I think I've made my mind up maybe

11 May

Two weeks ago I was a hair’s breadth away from home educating. I was that close.

Then I said no to a request from Paul for a Wagon Wheel breakfast he yelled that he hated me, thumped out and slammed his bedroom door (yes – four years old and slamming doors before his teenage siblings). I came to my senses.

The whole artificiality of school screams at me “Don’t do it!!”. If you were to observe our society from afar, rounding up its young and locking them inside high security buildings, filling their heads with information, lining them up, marching them in, marching them out, dressing them the same, testing them the same, controlling their access to anything outside school for most of their waking hours, well you’d be forgiven for confusing our offspring with our convicts.

Strangley the first thing most people point out that Paul would miss if here were to be home educated is the “social side”. What social side? There’s nothing natural about being forced to only interact with people born in the same 12 month period as yourself. Even now, at 43 and having left school 25 years ago, I STILL do a wee sum in my head when I meet new people and place myself and them according to our ages. Not hierarchically, there’s no implied power structure to it, I just do it because school categorised us thus from age 4 and it’s difficult to stop.

Just when I was almost settled on the notion and about to start looking for local home-ed groups, we had our placing request granted. We just made the cut-off date in applying. I’d seen some icky stuff at the local school earlier this year, nothing particularly terrible, nothing awful, nothing anyone but me would have complained about. But enough to make me realise that despite years of training and experience, there are just some people you wouldn’t leave your children with.

So he’s going to school in August (eeek!). Given that he won’t even listen to me when I try to stop him walking into immovable metal objects, I’ve decided for his sanity and mine someone else can teach him harder stuff than walking and talking.

I have now landed myself with 7 years of getting him to the other side of Perth over 3.5 miles away.

Did I once say I wouldn’t find something to moan about?

ZMN85WDA4JC2

7 Responses to “I think I've made my mind up maybe”

  1. Marylin May 11, 2010 at 9:06 pm #

    I couldn’t even think about home educating… Zack needs more structure than I can give him here, especially with Max around. Plus, I think I would probably be put in jail if I had to put up with him constantly whining allll dayyyyy longgggg for the next 7 years. >_<

    • mrsw May 11, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

      I have to admit I was only considering 1 or 2 years – at the most 3 – probably 1 huh? lol!

  2. Neil May 11, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    education?……he’d learn more watching daytime telly!

  3. Kristin May 11, 2010 at 10:37 pm #

    I’m with Marylin, I would do a poor job of educating my kids. I don’t have that kind of patience and structure to my personality. We would spend the whole day doing writing exercises and looking for bugs (or they would look for bugs while I wrote, more likely).

  4. Barbara May 11, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Glad you got the school you wanted. Really Home Ed.? You are a stronger, braver woman then me. I hate the thought of school but still couldn’t do Home Ed. I’d do anything for love, but not that.

  5. Dan May 12, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    I’m not skilled or patient enough to home educate my kids, but i rrespect those who are. Unless they are doing it for wacky religious reasons of course.

  6. Mwa May 14, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    You are being brave not taking the closest school. I’ve had it with my son’s school and am thinking of moving him if possible. Just working up the nerve… Home schooling seems like hell to me. I need to get out of this fucking house sometime in the next decade. (Sorry but that demanded a swear word.)

Leave a Reply

