The Gallery #10: Secret World

4 May

Oops it’s been a whole week since I posted anything.

Bad blogger huh?

No sooner were the schools back than they were off again. Rubbish weather has kept us indoors on top of each other with the boys about as happy as a sack of ferrets doused in tabasco.

Yeah that good.

It’s 60-odd sleeps til we head off to Florida, the shuttle launch we planned our 4 week holiday around has been postponed until December and I now have to lose 2.5lbs per week to fit back into my summer clothes.

Meh.

So, Secret World…. hmmm, that’s a Peter Gabriel Song y’know. One day, one day, I will do a themed photoshoot inspired by a Peter Gabriel song.

Not today though.

Today I give you dead people.

When I started out with this photography malarkey just over a year ago I found myself drawn to graveyards whenever I needed somewhere to practice. Not “working” graveyards you understand, abandoned graveyards and ruins. Places we were unlikely to bump into families of the… inhabitants.

Now and again I do manage to point the camera away from my children…. like here at Greyfriars Cemetery



I love me an old ruin so I do…

And for an atheist I’m rather partial to churches…

Who’d have thunk it?

This post for Tara’s Gallery introduces the “secret” world of Scone Palace Graveyard, Greyfriars Cemetery, Dunnottar Castle and Arbuthnott Church, burial place of Lewis Grassic Gibbon.

68 Responses to “The Gallery #10: Secret World”

  1. TheMadHouse May 4, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    I adore graveyards, they are so peacefull. Congratualtions on your MAD finlalist position, well deserved

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

      Thankyou – you too – I anticipate a celebratory jug or two at some point in the future 😉

  2. Marylin May 4, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

    Absolutely stunning! (as always!) 🙂

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

      Thanks mate! You got yours in yet?

      • Marylin May 5, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

        Yes ma’am I do! 😉 Just posted today!

  3. Priness_L_88 May 5, 2010 at 12:21 am #

    I knew you’d have something breathtaking for this prompt and I was not disappointed! Wow, definitely proving why you’re in the final of the MAD’s! I adore the graveyard ones and the ruins.

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

      eeek! Thank you! Not too depressing then? 🙂

  4. Karin @ Cafe Bebe May 5, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    Absolutely breathtaking…you’re an amazing photographer…I bow to your brilliance! 😉

    Karin

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

      Now now we’ll have none of that! 🙂

  5. Mirka Moore May 5, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Wow, absolutely beautiful pictures 😉

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

      Thank you 🙂

  6. kelloggsville May 5, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    stunning

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

      Thanks muchly 🙂

  7. Jo Beaufoix May 5, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    There is something very calming about old graveyards that have gone a little wild and unkempt. And that church wreathed in mist is just stunning. You can’t beat old walls. I find myself having to touch them. It’s just the thought of how many people have been there before in years gone by. Beautiful.

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

      There are some seriously old graves in these places – certainly some of the oldest I’ve ever seen.

  8. Mwa May 5, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    I LOVE the ruin.

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

      Cool innit? Dunnottar Castle near Stonehaven – it’s an amazing place.

  9. Sian aka MummyTips / Cybermummy May 5, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Wow, your images are stunning. I wish that I had your gift. I love taking pictures but I wish I had more time to work on getting them to be even half as good as yours.

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

      Thanks – time is always the thing – and weather, and light and…. aargh! 🙂

  10. Annie May 5, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    ooooh, I’ve got a thing abot graveyards too. My hubby thinks I’m sick LOL. I love the ruins shot.. fab

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

      Mine has spent so much time journeying through the cemeteries in Flanders I think he kinda gets it 🙂

  11. The Moiderer May 5, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    I love Dunnottar castle. One of the best things about Tara’s gallery is that I get to see your photo’s every week. They are truly brilliant

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

      Thank you you – I feel a wee trip to Dunnottar is long overdue… now I have new lenses and gadgets 🙂

  12. Brighton Mum-Teenage Angst May 5, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Stunning photos! Congrats on being in the MADS final five, as shown here, extremely well deserved!

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

      Thank you – I’m excited! Can you tell?!! There will be cider!!!

  13. Heather Davis May 5, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    I love the b&w one looking out on to the grave yard and the colour one of your daughter with her head turned looking on to it. Grave yards are amazing places. Whenever I am in one I(rather morosely) end up reading the epitaphs on the grave stones. It’s hard not to be overwhelmed by it all whatever your faith.

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

      Absolutely – it’s a fascinating cultural ritual and we spend far too little time studying our own – they are as wonderful and intriguing as any you’ll find elsewhere 🙂

  14. Nova May 5, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Congratulations on being in The Mads final….knew you would, you so deserve it!!
    Love love the pictures as usual but I want that one of the church on the hill!! Blown up very big….stunning and mysterious. Where was it taken?

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

      That is Dunnottar Castle near Stonehaven on the North East coast of Scotland – it’s a gorgeous place, really atmospheric – I think there’s a link in the post (and thank you so much! it’s all a bit MAD innit?)

  15. JFB57 May 5, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Stunning! Taken my breath away!

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

      Have a virtual thump on the back from me (with thanks of course!) 🙂

  16. Steph May 5, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    stunning STUNNING photography.

  17. London City Mum May 5, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    You have the most amazing ‘eye behind the lens’ – what a fabulous talent, and so artistic. I am exceedingly envious!

    Photos are superb, thanks for making my day.

    LCM x

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

      OK – now I AM blushing 🙂

      Thank you so much.

