I write

1 Jun

There are good reasons why I write. I struggle with assertion, I’m really pretty abysmal. I usually come over quite aggressive (would you believe it?!?!?!) especially when I’m getting upset or passionate about a subject.

So I write.

I consider my words (most of the time). I vent, then edit, edit, edit my words into something bordering on the inoffensive (mostly).

Then I say my piece.

Do you know what I find really rude? When I write and the person I am entering into Ā a dialogue with chooses to return that contact by phoning me.

I don’t do phones.

When I’m on the phone I don’t stand up for myself, I go along with whatever, I’m a pathetic whimpering mush.

So I write.

When I have to deal with, especially raise concerns with, figures in authority, I write to them.

Is it too much to expect them to write back? I’m not after a stamp and a signature. I email so surely they can email back?

But no, it must be part of the training that they don’t put anything in writing. They phone you. No paper trail… pathetic mush parents going along with whatever.

It’s rude.

I find it rude and intimidating.

So my phone is OFF.

I’m hiding. And I want chocolate.

13 Responses to “I write”

  1. The Moiderer June 1, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    This made me smile (is that wrong?) because I am so with you on this one – right down to the wanting chocolate bit at the end!

  2. Niecey June 1, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I could have said this word for word myself. I 100% identify.

  3. Marylin June 1, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Yes, I get it… I *totally* get it. And I also want some chocolate now… thanks for that! šŸ˜›

  4. kelli June 1, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Amen! Writing has always been my best means of communication. I never express myself nearly so well when speaking and I don’t do confrontation. But I say what I mean and I mean what I say when I write. šŸ™‚

  5. Kelly June 1, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    I agree with every word, except that you forgot to mention how eloquently you communicate with photographs. This one speaks volumes and its beautiful too.

  6. cartside June 1, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    Definitely rude. Just that some people insist that the phone is the way to go. More personal and all that. Me arse. You can graft words better in writing, get the tone right, while I always make a fool of myself on the phone (in addition to what you’ve said, I get very aware of English not being my first language when I speak on the phone, while I never even think about it when I write. It’s a confidence thing but one not to be beat).

  7. TheMadHouse June 1, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Yep I get this too. I am a writer rather than a talker

  8. Insomniac Mummy June 2, 2010 at 1:51 am #

    Another someone who feels your pain here.

    I get flustered and nervous on the phone. I also have a tendancy to cry when I’m angry so I always try and stay clear of complaining or having a heated debate any other way than in writing!

    I prefer to speak to people face to face otherwise I find people get me all wrong. šŸ˜¦

  9. mrsw June 2, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    Yay! Thanks people – I was beginning to wonder if I was being a tad neurotic…. then my phone rang twice more, despite me having put it in writing TWICE that I do not wish to discuss anything on the phone and want a response in writing. Talk about obtuse. I feel today there will less of the edit, edit edit… šŸ˜‰

  10. Barbara June 2, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    I’m with you. Dashed rude I say.

    The reason I’m always so behind on commenting is becuase I usually re-write my comment at least 3 times.

  11. muummmmeeeeee...... June 2, 2010 at 8:15 am #

    Yup…a nice bar of Green & Black can pretty much solve anything…

  12. mrsw June 2, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    This morning I have had 4 phones calls and 1 message left on my mobile despite emailing again today and reiterating that I want a written response. I am at my wits end. Surely this is harrassment?

  13. Mwa June 2, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    Phoning is so last century! My phone is so often switched off as well.

Leave a Reply

