratio. Portraiture is not my strongest subject by a long way but as soon as anyone knows you have a camera and take photographs, they immediately say they want shots of their kids. I’d rather photograph motorbike racing LOL

    • mrsw April 28, 2010 at 9:57 am #

      I look at your motorbike photos and can’t begin to work out how you get a shot of something moving so fast so perfectly in focus – surely a two year old is easy after that? πŸ˜€

  8. Emma April 28, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    What a lovely photo. Beautiful!

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 11:53 am #

      Ta muchly πŸ™‚

  9. Liz@VioletPosy April 28, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    That is a beautiful shot.

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      Oops – wrong reply – sorry!!! shall delete and move it to it’s corect place πŸ™‚

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 11:58 am #

      And thank you! Oh I’m all in a muddle πŸ™‚

  10. maggy, red ted art April 28, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    my god – his is awesome!!!!!!! i wish i cld take photos like this!!!! pls tell us “how”!!!!

    • mrsw April 28, 2010 at 9:58 am #

      If I could I’d be taking more than 3 out of 100! (and thank-you) πŸ™‚

  11. Heather Davis April 28, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    I have to take about 50 shots before I get one good one and that’s with food! Even harder with living objects. I always love coming to your site and seeing what pics you’ve taken of your kids. This one does not disappoint. Keep going you’ll soon be getting a lot more than one.

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 11:59 am #

      I think food is really difficult – especially when it steams lol!

  12. Heidi April 28, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Oh, beautiful colours!

  13. Chelle April 28, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Lovely photo! Nothing wrong with it from here:-)

  14. Hayley April 28, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Awesome picture! I know how hard it is to get good pictures. I have friends wanting me to cover weddings etc but I dont think I’m ready yet by miles! X

    • mrsw April 28, 2010 at 5:07 pm #

      You should offer to be second photographer for free – you leave all the professional posing stuff to the paid photographer and catch all the candid stuff nobody notices – also, most photographers will maybe spend some time before the ceremony capturing the bride – you do the groom – it’s all practice and gets you started with a portfolio πŸ™‚ Go for it!

      • Hayley April 28, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

        I like your idea πŸ˜‰ Sounds like a plan stan! πŸ˜€

  15. Kate - k8tography April 28, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    That is seriously one gorgeous girl and a divine shot! That bokeh is freaking AWESOME!

    So what if you get 1 in 50 or whatever? The beauty about DSLR’s is that you can shoot and shoot and shoot and get enough. Most photogs these days offer 25 to 30 shots in their gallery from a 1 to 2 hour session. You know how many shots you can take in a 2 hours session? Lots!

    You take great photos. I love your images – I think you are ready. Hell, if I can do it – you can!

    k8 xxx

    • mrsw April 28, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

      eeek! I’ll maybe give it another year.. eeek!

      (thank you btw – you can’t buy this sort of encouragement!)

  16. Mirka Moore April 28, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    Absolutely stunning picture πŸ˜‰

  17. Chris April 28, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous photo and girl!I love visiting your place, it always inspires me!

  18. Nova April 28, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    Fantastic as usual….won’t tell you how many I take and obviously they’re not professional quality as I haven’t got a clue what I’m doing.Got to start taking less though. ;0S

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

      No – that’s not how it works – you take MORE and learn to hit the delete button – that’s the really hard bit! πŸ™‚

  19. Marianne April 28, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    IF I get a good one, I am so chuffed. I’m more the take it and fingers crossed kind photographer πŸ™‚ but I love seeing your photos as you are very good.
    And of course your model is beautiful too, which helps πŸ™‚

  20. If I Could Escape April 28, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

    It was definitely worth all your photo taking to get that one. She’s absolutely stunning!

  21. Laura McIntyre April 28, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

    I think its lvoely, i would be proud to have a picture taken like that of my kids

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

      And I would love to have a bash at taking them – you’re close by-ish aren’t you?

      • Laura McIntyre April 29, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

        Yes we are just in East Kilbride, would love you to do that. Just name price,place and time and we would be there .

        • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

          Don’t be silly I do this for fun not money! What we need to do is figure out the halfway point between Perth & East Kilbride – probably Stirling? Or perhaps the very picturesque Cumbernauld? lol!

        • Laura McIntyre April 29, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

          It would need to be is a place that i could get to easily as i don’t drive , although if you wanted to wait till June when my husband is back from working overseas it would be better as he drove. Otherwise im happy to go anywhere really, Stirling is a lovely place . Many great places for pictures.

        • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

          Probably best to wait for the very brief Scottish summer yes? My OH lived in Stirling for years – I don’t know it awfully well myself but I’m sure we could come up with something – at the very least a day out and maybe 3 out of 100 photos πŸ™‚

  22. Marylin April 28, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    She is *gorgeous*, but you already knew that! πŸ™‚

    I love this shot of her!

  23. Notes Red Shoes April 28, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    Beautiful, what is she thinking i wonder x

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

      Probably “Hurry up” or “Gawd Mum everybody is looking get down off the bench!” πŸ™‚

  24. Kristin April 28, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Gorgeous shot (and gorgeous daughter).

  25. kelloggsville April 28, 2010 at 9:04 pm #

    lovely, stillness within movement – clever

  26. jay April 28, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Love the capture, the composition is great! I see things like this and remember I have SO much more to learn…
    I reckon you’re not as far off as you think you are. Wouldn’t be at all surprised if many of the other images were just as good as this one πŸ™‚

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

      Oh hell no they weren’t! I am really bad at explaining how I’d like them to sit/stand/turn – which goes some way to explaining why I never leave the hairdresser’s with the cut I envisaged. Little ones are in some ways easier – but faster πŸ™‚

  27. CaraFreckles April 28, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    I love this. Very beautifully edited too, great texture.

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

      Thank you – I’ve started playing with some free textures I found on Flickr – they are good fun!

  28. jfb57 April 28, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Fantastic photo. Goodness knows what they ‘real’ ones will be like!

  29. Kerry April 28, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

    You are so talented, I wish I could take photos like you. Fantastic picture!

  30. Sian aka MummyTips / Cybermummy April 28, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    wow…..

  31. MuddynoSugar April 28, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    That’s a great shot

  32. veryanniemary April 29, 2010 at 2:40 am #

    Love it, love it, love it! She looks so wise and yet mellow at the same time – like she has all the answers, and given her age – she probably does….

    • mrsw April 29, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

      lol – how did you guess?! πŸ™‚

  33. Barbara April 29, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Very serene. Lovely shot and a beautiful model.

  34. muummmmeeeeee...... April 29, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    Absolutely stunning – both the photography and your daughter!

  35. Trish@ Mum's Gone to April 29, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    I do hope we find out soon if you’ve been short-listed for the Photography category of The Mads! Another super shot, Mrs!

  36. Crystal Jigsaw May 1, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    That is what I call a stunning piece of photography. Thank you for sharing it, a pleasure to admire.

    CJ xx

  37. Working Mum May 2, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    I know what you mean. I took about 120 photos at my daugher’s birthday party yesterday and have about five really good ones.

    However, I think you take some fantastic photos. How about you blog a few simple tips for those of us who are still learning?

  38. Rosie Scribble May 2, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    Another stunning photo. You have once again inspired me to invest in a decent camera. That might help improve my photography somewhat, and, in my case, a lot of practise! Looking forward to your next Gallery entry xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Gallery #9: Portrait | clinically fed up -- Topsy.com - April 29, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by NikkiiH. NikkiiH said: Thank you so much for all the lovely comments on my #thegallery entry this week – you encouraging words are priceless http://bit.ly/99ma5h […]

Leave a Reply

