The MADS (yeah that post)

6 May

In January 2009 I stumbled on a newly launched site, just before their first competition, and wondered to myself …. we’ve got one of those DSLRs do-dahs, maybe I could have a go using it?

Since then Angie and Amy at iHeartFaces have built a well respected community of photographers of all abilities focussed on… you guessed it – faces! From choosing a camera to digital post processing they cover the lot in plain-speak tutorials written by a variety of professionals and hobbyists. The weekly competitions and photo editing challenges have been a priceless resource in my journey from this sort of stuff…

(oh dear – so shaming!)

to this

Without iHeartFaces I would never have picked up our Nikon, let alone taken it off Auto.Ā  Rachel Durik taught me how to use my camera, Andrea Riley taught me how to save photos gone a bit wrong and countless fellow participants offered kind words and encouragement: Dana, Kelly, K8, Catherine, Niecey, Buckeroomama, Tiff, and loads more, thank you.

Occasionally people ask me for photography tips (I always find this really embarrassing!),Ā  I have only two,Ā  iHeartFaces (which is all those people above and more) and practice, experiment, practice (Phototuts is also very useful). Without these I sure as Sherlock wouldn’t be a finalist in the 2010 MADS Awards Photography category sponsored by Photobox – eeek!

Yeah you wondered when I was going to mention that elephant in the room!

I’m in amazing company: Jay@ Mocha Bean Mummy,Tara@ Sticky Fingers, Deb@ Carrots and Kids and Nataliya@ Suburban Mummy. Getting this far with these wonderful ladies is chuffing brilliant if you ask me. The added bonus of a night out glamming it up at main sponsor’s of the MADS Butlins with them and the other 45 or so finalists is just icing on the proverbial cake. I consider myself a winner already so thank you to all the people who nominated and got me this far. For the next four weeks we will be slogging it out head-to-head over at The MADS. Every vote counts. This is the first and last time I’m going to mention it – I’m pimping me once!

I’m already getting to do the air-kissing so I’m happy. But if you want to really embarrass me and make me speak in front of people… you know what to do.

You don’t have to vote in all the categories but you get one shot at it so take some time to browse some fab blogs, for starters can I recommend some of my favourites…

Notes From Lapland, The MadHouse, Are We Nearly There Yet Mummy?, English Mum, Violet Posy, Eggs Cream and Honey, Battling On, Bringing Up Charlie and If I Could Escape – these are the ones I know best but have a trawl through all the finalists before voting – you know you want to šŸ™‚

42 Responses to “The MADS (yeah that post)”

  1. Henrietta Pretty May 6, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    so well deserved. your photos are breathtaking. i think u might just have inspired me to take my camera off auto! well done.

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

      Do it! It’s such fun (and thank you!!!)

  2. Muddling Along Mummy May 6, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    Your photos are wonderful – totally deserve to be a finalist and there are such a lot of great blogs up for these awards!

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

      Thank you! (I’ll just say it once lol!)

  3. Andrea May 6, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    That is so cool! I went over and voted for you. It is so amazing to see so many of your photos all together. I’m always astounded at the growth a photographer can go through in just a few months. You totally deserve this honor!

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

      Thank you thank you thank you (can you tell I’m excited?!!!)

  4. Kelly May 6, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    You’ve come a long way baby! Thanks for sharing along the way.

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

      I’m not kidding – iHeartFaces brilliant huh? šŸ™‚

  5. Angie from I Heart Faces May 6, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    I go back and look at my photos from a year ago and just cringe as well…it’s amazing what one year of effort will do. I just voted for you and am crossing my fingers and toes that you’ll win! šŸ™‚

    P.S. Thank you so much for your kind words about IHF. It truly means a lot.

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

      Here’s to the next year (and the next…. you’re going to have to stay around forever now you realise!)

  6. Dana-from chaos to Grace May 6, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    And you TOTALLY deserve it!! Your creativity is astounding! I love your work! WOOHOOOO!!! I’m so happy iHeartfaces brought us together! You are FANTASTIC! HUGE hugs to you and big GOOD LUCK…..and now I have to go vote, because I want you to have to get up in front of people. HAHAHAHAHA

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

      People??? PEOPLE!?!?!?! IF ONLY! I just read a Tweet telling us there will be cameras!! C.A.M.E.R.A.S.!! Ones that take (oh whisper it) moving pictures!!!! AAARRRGGH!! (and thank you of course – your an inspiration my friend- definitely).

