Practice run

31 May

Relax

Stand up straight

And for crying out loud woman get the front step tidied up a bit before August!

We’re off to Paul’s new primary school to meet the teacher today.

No he doesn’t have to wear the uniform.

In fact I made him take it off just in case we lose him amongst the big boys.

I undid his (too big borrowed from Andrew) tie and he waved it in the air crying “FREEDOM!”

I think he’s going to be trouble….

As for me? I’m already shedding a tear at the thought of him starting school

Another pile of shirts to iron. Meh.

20 Responses to “Practice run”

  1. muummmmeeeeee...... May 31, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

    Ah – there’s nothing cuter than seeing a little guy in a shirt & tie!

    • MrsW May 31, 2010 at 11:04 pm #

      I am seriously considering the totty wee blazer but reckon he’d only be wearing it for those first day photos 🙂

  2. Marylin May 31, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    oooook…. I’m really behind! You seriously have his whole uniform sorted?? Eek!

    • MrsW May 31, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

      Nah! Just his shirts and one pair of shorts – have still to get indoor PE kit, outdoor PE kit, hoodie, raincoat, trousers, shoes…. blah blah… three times over of course – triple the joy.

  3. Priness_L_88 May 31, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    He looks so cute! Bless him! 🙂

    • MrsW May 31, 2010 at 11:06 pm #

      Oh the cute didn’t last – he was a tad highly strung all morning waiting for the big school visit!

  4. Working Mum May 31, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Aw bless. Btw M&S non-iron school shirts really do what they say on the tin. Take them straight from the dryer whilst warm and hang up. I didn’t iron a single shirt this year!

    • MrsW May 31, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

      I only buy M&S non iron – still have to iron them! Mind you – you should see the flippin’ mess the non-non-iron ones come out 🙂

  5. snafflesmummy May 31, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Aww that is so cute. There is something about little ones in school uniforms that just makes you melt.

    • MrsW May 31, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

      They just never look big enough do they?

  6. TheMadHouse May 31, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Mini starts in September nad I am weak at the knees thinking about it! I love ties on children, but none of the schools round here wear them anymore.

    • MrsW May 31, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

      I wish – sort of. Most of the schools here either have polo/sweatshirt uniforms or at least offer a polo/sweatshirt alternative to shirt and tie. I think the school Paul’s going to is the only one that is completely shirt and tie. I feel a wee bit sorry for the boys because the girls at least get to wear a summer dress.

  7. veryanniemary June 1, 2010 at 3:23 am #

    OMG! I think every little boy should borrow his big brother’s tie! If only to have photos to tease him with later….he looks so damn sweet you could put him in a cone and pour sprinkles on his head.

    • mrsw June 1, 2010 at 8:24 am #

      Oh he’d like that!

  8. Kristin (Wanderlust) June 1, 2010 at 4:16 am #

    Lol! Love the photos, they are keepers! And yes, my little one is starting kindergarten in the fall. Don’t know that I’m ready for it.

    • mrsw June 1, 2010 at 8:27 am #

      Funny isn’t it – I sent my firstborn off to school without batting an eyelid and my second was incarcerated in the education system at the tender age of FOUR – I think I’m wiser now – after 11 years as a parent consumer of formal education I’m a bit more sceptical. I think five is far too young, I do have issues with uniforms and dress codes and I am a one woman campaign for banning homework! They’re going to love me at this new school – honest 😉

  9. Barbara June 1, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Ack. I haven’t even thought of school uniform. Beyond “it’s mostly red and grey I think”. He looks too cute. He is going to be so much trouble and I bet he’ll get away with most of it too!

    • mrsw June 1, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      Well why should it be any different from home!

      I’m only buying a few bits’n’bobs now because we’re away for most of the summer – it will be a nightmare coming back in August and trying to grab it all in 10 days. I’m already feeling a wee bit ill at the thought of the queues in Clarks.

      • Barbara June 1, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

        Shoes? You mean they can’t go in crocs or wellies – it just gets worse!

  10. Mwa June 1, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    So you can’t just buy him a new one every time they get dirty?
    I’m so grateful for my son’s polo shirts now. I just fold them and will the creases to go away.

Leave a Reply

