Dear Skullcandy

3 Jun

WTF?

You manufacture shiny plastic headphones for a market of consumers whose preferred mode of communication is grunting but that’s no excuse for ignoring me. I get enough of that from the grunters who sprouted from my own ovaries thank you very much.

Just this last Christmas I caved into stereo emo offspring demanding glamour over substance and bought them each a pair of Skullcandy Low Riders.

#santawin

First my son’s snapped in two in the middle, closely followed by my daughter’s in exactly the same spot. Neither headphones saw the end of January intact.

#skullcandyfail

I certainly learned my lesson – your headphones are flimsy crap.

Unfortunately the teenagers are less pragmatic.

Typical.

I also gifted my darling progeny tickets to see Biffy Clyro. My doofus son decided he would SELL his Biffy Clyro ticket and challenge MY better judgement by squandering his newfound riches on… yeah you guessed it… another pair of Skullcandy headphones.

This time HESH.

These things are not fucking cheap you know!

And you’d think being twice the price of the low riders they’d last twice as long?

At leastΒ 2 months?

HA!

TEN DAYS.

Flimsy crap doesn’t even cover it.

So Skullcandy I emailed your customer services department bemoaning the quality of goods I have received in return for my many pounds sterling and like the truculent teenagers you sell to you have ignored me.

Unfortunately I can’t ground you, make you tidy something you didn’t make a mess of or play with your little brother for an afternoon so instead I am giving you a free review here on my blog.

Do not buy Skullcandy headphones of any description people – they take your money, give you crap in return and then ignore you. Yes they are just like your hormonal teenagers, but unlike the creatures I incubated I’m under no obligation to love them.

So screw them.

Ten days alone in a bedrooom with a 13 year old boy might conceivably be grounds for suicide but come one – they fell apart on his head!

26 Responses to “Dear Skullcandy”

  1. mummyfiles June 3, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Here here, well said. I hope they read this and give you your money back and grovel big time! And thanks for the warning to steer clear of this crappy company!

    • mrsw June 4, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

      Gosh – three pairs of these things would be a fair bit of money back – not holding my breath tho – and NOT fancying replacements much either!

  2. Niecey June 3, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    Ugh, that really sucks

    • mrsw June 4, 2010 at 3:11 pm #

      Sucks big time – or as my children said – SUCKISH (so understated – don’t know where they get it from)

  3. Working Mum June 3, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    I hate poor quality and poor customer service; if you get no satisfaction report them to Trading Standards, fine body of people who put the fear of god into shody retailers!

    PS Make every mention of “skullcandy” in that post a link to their website and your post will come up on google searches for skullcandy and warn prospective buyers.

    • mrsw June 3, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

      Oooh you’re goood – have done – lot’s of linky unlove πŸ™‚

      Customer Services email address was a .se – Sweden? Maybe they’re still trying to translate my rant? Unlikely….

  4. Kelly June 4, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    Blogging is the best revenge. Your message has crossed the pond. Skullcandy will be out of business in no time.

    • mrsw June 4, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

      Yay! And my next mission is?

  5. snafflesmummy June 4, 2010 at 7:46 am #

    ooh thanks for this. Mr C wants some headphones for fathers day and I have looked at the low riders.

    Will avoid them now, especially with a 3 year old in the house.

    Did you buy direct from Skull Candy or from a shop? If a shop you should try taking them back to the shop.

    • mrsw June 4, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

      Seriously – gawd no – do NOT buy these – they are very very pretty empty plastic things – just terrrrrrible – I actually feel my mission is complete now I have saved someone from buying these crappy things- Yay me!!

  6. Erica June 4, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    I’ve promoted this on twitter, I’m sick of companies getting away with this #consumerpower πŸ˜‰

    • mrsw June 4, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

      I feel such an amateur πŸ˜›

      Peeeeepull powerrrrrrr!!! πŸ™‚

  7. kelloggsville June 4, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    wonderful advice thanks. I will not be buying SKULLCANDY products. I will tell all my friends not to buy SKULLCANDY products and to be sure the searches are finding this : skul candy ; scull candy ; scul kandy ; skull candy

    I suggest you mail the link to SKULL CANDY customer services manager xx

    • mrsw June 4, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

      Oh you are all so wickedly evil – I love it πŸ™‚

  8. ME June 4, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    I just bought my SECOND pair of Skullcandy earphones and they just broke and neither did these pair last no longer than two/three months.
    Faulty wiring. AGAIN. Only ONE ear works. They need to sort these faults out ASAP.
    I’m not buying another pair of Skullcandy.

    • mrsw June 5, 2010 at 10:56 am #

      Three months??? Show off!

  9. Barbara June 5, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    We’re not there yet but I would imagine that SKULLCANDY are not the sort of company to improve themselves over the years so we’ll be avoiding them.

    He sold a ticket to see Biffy Clyro? Is he out of his mind? I’ve only just discovered them but am very pleased to see that they’ll be supporting Muse when we go and see them later in the year. I love happy con-incidences.

    • mrsw June 5, 2010 at 9:46 pm #

      Mon the Biffy! I went – dog bollocks – you will enjoy muchly. Tighty tight jeans – inappropriately naked looking young man (but he cannot dance – ugh no! – not an ounce of sex in those moves – nuh-uh)

  10. Barbara June 5, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    Hmm, interesting spelling there. I meant co-incidences of course. Oops.

    • mrsw June 5, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

      AND – they played in Perth – walking distance πŸ™‚

  11. Kristin (Wanderlust) June 11, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    ROFL! Sorry to laugh at your misfortune. But this is funny stuff.

    • mrsw June 11, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

      You are the silver lining my dear πŸ™‚

  12. Longjohn June 14, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    I entirely agree with you, I have just got the Asym’s and when the wiring is slightly moved the sound cuts out/in. This appears to be where the wire enters the in-line mic. I have assigned them to the dustbin, they are utter rubbish…..BUY AT YOUR PERIL.

  13. Modesto Luckritz June 27, 2010 at 4:24 am #

    I had errors viewing the site in Safari on Linux, but I still loved the post! πŸ™‚

  14. Helga Hansen June 30, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    My son had two pairs of Hesh, and after the first pair lasted a mere couple of months, and being the smart cookie that I am, I had kept the receipt, so we hot-footed it back down to Maplins, and the very nice man, after I gave him my evil “I am a mother, don’t mess with me” look, gave Son a new pair.

    Sadly, our experience matched yours, and the second pair didn’t last much longer either. I put it down to the fact that my son, 16 at the time, seemed to have the bloody headphones permanently on his ears and/or draped around his neck. Needless to say, we gave up after the second set. Oddly enough, though, his pairs broke on the one side, and when the second pair started signs of bending in pretty much the same place, my ingenious son attached a metal plate behind, to slow down the progress of the damage – but this meant he couldn’t slide the head band bit into the headphones bit! A year later, I can tell you that he gave up on the Hesh headphones, and now has another brand, sturdier and more expensive, but they have lasted much, much longer, thank goodness, and Son paid for them from his own money (he has a part-time job).

    By the way, Skullcandy is a US company… the .se part is just the address for the European distributor, unfortunately, but I like your style re: the links! πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Dear Skullcandy | clinically fed up -- Topsy.com - June 4, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Erica Douglas, NikkiiH. NikkiiH said: @skullcandy headphones suck big time http://bit.ly/cKAHd7 #skullcandy #skullcandyfail […]

Leave a Reply