  7. TheMadHouse May 6, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    Well done and I love your photo’s, thank you for adding me to your little lest, it has been an overwelming couple of days, I never expected this at all. I am so happy to be included with such great bloggers

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 4:39 pm #

      Me too – gosh it’s MADness – I really must get off this computer and do something else…. nah!!

  8. Marylin May 6, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    You deserve it honey, your photography is awesome! As for the voting… it’s already done!

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

      Thank you – how’s stuff with you anyway – email me!!

  9. k8 May 6, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Oh wow! I got a mention – thank you so so much. Of course I have voted already (but did I vote for you??)

    OF COURSE!

    I told you your photos were fab! See, I am right!

    Best of luck – you deserve it!

    xxx

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

      Well I am gobsmacked but on this occassion I shall just go along with you being right if that’s OK? lol! šŸ™‚

  10. k8 May 6, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    oooh and I meant to say – I heart faces – well they have helped so many of us and bought people together from all over the world – yay to i heart faces too!

  11. melorna May 6, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    wow… thats really impressive… ^^, nice photos u had here…

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

      Thank you šŸ™‚

  12. Kristin May 6, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    Congratulations on your nomination! Though I can’t say I’m surprised. Love your photography. I popped over and voted (I’ll let you guess who for).

    • mrsw May 6, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

      Anybody But Conservative? šŸ™‚ Cheers!

  13. Rachel Durik May 6, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Congratulations! A well-deserved honor! or honour? šŸ™‚

    • mrsw May 7, 2010 at 9:42 am #

      Both I think šŸ™‚ Thank you Rachel (again!)

  14. Barbara May 6, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Woo! Well done you, thoroughly deserved. I heart your pics.

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

      Cheers my dear šŸ™‚

  15. Amy @ I Heart Faces May 7, 2010 at 1:50 am #

    WOW! Thanks so much for those kind words. It is amazing to watch so many people become real photographers. You are truly talented. Congrats on the nomination!! YAY! And thanks for the terrific post:-)

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

      Oh stop! šŸ™‚ I’m delighted for sure but “real photographer”? Them’s scary words! šŸ™‚

  16. Not waving but ironing May 7, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    I voted for you yesterday, naturellement, but now you must repay me by wearing a gold lame catsuit to the awards ceremony. Really hope you get it, your photos are fabulous (although you know by now that I am artistically impaired).

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

      Ah too bad! If you’d said emerald green catsuit I would have borrowed my sister’s – that is SUCH a shame.

  17. If I Could Escape May 7, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Great post! You absolutely deserve it. Well done on making it to be a finalist. And, thanks ever for mentioning me. =)

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

      You’ll be flying over for a party at Butlins of course – I mean how could you say no??

  18. Crystal Jigsaw May 7, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    You’ve done absolutely brilliantly and you so deserve this. Let’s keep fingers crossed.

    CJ xx

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

      Aw cheers – fingers, eyes, legs… yeah I love my forties so I do… šŸ˜‰

  19. muummmmeeeeee...... May 8, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    Well doing for becoming a finalist! So so well deserved x

    • mrsw May 8, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

      Thank you!!!!

  20. Slummy Single Mummy May 8, 2010 at 9:44 pm #

    You are a fantastic photographer – I voted for you – good luck, and maybe I’ll see you at the award ceremony šŸ™‚

  21. veryanniemary May 9, 2010 at 2:20 am #

    I voted for you – hard not to given your photos…

  22. Buckeroomama May 10, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    Congrats on being a finalist… and thank you for the shout-out! šŸ™‚

    I’ve learned SO much from I Heart Faces, too… It has taken really given my interest in photography a boost! Not to mention the wonderful community Angie and Amy have built.

    Off to go vote for you! Hope you win!

  23. Serline May 10, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Wow, all these photos are breathtaking. I’m a relative newbie myself, still playing with a point-and-shoot, but some day I will give that SLR a go!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention The MADS (yeah that post) | clinically fed up -- Topsy.com - May 6, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by NikkiiH and NikkiiH, NikkiiH. NikkiiH said: @The_MADs Spreading lots of linky love – (this is about as gushy as I get!) http://bit.ly/9khVdq […]

Leave a Reply

