Dipped and Stripped

14 May

I’m not entirely sure what I look like. I either take the photos or refuse to be in them. Oh I know what my face looks like, just not how the rest of me fits together. There’s not a single full length mirror in my home. The closest I get to my reflection is stolen from shop windows that I pray are distorted, warped… wrong. My bathroom mirror goes down to the sink and it’s from IKEA. Really, IKEA ought to be ashamed of themselves, that mirror takes at least 20lb off me. So wrong in a different way.

For as long as we have been making images of ourselves, in paint, celluloid and now pixels, there has been a normative definition of beauty. Historically and culturally specific portrayals of the ideal body, face, stature, strength, colour… have been used to categorise those who embody the ideal norm and more importantly those who don’t. I find it difficult to confine the struggle to define beauty to a feminist issue, it’s way more than that and at the root of it is nothing more complicated than power. Be it one marketing campaign over another, one gender over another, one race over another, the definition of physical perfection has been used time and again to control, subjugate and wield power.

Heavy stuff for a Friday morning and where’s this all going anyway?

Via Kristin at Wanderlust I discovered that today is Bloggers Without Make-Up Day, the brainchild of Jodie at Mummy Mayhem.

Now I don’t wear a lot of make-up very often, but I will slap it on for the camera. So I did not like this idea. Then I popped over to Mummy Mayhem and started reading all the wonderful posts from women I’ve never read before and sort of got a bit hooked on the idea. I’ve not read nearly enough and it’s offline Friday (swimming lessons, wine, y’know), but will pop back over the weekend and catch up with as many as I can. In the meantime I scraped the hair back and took a photo of my nekkid face. Admittedly it’s in an IKEA (bad IKEA!) mirror in a room with no natural light, but I have resisted the urge to Photoshop myself a more natural colour. You’ll have to take the oddly yellow me under the environmentally brutal 60w bulb I’m afraid!

At least I didn’t scare you with the full size version!

26 Responses to “Dipped and Stripped”

  1. Marylin May 14, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    I’ve seen the full size version and you don’t scare me! πŸ˜›

    Sad that none of us like to be photographed without makeup on eh? x

  2. Susan @ Reading Upside Down May 14, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    You look gorgeous! If that’s what an IKEA mirror does, then I’ll have to replace my bathroom mirror ASAP. πŸ™‚

    This has been such a wonderful idea and I’m enjoying visiting the blogs of the women taking part. I agree with Marylin, it’s a little sad that we are all so paranoid about having photos (or leaving the house) without our makeup.

  3. Emma May 14, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    You look fantastic!! πŸ˜€

  4. Annieb25 May 14, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    You look so beautiful. So great that awesome women from the other side of the world are joining in on #bloggerswithoutmakeup

  5. Megan at Writing Out Loud May 14, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    Gorgeous photo!

  6. Naomi May 14, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    You look great, think I’ll have ti invest in one of those ikea mirrors!

  7. ali May 14, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    you look great.. love the pic x

  8. Kelly Be A Fun Mum May 14, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    your peaches and cream skin is amazing

  9. Kristin May 14, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    You look gorgeous. Heading out to Ikea now…

  10. Kelly May 14, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    As much as I complain about my skin and as much as I protest having my photo taken by other people; I do enjoy self-portraiture. I will join in today.

    BTW, you look loverly!

  11. Heather Davis May 14, 2010 at 6:04 pm #

    Loving the self-portrait.

  12. Priness_L_88 May 14, 2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Wow! You have nothing to worry about I assure you, you’re gorgeous. You have incredible eyes too, very jealous of them!

  13. Seraphimsp May 15, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    This was one of the most powerful posts I’ve read in relation to Jodie’s idea. Thank you for articulating what I couldn’t. And the photo shows me a beautiful strong woman. If that’s what a harsh light does, then maybe I need to walk around with one too!

  14. franklyfeisty May 15, 2010 at 6:49 am #

    You look amazing! It’s a great shot x

  15. Jodie at Mummy Mayhem May 15, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Great shot, and great post too. You look…GREAT!!!

    Thanks for taking part.

    πŸ™‚

  16. Cerry May 15, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    You have really nice eyes. Love the photo.

  17. Hayley May 15, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    Hunni you look gorgeous! xxx

  18. Barbara May 15, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    And you still haven’t moved that fringe out of the way!

  19. Jinedin May 16, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    Oh, so sad I missed this opportunity (not). I’m not a big makeup wearer but neither am I a big photgraphEE (hence gravatar).
    If you could just post the exact odd Swedish name for the model of your IKEA mirror, the bulb make and model, and possibly the dimensions of the room you’re in, then – given your results here – I’d be up for giving this a go on Bloggers Without Makeup Day 2011.
    Then just have to sort an angle out to minimise the broken nose…!

  20. muummmmeeeeee...... May 17, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I think you look amazing dipped & stripped!

  21. If I Could Escape May 19, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    You look amazing! I was going to do this, but then I forgot about it. Oops!

  22. Nova May 19, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    You look great…and without make-up too!

  23. veryanniemary May 19, 2010 at 9:25 pm #

    You look fab. I hate you…..

  24. veryanniemary May 19, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Hang on….don’t you have two teenage girls in the house?? Three women and no mirrors – that’s just weird.

  25. Chris May 19, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    You look gorgeous! I almost did this for the Gallery cos of you but that was a step too far!
    Beautiful woman.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Dipped and Stripped | clinically fed up -- Topsy.com - May 14, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by NikkiiH. NikkiiH said: Anyone fancy stripping with me? http://bit.ly/cdXnUH #bloggerswithoutmakeup […]

Leave a Reply