  18. Trish@ Mum's Gone to May 5, 2010 at 10:59 am #

    Is Bobby in Greyfriar’s cemetery or is his statue somewhere else? I saw it last time I was up there.

    Well done on Mad’s – I told you! x

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

      This Greyfriar’s Cemetery is actually in Perth round my neck of the woods – the Greyfriars Cemetery of the Bobby fame is in Edinburgh (another damn fine location for photos – hmmmmmm – I anticipate a wee trip) 🙂

      Consider me told 😉

  19. maggy May 5, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    wow! particularly like the “ruin”, but they are all amazing!

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

      Thank you – you’re all very kind you know 🙂

  20. Barbara May 5, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    The pictures are, as usual, amazing.

    However, “about as happy as a sack of ferrets doused in tabasco” has just become my new favourite expression swiftly replacing “mad as a bag of cut snakes”.

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

      Seriously Barbara I need to de-claw them or something – they are relentless! No woman should have to raise two boys at the same time – there should be a law against it – or something 😛

  21. Crystal Jigsaw May 5, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I should think a graveyard would be an amazing place to find a subject. I would love to spend time there, just sitting under that tree, waiting for something to happen.

    CJ xx

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

      Usually a peacock wanders by and fans me – tis fun! 🙂

  22. Mr W May 5, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    This is going to cost me a D90 isn’t it… 😉

    Can I just add that I am as chuffed as a chuffed thing that’s just been appointed Professor of Chuffing at Oxford at your deserved nomination! Brilliant!

    • mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

      Or a D700 – y’know – whatever…. 😉

  23. Kath@Parklover May 5, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    Oo, love the spooky ruin! COngrats on being a MADS finallist too – thoroughly deserved.

  24. mrsw May 5, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    Aw thank you – I am tickled several shades of pink (and as anyone will tell you – I aint no pinky girlie thing!)

  25. nappyvalleygirl May 5, 2010 at 6:22 pm #

    Fantastic photography – so evocative. I love graveyards too, and the ruin is so haunting.

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

      Thank you so much – y’know with all these comments I don’t feel nearly odd enough anymore 😉

  26. Chelle May 5, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    Wow…
    You manage to capture the mystic and peace atmosphere of the old graveyards. Pretty amazing.
    When visit a country and come across an old graveyard I have a look. Remember one I think in Leicester or Liskeard with graves from 1410. Beautiful.

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

      Amazing places aren’t they? I hope we never need the space – they would be a great loss.

  27. Hayley May 5, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Amazing pictures! I love places that have been left. Partly why mine this week are of an asylum!!
    Amzing pictures as always! Really admire you!

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

      Oooh – an asylum? I am intrigued and on my way over…

  28. New Mummy May 5, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    What fantastic photos! I lived next to a few graveyards in my time x

    Congratulations on making the MADs shortlist

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

      Thank you – that would be so cool – peaceful anyway!

  29. MuddynoSugar May 5, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    I love these, I went to my Grannies grave which is in a really old grave yard it was lovely.

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      I drove past the old churchyard where my great-granny is buried with the intention of getting some photos but there was a bit of curtain tweaking going on and I chickend out – daft eh?

  30. Drew May 5, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Love your shot of Dunnotar. It’s my favourite castle. May I please use your pic for a http://www.blockposter.com huge print for my classroom wall? I’d be ever so grateful?

    Give my regards to Mr W.

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

      Sure – go for your life – it’s not very high res but Neil assures me blockposter can cope with that – if you want a bigger version let me know 🙂

  31. Kerry May 5, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    Gorgeous pictures as per usual! I love ruins too. If you ever come down to the south coast let me know we have a fab ruined castle in our town you would love it!

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

      Well – I believe there some compatition or something going on that might end up with me on the south Coast (eeek) Bognor? lol!

  32. Chris May 6, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Lovely photos AGAIN! I too am a graveyard fan, especially the unkempt and interesting ones. I use them for character names and story starters. Many, many congrats on your well deserved MADs finalist place! x

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

      Oooh yeah – some fascinating names and if you’re lucku some fascinating life storied carved there tyoo – just enough to whet your imagination I should thingk (and thank you!!!)

  33. Wendy May 6, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Love all the pictures, especially the B & W pic of your daughter and the one of Dunnottar Castle. I just bought a canvas picture of this very castle and your picture looks so very much different and a lot better!!

    I love ferrets. I got one when I first got married 17 years ago and she was terrific. I don’t think she would have liked being doused in tabasco, but any other food and she would have been in heaven. Anything on our coffee table was deemed fair game to her…from cereal in a bowl, papers from my husband working on his MBA, coasters….and then she would run helter skelter to behind our fridge to hide it. If it couldn’t fit, she would be beside herself in misery and sulk. So, your analogy is very fitting!

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      Hmmm – people BUY such photos…. hmmmm 🙂

  34. If I Could Escape May 6, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Wow. Those have absolutely taken my breath away. You definitely need to get yourself to Whitby and shoot the old cemetry, abbey and church there. Can only imagine how fantastic they would turn out.

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

      Thank you so – is Whitby Dracula land? If so it’s been a place I’ve long wanted to visit.

  35. TomPier May 6, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

    great post as usual!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The Gallery #10: Secret World | clinically fed up -- Topsy.com - May 5, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tara Cain and Joanne Green, Heather Davis. Heather Davis said: RT @tara_cain: THIS is why @NikkiiH has been shortlisted for the photo awards in @the_mads: http://clinicallyfedup.com/?p=3029 >they r good! […]

Leave a Reply

